Resources for the Study of Southeast Asian Languages

Thai Language and Culture for Beginners aims to provide a basic foundation in conversational Standard Thai for beginning learners. It focuses on developing the learners' listening and speaking skills. Designed primarily for use in Thai as a Foreign Language classes at U.S. universities, this coursebook uses a proficiency-based approach to learning Thai and covers the daily real-life topics and situations that a student might encounter. Use Thai Language and Culture for Beginners with the companion audio/video components to maximize effectiveness. The components are available at http://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/handle/10125/14555. This site is part of Foreign Language Teaching Resources, National Foreign Language Resource Center, University of Hawai'i illus. (Request from IU Southeast)

This third edition of Thai: An Essential Grammar provides an up-to-date and concise reference guide to Thai grammar. Using clear, jargon-free explanations, it sets out the complexities of Thai in short, readable sections and presents an accessible description of the language. Focus is kept on the real patterns of use today and grammar forms are demonstrated through a wide range of relevant examples. No prior knowledge is assumed on the part of the reader. Features include: coverage of crucial topics, such as sentence particles, negation, questions and quantification examples given in both Thai script and romanised transliteration pronunciation section guidance on speech conventions and the Thai writing system glossary of grammatical terms two appendices covering romanisation systems and three key verbs bibliography This unique reference work will prove invaluable to all learners looking to master the grammar of Thai. It is ideal for both independent study and for students in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types.

Colloquial Thai: The Complete Course for Beginners has been carefully developed by an experienced teacher to provide a step-by-step course to Thai as it is written and spoken today. Combining a clear, practical and accessible style with a methodical and thorough treatment of the language, it equips learners with the essential skills needed to communicate confidently and effectively in Thai in a broad range of situations. No prior knowledge of the language is required. Colloquial Thai is exceptional; each unit presents a wealth of grammatical points that are reinforced with a wide range of exercises for regular practice. A full answer key, a grammar summary, bilingual glossaries and English translations of dialogues can be found at the back as well as useful vocabulary lists throughout. Key features include: A clear, user-friendly format designed to help learners progressively build up their speaking, listening, reading and writing skills Jargon-free, succinct and clearly structured explanations of grammar An extensive range of focused and dynamic supportive exercises Realistic and entertaining dialogues covering a broad variety of narrative situations Helpful cultural points explaining the customs and features of life in Thailand. An overview of the sounds of Thai Balanced, comprehensive and rewarding, Colloquial Thai is an indispensable resource both for independent learners and students taking courses in Thai. Audio material to accompany the course is available to download free in MP3 format from www.routledge.com/cw/colloquials. Recorded by native speakers, the audio material features the dialogues and texts from the book and will help develop your listening and pronunciation skills.

Everyday Thai for Beginners is a language textbook with accompanying CD that lays the essential groundwork for mastering authentic spoken Thai. It provides an introduction to the basics of communication using Central Thai vocabulary and idioms. Developed for teaching university students, it can be used in a variety of teaching and learning contexts. Organized into seven units and thirty thematic lessons, the book is designed to be used for a one-year study of Thai, taking a total of thirty weeks and 150 hours to complete. Basic Thai reading and writing ability is assumed from the outset in order to avoid using transliteration systems that hinder the mastery of correct pronunciation and intonation.

Learn the basics of Thai quickly and easily! Easy Thai is exciting and helpful for beginning Thai Language students and anyone who needs a functional day-to-day grasp of colloquial Thai. An excellent resource to learn Thai, its twelve chapters cover practical and useful conversation topics such as introductions, telling the time, directions, ordering food and shopping. Each chapter opens with a dialogue that introduces the new language in context and contains: Vocabulary lists Grammar notes Sentence patterns Exercises Notes on culture and etiquette. All dialogues, vocabulary lists, and sentence patterns are rendered in Thai script, romanized Thai, and English. In the comprehensive, concise introduction to Easy Thai, you will understand how to pronounce, read and write the Thai language. A bilingual dictionary at the end of the book gives translations for approximately 1,000 common words in both Thai and English. Downloadable audio provides sample conversations by native Thai speakers, helping you to practice authentic pronunciation. Easy Thai contains everything you as a beginning language learner need to know about the basics of Thai, making you a more effective communicator from the very first lesson without having to resort to long, dull, expensive courses of study!

"Understanding the structure and grammar of the Thai language is very important since it may differ considerably from your own language. Thai is not as difficult as it seems. The common problem for foreigners who are studying Thai is how to learn new words and how to pronounce them correctly. This book helps on the way to reach your goal - to speak Thai fluently. It contains more than 1500 commonly used Thai words. They have been organized according to the relevant subject matter and grammatical function. There are many tips and example sentences to help you use these words. This book has been designed to be used together with the book "Learning Thai with Original Thai Words". However, it can be used by beginners or intermediate learners as a complement with any other Thai learning book." -- Publisher description.

On techniques of teaching Thai language as a foreign language. เนื้อหาของหนังสือเล่มนี้แบ่งออกเป็น 3 ตอนสำคัญคือ ตอนที่ 1 ความรู้เบื้องต้นเกี่ยวกับการสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศ ตอนที่ 2 การแบ่งระดับเนื้อหาและวิธีสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศ และตอนที่ 3 สื่อ กิจกรรม และการประเมินผลการสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศ ซึ่งแต่ละตอนล้วนเป็นพื้นฐานสำคัญและจำเป็นสำหรับการสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศทั้งสิ้น หนังสือเล่มนี้เหมาะกับครูอาจารย์ นิสิตนักศึกษา และผู้สนใจ “ศาสตร์การสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศ” ทุกท่าน จะได้เข้าใจหลักการสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาต่างประเทศครบทุกองค์ประกอบของการสอนภาษาไทยในฐานะภาษาชาวต่างประเทศได้อย่างมั่นใจ

A Reference Grammar of Thai provides a clear, detailed and comprehensive guide to Thai grammar, designed for intermediate to advanced learners. Written by two leading experts on Thai, it places a special emphasis on functional accounts of its grammatical phenomena: the use of demonstratives, personal reference terms, the modality system, the aspectual system, pragmatic particles, verb serialisation, relative clauses, question formation, passive and causative constructions, topic marking and many more. Unlike any other book on Thai grammar, it draws on data from everyday spoken discourses such as informal conversation, group discussions, interviews and narratives, as well as non-technical written texts such as folk tales, short stories and newspaper articles, to discuss grammatical phenomena at both sentence and discourse level. An extensive index is provided and examples are given in both Thai orthography and IPA symbols, making this an invaluable resource for linguists as well as students and teachers of Thai.

Dâai ได้ is one of the most common words in Thai. It is a multifunctional helping verb and is used by Thais in several different ways. It has many distinct meanings depending on where it is placed in a sentence and which other words are used with it. With this book you won’t just learn how to use dâai ได้ but will also acquire a deeper knowledge of the Thai language in general.

This book presents Thai language in a new, romanised alphabet. This system is developed based on Sanskrit and Pinyin systems. The subject of romanisation of the Thai alphabet is controversial. It used to be banned by a past king of the country not a century ago, and so the topic is taboo in the country. Even the Siam Society has refused to let the author give a lecture or submit a paper to the society's journal about this system.Kit Tiyapan graduated from his first degrees in engineering from Chulalongkorn University and Ramkhamhaeng University. He has a masters degree in Control Systems from UMIST and a Ph.D. from University of Manchester in Chemical Engineering and Applied Mathematics. He had been a lecturer at Asian University and Mahidol University, both in Thailand.

"Fully romanized with Thai script for all Thai words. Latest computer, mobile phone, internet, and social media terms. The ideal dictionary for business, study, and travel in Thailand" -- Publisher description

Suitable for students and teachers of the Thai language, this book offers information on advanced sentence structure. It explains higher-level Thai sentence structure and functional vocabulary. It also presents explanations of advanced structure, illustrated with examples of typical Thai speech.

A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Thai--whether you're 5 or 100! This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Thai words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given using Thai script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 40 different themes or topics, including basics, like meeting someone new and using public transportation, to culture-specific topics, like celebrating Thai holidays and eating Thai food. This colorful picture dictionary includes: Over 750 color photographs 1,500 culture-specific Thai words and phrases 38 different topics--from social media and counting to Thai food and holidays Example sentences showing how the words are used Free online audio recordings by native Thai speakers of all the vocabulary and sentences to download or stream An introduction to Thai pronunciation and grammar A bidirectional index to allow you to quickly look up words Thai Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Thailand.