I Am Looking for Newspaper Articles
Newspapers include:
- Coverage of current or very recent events
- Eyewitness accounts of an event
- In-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers)
- The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
- The media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue
Many newspapers are on the open Web, but some have paywalls for older issues or offer a limited amount of free access per month.
Accessing newspapers through the Libraries:
IUB Libraries provides online access to many newspapers. Search for a newspaper by title in the Libraries catalog IUCAT. (Some older historical newspapers may be unavailable online, but still in our print of microform collections. Ask a Librarian if you need help locating a specific publication.)
Newspapers can also be found in many of the Libraries' databases. In our largest multidisciplinary database OneSearch@IU, limit to 'News' (under 'Source Type' on the search results page).
Newspaper Databases
Below are some core newspaper databases. For a more comprehensive list see Major U.S. Newspapers Resource Guide or the Newspapers Resource Guide.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
Full articles from several U.S. newspapers from the nineteenth century to the present. - NewspaperARCHIVE
- This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized content from several local Indiana newspapers, as well as city and local newspapers from Ohio, Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Michigan. - Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
An electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. International in scope with images dating back as early as 1826.
- World Newspaper Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
