Resources for the Study of Southeast Asian Languages

A thorough and systematic introduction to the Burmese writing system. Appropriate for use by students at varying levels of competence, Burmese: A Cultural Approach provides a thorough and systematic introduction to the Burmese writing system, along with a series of true-to-life conversations. The first part of the book offers an introduction to the Burmese sound system, while the second section focuses on conversation, including extensive annotations that illustrate grammatical patterns, characteristic turns of phrase, and typical habits of social interaction. Employing an anthropological approach to language learning, the book is intended to provide students with useful insights into how cultural understandings, not just grammar, shape what gets said in Burmese. The book is enhanced by audio files that can be accessed on a companion website that were recorded by native speakers for all the written symbols, dialogues, and exercises in the book.  

The third volume in a four-part language course, this textbook enables students to become competent in reading and writing Burmese script. Most students find it helpful to begin learning the script at the same time as they start on the spoken language, but this volume can be used independently if preferred. In addition to lists of words for reading and writing practice, presented in a series of short graduated lessons, Okell includes sample texts from Burmese materials such as product labels, newspaper headlines, and maps. Appendices on handwriting and cursive forms, display fonts, the Burmese names of the characters, Burmese alphabetical order, and common abbreviations round out the book.One of the challenges of learning a non-roman script language from traditional course books is that the use of the roman alphabet to describe sounds is not as effective as hearing the sounds. The extensive audio files that accompany this volume allow the learner to hear and produce the sounds corresponding to the symbols. Language professors and their students or those learning Burmese on their own will appreciate the accessible approach and the manageable size of the lessons of the very practical textbooks in this series.

The first volume in a four-part language course, this textbook enables students to start speaking and understanding the spoken language. In the early sections the focus is on familiarizing the learner with the unfamiliar sounds of the language and the structures of Burmese sentences. After this foundation the emphasis changes to acquiring the words and phrases needed for early encounters with Burmese speakers in Burma and elsewhere in the world. Numerous speaking exercises and practice dialogs feature travel topics such as asking for directions, taking taxis, and ordering food and drink, and common conversational topics such as introductions, family, and work. Because Burmese script can be challenging, Okell offers roman transcription alongside the Burmese script for Burmese material throughout the text. Like the other titles in this series, Book 1 is accompanied by audio files and can be used either under the instruction of a teacher or for self-study. The series was developed over a period of several years and was tested, modified, and expanded after use in the classroom. Language professors and their students or those learning Burmese on their own will appreciate the accessible approach and the manageable size of the lessons of the very practical textbooks in this series.

Burmese has two styles of speaking and writing: the colloquial style, which is used for talking to friends and for writing letters, and the literary style, which is used in more formal contexts, such as academic articles, newspaper reports, and narrative passages in fiction. This volume, the final book in a four-part Burmese language course, introduces learners to the literary style. It assumes a prior knowledge of Burmese script and a grounding in the colloquial style.Okell starts with simple sentences, and, over a series of short lessons, gradually increases the range of vocabulary and the level of complexity. The texts Okell uses for study are excerpts from Burmese childrenÆs schoolbooks highlighting themes of home- and school-life and Burmese nationalism and independence. Each passage is accompanied by a full translation and is followed by a set of exercises designed to familiarize the reader with the new vocabulary and sentence structures. Accompanying audio files allow students to hear the texts read aloud. Language professors, their students, or those learning Burmese on their own will appreciate the accessible approach and the manageable size of the lessons of the very practical textbooks in this series.

This comprehensive bilingual Burmese (Myanmar) dictionary includes over 28,000 Word-for-Word dictionary entries, and is approved for ESL/ELL students to use for standardized testing. Burmese is a Sino-Tibetan language spoken in Myanmar, where it is an official language. It is spoken by over 40 million people worldwide. The government of Myanmar designates it as the Myanmar language, but most English speakers continue to refer to the language as Burmese, after Burma, the former name of Myanmar. The Burmese alphabet is derived from the Brahmic scripts of South Indian languages. This dictionary's two-way format makes it useful for both English and Burmese speakers. Each entry includes Burmese script as well Romanization (common sense phonetic pronunciation) for English speakers. Burmese ELL (English-Language Learner) students can look up the meaning of English words they don't recognize, and also translate their thoughts and writing in Burmese to English using this dictionary.

Start reading Easy Burmese on the way to the airport and begin communicating as soon as you land! Specially designed for beginning learners who have no prior knowledge of the language, Easy Burmese is fully romanized throughout and focused on conversational rather than written Burmese. For a fraction of the cost of expensive language products, this book introduces all the basics of the language with an emphasis on practical daily conversations and vocabulary. A complete language course and pocket dictionary in one, Easy Burmese includes: Free, downloadable native-speaker audio recordings to help you master correct pronunciation and intonation Structured, progressive lessons to help you build confidence and fluency quickly Practical dialogues focused on daily communication Manga illustrations to facilitate memorization Useful notes on the Burmese script and pronunciation Greetings, requests, honorific forms and etiquette tips A dictionary of commonly-used words and phrases Kenneth Wong, a translator, author, and native Burmese speaker who emigrated to the United States, is the ideal guide for travelers who want to master spoken Burmese--fast.

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great little Burmese dictionary. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Myanmar Pocket Burmese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Burmese. A great way to learn Burmese, it features all the essential Burmese vocabulary appropriate for beginning to intermediate students. It's handy pocket format, and easy-to-read type will make any future trip to Myanmar much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Burmese dictionary and Burmese to English dictionary, Pocket Burmese Dictionary contains important notes on the Burmese language, Burmese grammar, and Burmese pronunciation. All Burmese word are written in Romanized form as well as authentic Burmese script (mranma akkha.ra) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This dictionary contains: The 3,000 most commonly used words in the Burmese language. Burmese-English and English-Burmese sections. An introduction to the Burmese language. Romanized Burmese and Burmese script (mranma akkha.ra). Information on Burmese grammar. Information on pronouncing Burmese. Other books from this bestselling series you might enjoy include: Pocket Vietnamese Dictionary, Pocket Cambodian Dictionary, Pocket Thai Dictionary, and Pocket Malay Dictionary.

The easy and accessible way to learn the Burmese writing system!With this handy guide to the Burmese alphabet, you'll quickly learn how to read, write and pronounce Burmese letters as well as hundreds of useful words and phrases--no prior knowledge necessary! Experienced language teachers and authors A Zun Mo and Angus Johnstone present consonants, vowels and tones, and words in a systematic, step-by-step approach. Start by tracing and copying individual letters before progressing to writing complete words and sentences. This interactive workbook includes:Free online audio recordings that teach you to pronounce all the sounds of Burmese correctlyFun exercises to help you learn a broad range of useful vocabulary--numbers, family and friends, Burmese foods, and moreMnemonic illustrations to help you memorize the sounds of lettersClearly structured lessons with ample opportunity for writing and reading practiceA set of free downloadable flash cardsA complete answer key for all the exercisesThis resource is perfect for self-study learners, but can also be used for classroom instruction.

This practical Burmese phrasebook and dictionary puts all the most important Burmese words and phrases in the palm of your hand. It contains all the necessary words and phrases for speaking Burmese in any setting. Perfect for students, tourists, or business people learning Burmese or traveling to Myanmar, it also contains a beginners guide to the Burmese language, allowing for a more in-depth understanding than a typical Burmese phrasebook or Burmese dictionary. The phrasebook is organized by situations where one might need to speak Burmese such as: at the hotel, in a taxi, using numbers, etc. Say it like it is: A pronunciation guide for each phrase Meet and greet: The right greeting for every situation A little respect, please: Use the correct personal titles to address people Who, what, where, why, when: Requesting things and asking questions The ties that bind: Talking about your family What time/day is it? Telling time and days of the week How to read menus and important road signs Travel vocabulary and useful expressions: Getting to the airport Buses, taxis, and trains Hotels and resorts Eating and drinking Sightseeing Health emergencies Popular tourist spots Toilets and restrooms Shopping and money Telephone and internet Numbers and counting Seasons and weather