Resources for the Study of Southeast Asian Languages

Concise and user-friendly, Easy Vietnamese is designed for anyone who wants to learn Vietnamese--whether on their own or with a teacher. This language learning book introduces the learner to all the basics of the Vietnamese language and teaches practical daily conversations and vocabulary. It enables users to begin communicating effectively from the very first day, and its compact size makes it a great tool for travelers or business people looking to learn Vietnamese on the road without giving up on any content. This Vietnamese language learning book includes: Useful notes on Vietnamese script, pronunciation, sentence structure, vocabulary, and grammar Sections covering greetings, requests, idiomatic expressions and common situations Cultural information about Vietnamese etiquette as well as do's and don'ts A glossary of the most commonly-used Vietnamese words and phrases An enclosed CD-ROM with many hours of native-speaker recordings of the dialogues, vocabulary and exercises.

Vietnamese: An Essential Grammar is a concise and user-friendly reference guide to modern Vietnamese. It presents a fresh and accessible description of the language in short, readable sections. Features include: Clear and up-to-date examples of modern usage. Special attention to those points which often cause problems to English-speaking learners. Vietnamese / English comparisons and contrasts highlighted throughout. The final section covers pronunciation, providing an introduction to the syllable structure of Vietnamese, and highlighting common errors made by English-speaking learners. Accompanying audio tracks for this chapter are available at www.routledge.com/9781138210707. Vietnamese: An Essential Grammar is ideal for learners involved in independent study and for students in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types.

An essential descriptive introduction to a South-East Asian language with over seventy million speakers, this book provides a conservative treatment of the phonology, lexicon and syntax of Vietnamese, with comments on semantics and history, with particular reference to writing systems, loan words and syntactic structures. All example texts are transcribed and glossed.Prof. Nguyễn Ðình-Hoà has based this grammar on his vast teaching experience and gives basic insights into "Vietnamese without veneer".

Portable and user-friendly, this Vietnamese dictionary, phrasebook, and language guide is the best way to start your vacation. If you only want to purchase one Vietnamese language book, Essential Vietnamese is the way to go. Part of Tuttle Publishing's Essential Series, it is an excellent beginner guide to the language of Vietnam, and is also designed as a phrasebook--making it the most versatile Vietnamese language learning tool on the market. Perfect for business people or tourists traveling to Vietnam, or for students who want to supplement their learning, this book's easy indexing feature allows it to act as a Vietnamese phrasebook or an English-Vietnamese Dictionary. A clever "point to" feature allows you to simply point to a phrase translated in Vietnamese without the need to say a single word or read a single character. In addition, language involving terms and phrases covering the latest technology, using social media, and tips on the essentials of travel--like arranging accommodations, dining out, and dealing with transportation and emergencies--is also effectively covered in extraordinary detail. Essential Vietnamese includes: Over 1,500 essential sentences for everyday use. A glossary containing over 2,000 terms and expressions. A handy format for finding the information you need quickly and easily. Extensive information about Vietnamese Grammar and Pronunciation. Latest Vietnamese vocabulary and phrases for smart phones, social media and more. Whether you're studying up for business, academics, travel or just for fun, Essential Vietnamese will prepare you for conversing in Vietnamese without having to take a full language course.

The perfect book for beginners to learn all the basics of Vietnamese! Reading & Writing Vietnamese offers an easy way to learn how to speak, read and write in Vietnamese. Often a difficult language to learn, this book is specially designed for beginners with no previous experience in studying or speaking the language guides learners through all the sounds of Vietnamese, including consonants, vowels and tones, the Vietnamese alphabet and more. This easy-to-use workbook includes lessons comes with free native-speaker audio recordings that allow you to practice hearing and speaking the sounds and basic vocabulary and phrases, as well as flash cards to download and print from home. Author Tri C. Tran has over 20 years of experience as a Vietnamese language teacher and has designed a series of lessons that are perfect for beginners. The book includes: A basic introduction to all the sounds of the language and how to read and write them The system of Vietnamese tones--how to distinguish them and pronounce them correctly Free audio recordings by native speakers help you accurately pronounce Vietnamese Free downloadable flashcards to help you learn the Vietnamese alphabet and basic vocabulary Extensive exercises (including dialogues, listening drills, building sentences, fill-in-the blanks, readings, and multiple-choice) to reinforce each lesson Interesting cultural information on Vietnamese customs, pastimes, foods and everyday life An index of grammatical terms and a Vietnamese-English glossary .

Developed as part of the Cornell Southeast Asia Program.

“When Laurence Thompson’s original Vietnamese Grammar first appeared in 1965, it went almost instantly to the top of the list of required reading for serious students of the Vietnamese language. It has stayed there ever since but, in recent years, the title has become almost impossible to find, either in bookstores or in libraries, where original copies have often grown woefully ragged and marked up or are now simply missing. In the meanwhile, the author has become aware of a number of minor infelicities and typographical errors requiring correction. Thus, both demand and scholarship have dictated this re-edition.” -From the Editor’s Note

A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Vietnamese--whether you're 5 or 100! This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Vietnamese words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given in Vietnamese script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 40 different themes or topics, including basics like meeting someone new and using public transportation to culture-specific topics like celebrating Vietnamese holidays and eating Vietnamese food. This colorful picture dictionary includes: Hundreds of color photographs 1,500 Vietnamese words and phrases 40 different topics--from social media and WiFi to paying and counting Example sentences showing how the words are used Companion online audio recordings by native Vietnamese speakers of all the vocabulary and sentences An introduction to Vietnamese pronunciation and grammar An index to allow you to quickly look up words Vietnamese Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Vietnam.

Improve your listening and speaking skills by experiencing colloquial Southern Vietnamese in the context of entertaining dialogues. These 20 lessons are packed with useful words, phrases, and structures, all presented within vivid scenarios for maximum enjoyment and ease of learning.

Vietnamese Stories for Language Learners--a language learning experience for beginner to intermediate students of the Vietnamese language. Nothing introduces students and cultural enthusiasts to a language and people better than stories. Intended for Vietnamese language students or heritage learners, the stories in this volume present the everyday vocabulary and grammar in use in Vietnam today. Forty folk stories have been edited and simplified for learning purposes and are presented in parallel Vietnamese and English versions to facilitate language learning. These delightful Vietnamese folktales immediately animate the culture, offering readers a glimpse of the social, cultural and religious aspects of Vietnamese society in bygone eras. The English translations allow readers who are not yet studying the language to experience the wisdom and humor in these traditional, well-loved stories. Online audio recordings in Vietnamese helps students improve their pronunciation and inflection and introduces readers to the uniquely Vietnamese story of storytelling. Discussion questions, vocabulary and cultural notes are provided at the end of each story. All media content is accessible on the Tuttle Publishing website.

A handy Vietnamese phrasebook and guide to the Vietnamese language, Survival Vietnamese contains basic vocabulary necessary for getting around. This book contains all the necessary words and phrases for speaking Vietnamese in any kind of setting. Perfect for students, tourists, or business people learning Vietnamese or traveling to Vietnam, it also contains a beginner guide to the Vietnamese language, allowing for a deeper understanding of Vietnamese than a typical Vietnamese phrasebook or Vietnamese dictionary. The phrasebook book is broken into four basic sections: Common Vietnamese Expressions and Key Words, Essential Vietnamese Communication Tools, Vietnamese Travel Vocabulary, and making your own sentences. All Vietnamese words and phrases are written in Romanized form as well phonetically, making pronouncing Vietnamese a breeze. Authentic Vietnamese script is also included so that in the case of difficulties the book can be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This phrasebook includes: Hundreds of useful Vietnamese words and expressions An A-Z index which allows the book to function as an English-Vietnamese dictionary Romanized forms, phonetic spellings, and Vietnamese script for all words and phrases A concise background and history of the Vietnamese language A complete guide to Vietnamese pronunciations A concise guide to using Vietnamese tones A brief introduction to Vietnamese grammar

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great little Vietnamese dictionary. Tuttle Mini Vietnamese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Vietnam or as a Vietnamese language study reference Mini Vietnamese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Vietnamese and a great way to learn Vietnamese. It's useful pocket-sized format, and easy-to-read type will make translating Vietnamese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Vietnamese dictionary and Vietnamese to English dictionary, Mini Vietnamese Dictionary contains important notes on the Vietnamese language, Vietnamese grammar and Vietnamese pronunciation. All Vietnamese words are written in English as well as Vietnamese script so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Vietnamese--English and English--Vietnamese. Over 15,000 essential Vietnamese words, as well as useful Vietnamese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Vietnamese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Vietnamese social media and computer terms. May be used for all U.S. ESL standardized testing.

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great Vietnamese dictionary. Tuttle Concise Vietnamese Dictionary has both Vietnamese to English and English to Vietnamese sections. It's compact size allows for easy transport without limiting the content. This Vietnamese dictionary is perfect for Vietnamese language students, or business people and tourists traveling to Vietnam who wish to learn Vietnamese before their trip. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions, carefully selected to cover all important aspects of life and commerce in Vietnam. In addition, extensive information on Vietnamesegrammar and Vietnamese pronunciation are included. Concise Vietnamese Dictionary contains the following features: 25,000 Vietnamese words and expressions. Up-to-date local Vietnamese slang and idioms. A guide to Vietnamese pronunciation and Vietnamese Grammar. Romanized forms and authentic Vietnamese script . Extensive notes with detailed tips on usage and social context. Parts of speech, common phrases and idiomatic expressions. Other dictionaries in this bestselling series you might be interested in include:Concise Chinese Dictionary, , Concise Indonesian Dictionary, Concise Tagalog Dictionary, Concise Vietnamese Dictionary, andConcise Balinese Dictionary.