African Studies Guides
Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art
- Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art
“The Eskenazi Museum of Art’s Art of Africa, Oceania, and Indigenous Art of the Americas collection tells stories of hundreds of ethnic groups and cultures spread across four continents and the planet’s largest ocean. Some objects date from more than three thousand years ago, while others belong to practices that continue today.”
African Art Websites
Doll (Akuaba), 20th Century, Brooklyn Museum, Arts of Africa Collection, Accession Number: 1997.101.1. Photo: Brooklyn Museum.
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a ContinentUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries and African Studies Program, Madison, Wisconsin. Offers downloadable images, sound files, and other materials on Africa drawn from contributions by UWM faculty over the last 20-30 years.
- Africa Remix: Contemporary art of a continentOverview of the artistic production in Africa and the African diaspora.
- African Art on the WebWarren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian. Selected links.
- Association Images et Mémoires (Paris, France)A French language site offers a digital archive of postcards, as well as some photographs and engravings from all over Africa during the colonial era.
- Contemporary African Art Collection (CAACART)The Contemporary African Art Collection (CAAC) is a private collection created by Jean Pigozzi.
- Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List.Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution. Compiled since 1995 and updated continuously. Includes surveys, texts, and exhibition catalogs. Searchable by region and country.
- West African Online Digital LibrarySelected Historical Photographs, Islamic, and Other Images from 20th century Senegal, Guinea, and West Africa. (African Studies Center, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan)
- Museums in the United States with Collections of African ArtCompiled by the Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian. Listed alphabetically by state, with links.
- Melville J. Herskovits Library of African StudiesThe world's largest separate Africana collection, at Northwestern University.