SPEA E183 Environment and People

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
   1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button

oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup a JSTOR account using your indiana.edu, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your JSTOR account
2. Click on your name in the top-right corner
3. Select “My Account” from the drop-down menu
4. From the Account page select “Profile”
5. Click the Edit button to the right of the personal information header
6. Update your contact email to use iu.edu & click the Save button

Note: While this updates the email address associated with your account, your username will not change. If you used your indiana.edu email address as your username, you may optionally contact JSTOR support at support@jstor.org to request that they update your username to match your iu.edu. This step is not required.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes optional access to JSTOR's interactive research tool. You must be logged in with a free JSTOR account to see and use the tool.

Major areas of coverage include crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, homelessness, policy, planning, professional issues in social work, social development, social work education, and support groups/networks.

Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 publications a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. The NAP offers titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies.  Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)

IU libraries have access to Wiley e-books from published 2005-2010 in addition to an assortment of titles from other publication years.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a Wiley Online Library personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account. Please note that the same personal account is used for both Cochrane Library and Wiley Online Library. 

1. Go to the Wiley Online Library.
2. Log in with your personal log in.
3. Click on the ‘My Account’ page.
4. Select ‘Edit My Profile’
5. Under the ‘Email & ORCID’ section, update your email address.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 3035. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your BioOne Digital Library account
2. Go to Account Details
3. Update the Email field to your iu.edu email address
4. Save changes. This will complete the update.
5. Next time you log in to your account, use your iu.edu email address

Covers a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 1 million records and open access full text for more than 15,000 records.

Nature publishes the leading research papers in all scientific disciplines and provides lay readers who have an interest in science the best possible perspective of the scientific world. In addition to Nature, you can browse or search other Nature titles such as: Nature Biotechnology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Geoscience, Nature Materials, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Physics, and Scientific American.

One Mail instructions:

If you chose to register for a personal account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. Log in to your SpringerNature user account.
2. From the My Account drop-down menu, select Manage your account
3. Click on your email address, enter your iu.edu email address, and click the Update email address button
4. You will receive an email from Springer Nature with the subject "Confirm email change". Click the link in the email to confirm your email.
5. To finish, enter your SpringerNature password and click the Update email address button.

This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences, and includes scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications. .

Major areas of coverage include: Agricultural biotechnology; Air quality; Aquatic pollution; Bacteriology; Ecology; Energy resources; Environmental biotechnology; Environmental engineering; Environmental impact statements (U.S.); Hazardous waste; Industrial hygiene; Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; Risk assessment; Safety science; Toxicology & toxic emissions; Waste management; Water pollution; Water resource issues.

Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Comprised of 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Exporting data to Reference Managers such as Mendeley, RefWorks and EndNote, tracking citations with Citation Overview/Tracker, analyzing journal performance with Journal Analyzer and alternative journal impact metrics SNIP and SJR are some of its unique features.

One Mail information:

On August 7, 2025 optional Elsevier user accounts with @indiana.edu email addresses were updated to @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed.

Users can search by cited reference, author, topic, publication name, and more. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area. 

One Mail instructions:

If you created an optional Web of Science personal account with your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. 

1. Log in to your Web of Science account via this link.
2. On the Account sign in & security page's email tab add your @iu.edu email address.
3. You will receive an email with the subject line “Please verify your Web of Science Account”
4. Click the “click here to activate” link
   1. You may see a message that your “verification link has expired”. This is a known bug. Click on the account settings link below the message to return to the Account sign in & security page.
5. Select the “Make primary” link next to your @iu.edu email address.
6. Delete your @indiana.edu email address.

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
   1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button