Data Resources - Food Consumption
- SimplyAnalytics
This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics includes data on food purchasing down to the Census block level. For example, you can find how much money people in a neighborhood spend on butter each year. Export as a spreadsheet, image, or shapefile. - Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Our subscription to Mintel contains consumer reports on food markets across the US. Under "categories" select "food" to find 2020 and 2021 reports on food markets including "vegetables," "fruit," "poultry," and "plant-based proteins."
Library databases, books, journals, & articles - Food Consumption
IU Libraries has a large collection of cookbooks. Try searching in IUCAT using a subject search for "cooking".
- Food and Drink in History
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to primary source material covering the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. Includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content.
- Food Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with archival content, visual ephemera, books, and videos that explore how food shapes the world.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in AmericaThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, originally published in September 2004, covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements that have shaped the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Entries range across historical periods and the trends that characterize them, from the extravagant feasts of the Gilded Age to the diet fads of the nineties. This thoroughly updated new edition captures the shifting American perspective on food and ensures that this title is both the most authoritative and the most current reference work on American cuisine
Government and community resources - Food Consumption
- USDA Economic Research ServiceInformation from the USDA ERS on the current food price outlook.