IU Libraries

Resources to Explore for Inspiration

Good researchers are curious and practice intellectual humility, in other words, they do not approach research with their minds already made up about what they will find. Use the resources below to discover contemporary topics in education and let your curiosity inspire you to learn more!

CQ Researcher
Full text discussions of current, controversial public policy issues in a variety of areas.
Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Points of View Reference Source
Resource that present multiple sides of an issue, helping students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understanding of controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
Covers more than 400 core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Includes materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Mainstream News Publications

Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.
U.S. Newsstream
Provides access to current and archived news content. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Also includes a collections of local and regional newspapers, cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

New York Times Online
IUB Affiliates: To register for access, go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. Once activated, you can access all content at NYTimes.com from a Web browser, as well as via NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. Students will need to renew the IUB Group Pass annually. Faculty will need to renew every 4 years.
more...less...
New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass

Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location
Washington Post Online
IU Bloomington users may create a personal Washington Post account with their IU Bloomington email for access to The Washington Post online on all apps. (see More Info)
more...less...
Note: for users who had an existing account with their IU Bloomington email, login into your account and begin with step 6.

1. Go to https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup
2. Enter your IU Bloomington email address, and select Continue
3. Choose a password and click create an account
4. Click on Your Name in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Click My Post.
6. Once you are in My Post, click Manage Account on the right hand side.
7. Make sure your email address is Verified, if not, click “Unverified” to be sent a verification email. Note; if your email address is already verified, you will not see the below prompt.
8. Once verified, click over to the Subscription & Billing tab.
9. Click Activate free digital access. Your account is now active.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Published online every weekday, source of news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases.

Financial Times (UK)
Daily British newspaper covering global finance, economics, industry, energy, and international politics. Individual registration is required for access. Click more info for instructions on creating an FT account with your @iu.edu email. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. (see more info)
more...less...
Additional Information:
Current IU faculty, staff, or students may follow these instructions for creating an FT account:

Go to https://www.ft.com/
Click "Sign In" at the top right of the screen
Enter your @iu.edu email address
Click "Next"
Choose SSO sign in
Authenticate through IU Login
Enter required information
Optional questions may follow regarding your additional preferences. Users may move past this section by selecting skip.

Academic Databases

OneSearch@IU
Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Emerald eJournal Premier Collection
Electronic access to ejournals covering the fields of business, management, economics, engineering, computing, technology and social sciences.
Includes over 200,000 articles from 309 journals.
Google Scholar
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
ERIC (DOE)
Covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993.
ERIC indexes and abstracts materials in education and related fields. It includes document citations, journal article citations from over 1085 professional journals (983 comprehensive coverage and 102 selective coverage) and ERIC digest full-text records. The database also includes full-text from 84 journals and full-text of most of the ERIC documents from 1993 to the present.

ENG W131 | ACP Indiana University

Resources to Explore for Inspiration

Mainstream News Publications

Academic Databases

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases