IU Libraries
Check out the IU Libraries website for up-to-date information about materials, space, and events.
Additionally, there are Research Guides for every subject, including Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences.
Finding Materials
Getting Started
Databases are great places to locate a multitude of resources, but can be particularly helpful when searching for peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based practice research, and other tools to support clinical practice.
General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases
-
Academic Search (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines. Also contains an image database.
-
OneSearch@IU
This link opens in a new window -
Scopus
This link opens in a new windowA citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
Speech & Hearing Databases
This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language and contains non-evaluative abstracts of articles from over 1,200 international serials as well as other resources.
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, social sciences, and mental health fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed
Biomedical citations and abstracts (MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Additional citations, approximately 1% of the database, are from other sources.
- Embase
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts.
- Communication Source
This resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
- Cochrane Library
Access to systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy.
- Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection
Henry Stewart Talks consist of audio-visual presentations ("online seminars by leading world experts") lasting approximately 40-50 minutes. Topics cover many intersections of speech, language, & hearing sciences, including: stuttering, bilingualism, language production & comprehension, etc.
- CINAHL Complete
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
Speech-Language Pathology E-Journals
This link provides access to e-journals through IU Libraries
ASHAWire
ASHA members have free online access to the journals AJA, AJSLP, JSLHR, and LSHSS as a benefit of membership through ASHAWire. Details about memberships can be found here.
Professional Organizations
Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology
American Auditory Society
American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA)
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
Indiana Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ISHA)
Indiana University Bloomington Chapter--The National Student Speech, Language, and Hearing Association
International Association of Logopedics and Phoniatrics - IALP
International Society for Augmentative and Alternative Communication (ISAAC)
National Black Association for Speech-Language and Hearing
National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
-
IUCAT Online Library Catalog
This link opens in a new windowThe Indiana University online catalog. Find books, magazines, journals, movies, sound recordings, government publications, digital collections, and more.
Things to keep in mind:
-
Physical books can be borrowed from other IU Libraries (Kokomo, South Bend, IUPUI, etc.), but if IU Bloomington has an available copy, you will get it quicker.
-
Browsing Collection books (think of these as popular titles) cannot be requested for delivery and must be checked out at Wells Library. An example of a browsing collection book can be found here: https://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14386232
-
E-Books can only be accessed if the link says "IU Bloomington" or "All Campus Access"
-
Request delivery allows you to borrow books from other campuses or branch libraries (Education, Neal-Marshall, etc.) and have books delivered to one convenient location. You can request delivery once you are logged into IUCAT.
-
Renewing books is as simple as logging into IUCAT and clicking "My Account" and "Renew."
Featured Books Available in IUCAT
Translational Neuroscience of Speech and Language Disorders (E-Book) by ISBN: 9783030356866Publication Date: 2020This book provides the first presentation of the state-of-the-art in the application of modern Neuroscience research in predicting, preventing and alleviating the negative sequelae of neurodevelopmental, acquired, or neurodegenerative brain abnormalities on speech and language. To this end, this edited volume brings together contributions from several leading experts in a markedly broad range of disciplines, comprising Neurology, Neurosurgery, Genetics, Engineering, Neuroimaging and Neurostimulation, Neuropsychology, and Speech and Language Therapy.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781635501186Publication Date: 2019
Changing Minds (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780262042598Publication Date: 2019Why language ability remains resilient and how it shapes our lives. We acquire our native language, seemingly without effort, in infancy and early childhood. Language is our constant companion throughout our lifetime, even as we age. Indeed, compared with other aspects of cognition, language seems to be fairly resilient through the process of aging. In Changing Minds, Roger Kreuz and Richard Roberts examine how aging affects language--and how language affects aging. Kreuz and Roberts report that what appear to be changes in an older person's language ability are actually produced by declines in such other cognitive processes as memory and perception. Some language abilities, including vocabulary size and writing ability, may even improve with age. And certain language activities--including reading fiction and engaging in conversation--may even help us live fuller and healthier lives. Kreuz and Roberts explain the cognitive processes underlying our language ability, exploring in particular how changes in these processes lead to changes in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. They consider, among other things, the inability to produce a word that's on the tip of your tongue--and suggest that the increasing incidence of this with age may be the result of a surfeit of world knowledge. For example, older people can be better storytellers, and (something to remember at a family reunion) their perceived tendency toward off-topic verbosity may actually reflect communicative goals.
