Skip to Main Content
on the Web
Association for Professionals in Infection Control & Epidemiology
Provides information about this trade organization and its education and training resources, surveys on specific infectious diseases, guidelines and standards, and resources on emergency preparedness. In addition, there is a "Legislation In Progress" map on relevant state and federal legislation, a public policy library, and a Listserv and online communities for members.
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
Provides access to the Department of Energy's data files from occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and local communities. The value of this data is its rich history, with data going back to the 1940's. There is also a bibliography (CEDR Library) that indexes abstracts and grey literature on related topics.
Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists
Organized in the 1950's, the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) has almost 400 members form each U.S. state and territory, Canada, and Great Britain. Priority areas are the surveillance and epidemiology of infectious diseases, chronic diseases and conditions, and environmental health. Special topics include HIV/AIDS and vaccine-preventable diseases.
Dr. John Snow (1813-1858)
This site is devoted to the life and times of Dr. John Snow (1813-1858), a legendary figure in the history of public health, epidemiology and anesthesiology.
EPIDEMIO-L Listserv
Sponsored by the University of Montreal, this moderately active Listserv provides access to prominent members of the global epidemiological community who will provide answers to key questions about methodology and professional philosophy.
Indiana State Health Data & Reports
Look around this website for access to all sorts of health information for Hoosiers.
Global Health Observatory data repository
The United National World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.
Health, United States
Annual report that presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, financing of health care, and managed care. Current and previous editions back to 1975 are available. From the Department of Health and Human Services.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Database
Created and maintained by the International Programs Center of the US Census Bureau, this database gives information on the rates of HIV and AIDS infection in developing countries. It is a compilation of information from studies that appear in the medical/scientific literature, at conferences, or in the press.
Human Genome Epidemiology Network (HuGENet)
A global collaboration of individuals & organizations committed to the assessment of the impact of human genome variation on population health & how genetic information can be used to improve health & prevent disease. Includes the HuGE Navigator (an integrated searchable knowledge base of genetic associations and human genome epidemiology), the HuGE Book (describes in detail the foundations and methodologies of the project), and case studies.
International Conference on Emerging Infectious Diseases (ICEID)
Access selected presentations and panels from all International Conferences on Emerging Infectious Diseases, held since 2000. Many presentations include both audio and slides. Some are also available as downloadable Microsoft PowerPoint presentations. From The National Center for Infectious Diseases.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a U.S. government agency that provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the public health of the American people. It is a unit of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. It is headquartered at University Town Center in Hyattsville, Maryland, just outside Washington, D.C.
National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
This site, sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, provides facts, data, publications, funding, and more on injuries and injury prevention. There are public health fact sheets, the Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS), the CDC Injury Fact Book, injury maps, podcasts, and more.
National Office of Public Health Genomics (NOPHG)
Provides a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources (such as Google News) to curated personal accounts (such as ProMED) to validated official alerts (such as World Health Organization). Data is aggregated automatically by disease and displayed by location for user-friendly access to the original alert.
National Vital Statistics Reports
Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Special reports are issued four to six times a year and cover final data on births for the previous year. Available from Vol. 47 to the present in Adobe Acrobat format. Previously known as Monthly Vital Statistics Report.
Vital and Health Statistics Series (the Rainbow Series)
Bibliography of approximately 20 series of health statistics monographs that cover U.S. and international mortality, natality, nutrition, health care expenditures. Includes the National Health Interview Survey. Selected full text available online