CAGE Resources

CAGE Resources

When considering the possibility of doing business in another country, it is important to consider how differences between the two countries may present risks and barriers to success. The CAGE framework considers the similiarities/differences between two country on four key facets: Cultural, Administrative, Geographic, and Economic.

CULTURAL

ADMINSTRATIVE

GEOGRAPHIC

ECONOMIC

Considers factors like:

Customs
Values
Language
Religion
History of relationship

Considers factors like:

Political system
Labor laws
Intellectual property law
Antitrust law
Contract law

Considers factors like:

Physical distance
Time zone challenges
Shipping infrastructure
Climate

Considers factors like:

GDP per capita
Currency valuation
Cost of natural resources
Cost of human resources
Taxation/tariffs

IU Libraries offers access to a variety of statistics, reports and analysis that focus on different combinations of these factors; some include all six, while others may consider only one or two. The resources below are grouped by which factors are covered.

C A G E

MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.

MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.

CIA World Factbook
Country-specific statistics and overview of political, social, and economic landscapes.

Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
One Mail instructions:
If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.
1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
  1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button
Factiva
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.

C A G E

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World aggregates the statistical abstracts of approximately 70 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface.

These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.

OECD Library
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international governmental organization. Search for and extract data from across all OECD statistical databases

C A G E

GlobeSmart
In-depth information and advice about business, culture, and travel-related topics in more than 80 countries.

Note: To access GlobeSmart, choose "Register here" from the log-in screen and use your official @iu.edu e-mail address to create and register your account. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.

GlobeSmart is a web-based tool that provides access to extensive knowledge on how to conduct business effectively with people from 65 countries around the world. Developed from extensive research and interviews with business people from each country, GlobeSmart content is organized into more than 50 continuously updated topics, including communicating effectively, managing people, business protocol, local business environment, and travel information.

The GlobeSmart Profile allows the exploration of preferred work styles compared with the average styles of people from other countries on five dimensions of culture.

eHRAF's Basic Guide to Cross-Cultural Research
Use this guide to learn more about cross-cultural research using eHRAF.

eHRAF World Cultures
Searchable full-text ethnographies on hundreds of ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Global Edge
Hofstede Cultural Comparisons
Create a bar chart that compares country cultures on 6 dimensions.

C A G E

World Bank's Ease of Doing Business Rankings

BUS D271 Developing Economics with an emphasis on Africa - Kanyi

One Mail instructions:

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries