Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Use this guide to learn how to obtain copies of dissertations and theses.

Locating Old and/or Print Versions

Many older dissertations may be listed in bibliographies. Search IUCAT to identify these bibliographies:

SUBJECT= dissertations academic bibliography

Show me

Some examples of bibliography citations in IUCAT are:

Titles of dissertations and theses completed in home economics.
Auxiliary Library Facility (ALF):  Z5775 .A512 1968-1969

Armenia and the Armenians in academic dissertations. Supplement one: a bibliography
Wells Library - Research Coll. - Slavic Reference: Z3461 .A945 Suppl.

To find bibliographies of dissertations from outside North America, add the name of the country to your search:

SUBJECT = dissertations academic bibliography AND [country name]

(Refine your results using keywords for your field of interest.)

Show Me

Most bibliographies are shelved in the Reference Reading Room, the Research Collections stacks, or the Auxilary Library Facility (ALF).

When you identify a dissertation you want to read, search IUCAT to find out if the IU Libraries own a copy. If the IU libraries do not own a copy, search ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. If it is not listed there, place an Interlibrary Loan request on the item.