Resources for the Study of Southeast Asian Languages

A comprehensive 2-way Indonesian-English dictionary with over 20,000 entries. Modern, up-to-date vocabulary includes entries on computers and finance. Perfect for businesspeople, travelers and students.

This practical and concise self-study guide will help you learn Indonesian in a very short time Indonesia is the hot new Asian destination, a country where lively conversation, good humor and warm human interaction are integral parts of daily life. In addition, the Indonesian language is widely considered to be one of the easiest Asian languages for Westerners to learn.Easy Indonesian brings Indonesian language and culture alive, giving you all the basics you need to start speaking Indonesian immediately. The opening chapters introduce the essentials of pronunciation and sentence construction, with each subsequent chapter moving you forward in gradually building up your knowledge for specific situations and activities, such as making new acquaintances, going shopping, traveling around, and much more. Every chapter contains helpful information on the customs and culture of this warm and friendly country, so that you'll soon be able to read Indonesian, speak Indonesian and talk about everything from the weather to your job and home and family with ease. An extensive glossary at the back and a section on verb and noun forms are included to help you build your vocabulary and understand the different forms that Indonesian words take. The accompanying audio CD gives you a solid foundation in correct pronunciation and helps you get a feel for the spoken language, so you'll be able to understand what people are saying--and participate in conversations!

To help you get along in Indonesian, this book contains numerous practical lessons, allowing you to master colloquial expressions for everyday situations. There are also extensive notes on etiquette, body language and cultural do's and don'ts.

To help you get along in Indonesian, this book contains numerous practical lessons, allowing you to master colloquial expressions for everyday situations. There are also extensive notes on etiquette, body language and cultural do's and don'ts.

It's amazing how 100 key words and phrases provide instant communication! Do you want to speak simple Indonesian but are too busy to study it? Are you visiting Indonesia for a short time and want an Indonesian phrase book to help you communicate? If so, this Indonesian phrasebook is for you--it's the easiest and quickest way to learn Indonesian. It's tiny 0.4 x 4.1 x 5.9 inches size makes it incredibly convenient to travel with but without losing the most essential content for communication. The idea of Instant Indonesian is simple--learn 100 words and phrases and say 1,000 things. The trick is knowing which 100 words to learn, but the authors Stuart Robson and Julian Millie have solved the problem, choosing only those words you'll hear again and again. Even with a vocabulary this small, you'll be surprised how quickly and fluently you too can communicate in the Indonesian language. Words are repeated in different combinations, building familiarity without effort. A brief guide to pronunciation allows the user to say the phrases correctly and an Indonesian dictionary allows for quick reference. Here's a sample of what you'll be able to do with this Indonesian phrasebook: Meet people. Go shopping. Ask directions. Ride the subway. Order food and drinks. And much more.

Selamat datang! Learn to read, write, and speak Indonesian! By completing the 12 lessons in Indonesian for Beginners, you will learn not only to understand, speak, read and write basic Indonesian, but also about many important aspects of Indonesia's amazingly diverse culture, people, and places. This book provides a gateway to understanding the Indonesian language and country, and helps you to apply what you learn in a way that is relevant, meaningful and fun. The course is structured around the concept of spending a year in Indonesia--experiencing different seasonal events which bring the learner on a journey. In this way, the cultural and background information becomes a natural part of the understanding of the Indonesian language and helps you to place what you learn into context within a full narrative about life in Indonesia. Each chapter contains the following elements: An introduction with images and captions Grammar points A word bank presenting key vocabulary One or more sample conversations Listening practice and readings An "Indonesian and me" section that uses Indonesian to talk about yourself Key questions and statements Drills and exercises Indonesian for Beginners includes reading, writing and speaking tasks based on authentic real-life materials. While aimed at learners taking a classroom course, it can also be used by anyone studying Indonesian in other ways--in a high school course or as a self-study book.

Asyik Berbahasa Indonesia (It's Cool to Speak Indonesian) provides beginning, intermediate, and advanced learners with an introduction to the basic grammatical structures of Indonesian in three richly illustrated volumes. Although numerous varieties of Indonesian exist throughout the archipelago, the authors use a relaxed, conversational style of Indonesian acceptable for interethnic communication among educated native speakers and commonly used in the media. Students engage in task-based activities set in real-life situations as they speak and write in Indonesian, thus acquiring grammatical accuracy while immersing themselves in the cultural context. Each lesson revolves around a grammatical construction presented in a conversation, narrative, or letter. Online recordings are available, allowing students to reinforce the learning of the grammatical forms. Lessons first offer the student the opportunity to see and hear the grammar in use, then to practice the grammatical form, and finally to read an explanation of the grammatical rule in English. Numerous illustrations and photographs aid in learning the language and culture without excessive use of translation. In addition, cultural notes at the end of each lesson allow students to explore the relationship between language use and socio-cultural values and customs. Audio files for this volume may be downloaded in MP3 format at www.indonesiantextbooks.wisc.edu

Asyik Berbahasa Indonesia (It's Cool to Speak Indonesian) provides beginning, intermediate, and advanced learners with an introduction to the basic grammatical structures of Indonesian in three richly illustrated volumes. Although numerous varieties of Indonesian exist throughout the archipelago, the authors use a relaxed, conversational style of Indonesian acceptable for interethnic communication among educated native speakers and commonly used in the media. Students engage in task-based activities set in real-life situations as they speak and write in Indonesian, thus acquiring grammatical accuracy while immersing themselves in the cultural context. Each lesson revolves around a grammatical construction presented in a conversation, narrative, or letter. Online recordings are available, allowing students to reinforce the learning of the grammatical forms. Lessons first offer the student the opportunity to see and hear the grammar in use, then to practice the grammatical form, and finally to read an explanation of the grammatical rule in English. Numerous illustrations and photographs aid in learning the language and culture without excessive use of translation. In addition, cultural notes at the end of each lesson allow students to explore the relationship between language use and socio-cultural values and customs. Audio files for this volume may be downloaded in MP3 format at www.indonesiantextbooks.wisc.edu

A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Indonesian--whether you're 5 or 100! This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Indonesian words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given in Indonesian script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 38 different themes or topics, including basics like meeting someone new and using public transportation to culture-specific topics like celebrating Indonesian holidays and eating Indonesian food. This colorful picture dictionary includes: Hundreds of color photographs 1,500 Indonesian words and phrases 38 different topics--from social media and WiFi to paying and counting Example sentences showing how the words are used Companion online audio recordings by native Indonesian speakers of all the vocabulary and sentences An introduction to Indonesian pronunciation and grammar An index to allow you to quickly look up words Indonesian Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Indonesia.

The most authoritative and up-to-date resource on the Indonesian language today, A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary is an essential reference for students, tourists, business people, and scholars of Indonesian. This major new dictionary is the most modern and inclusive Indonesian-English dictionary available. The product of more than twenty years of research and documentation of the Indonesian language and culture, A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary is designed to be as user-friendly as possible. Root words, meanings, proverbs, and idioms, compounds that begin with the root word, and derivatives are given. Thousands of sample sentences from primary sources illustrate meaning and usage; no sentences are invented, ensuring complete authenticity and reliability.Using an array of primary and secondary sources, from the classical language to the most recent slang, Alan M. Stevens has completed the work he and the late A. Ed. Schmidgall-Tellings began two decades ago. Tens of thousands of new entries bring meaning and understanding to changes in technology, culture, politics, and lifestyle. Included as well is the language of government, the law, and banking, with thousands of accounting, tax, and legal terms. Technical terms in all fields, including petroleum, steel, engineering, geology, chemistry, mining, medical, and shipping, make A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary of international usefulness.

The first genuine learner's dictionary for English-speaking students of Indonesian which, rather than being a passive reference work, actively helps the user to generate language.

Making Out in Indonesian Phrasebook & Dictionary is a fun and accessible guide to Indonesian as it's spoken in real life. Freshly written by Tim Hannigan--whose features and travel articles appear regularly in newspapers and magazines in Indonesia and beyond--this is your guide to modern spoken Indonesian. Experience the language as it is used in everyday interactions today, including many colorful, catchy expressions, Jakarta slang, and informal phrases not found in traditional Indonesian language materials. In addition to being an easy-to-use Indonesian phrasebook, it also includes an introduction to the Indonesian language, pronunciation guide, topical notes on critical points of language and culture, and chapters based on typical real-life encounters with speakers of Indonesian, including: Making acquaintances Discussing likes and dislikes Sharing a meal Going out on the town Developing a romantic relationship--even through to having sex, getting married, and splitting up! Whether you're planning to study abroad in Indonesia, or are just looking for an authentic travel experience, this fun resource will turn you into a local in no time.

Look up words quickly and easily with this travel-sized Indonesian dictionary. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Indonesia, Pocket Indonesian Dictionary is an essential tool for communication and a great way to learn Indonesian. It features all the essential Indonesian vocabulary appropriate for beginning to intermediate students. It's handy pocket format and easy-to-read type will make any future trip to Indonesia much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Indonesian dictionary and Indonesian to English dictionary, Pocket Indonesian Dictionary contains important notes on the Indonesian language, Indonesian grammar and Indonesian pronunciation. All words are written in English as well as Indonesian script so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This Indonesian dictionary contains: Bidirectional English-Indonesian and Indonesian-English sections Over 12,000 essential words and expressions Headwords printed in bold for quick and easy reference Latest computer, mobile phone, Internet and social media terms A basic overview of grammar and pronunciation

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great little Indonesian dictionary. Tuttle Mini Indonesian Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Indonesia or as an Indonesian language study referenceMini Indonesian Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Indonesian and a great way to learn Indonesian. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Indonesian much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Indonesian dictionary and Indonesian to English dictionaryMini Indonesian Dictionary contains important notes on the Indonesian language, Indonesian grammar and Indonesian pronunciation. All Indonesian words are written in English as well as Indonesian script so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Indonesian-English and English-Indonesian. Over 12,000 essential Indonesian words, as well as useful Indonesian expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Indonesian grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Indonesian social media and computer terms. May be used for all U.S. ESL standardized testing.