Get Help
Librarian
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. 10th Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@iu.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
- Mintel Reports
This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
- BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Company Resources
For company directories, profiles and analyses, you can start with these resources:
- MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Reference Solutions
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- S&P Capital IQ
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks. Some user-friendly features are its chart builder, screening tools and Excel Plug-in modeling tools.
Available for IU Bloomington-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access using iu.edu email account. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
News and Literature Resources
To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:
- ABI/INFORM CollectionContains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
- Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- FactivaContains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
- Nexis UniIncludes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.