Food Systems
This guide includes databases, journals, books, and other resources to support research in the interdisciplinary area of food studies. Please explore the topical areas in the sidebar to the left, and don't hesitate to contact your friendly librarians for help!
Related Subject Areas and Librarians:
- Anthropology
- Geography
- Government Information
- Nutrition & Public Health
- Public & Environmental Affairs
Related Campus Organizations:
General Resources for Food Systems
- Food Studies Online
This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with archival content, visual ephemera, books, and videos that explore how food shapes the world.
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that provides access to a wide variety of data, including food purchasing, grocery retail counts and locations, and health information. Users can create maps or download the data as a spreadsheet or shapefile. - Food and Drink in History
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to primary source material covering the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. Includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- The Culinary Institute of AmericaRecommended website list for the Bachelor's Degree in Applied Food Studies at the Culinary Institute of America.
Recommended Journals and websites
While Databases aggregate articles from many journals, sometimes going directly to a relevant journal is a good way to keep up on current literature and find articles. For each of these IUCAT (IU Libraries' catalog) records, you'll need to click on the [BLOOMINGTON] link to get access.
- Food and Foodways
- This link opens in a new window
"Food and Foodways is a refereed, interdisciplinary, and international journal devoted to publishing original scholarly articles on the history and culture of human nourishment.
By reflecting on the role food plays in human relations from the perspectives of social sciences and humanities, this unique journal explores the powerful but often subtle ways in which food has shaped, and shapes, our lives socially, economically, politically, mentally, nutritionally, and morally." - Global food history
- This link opens in a new window
"Global Food History is the preeminent peer-reviewed journal for authors who wish to write about food and drink using history as their primary disciplinary perspective." - Gastronomica
- This link opens in a new window
"Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food. In the pages of Gastronomica, you will find examinations of historical trends and transformations in food and eating; analyses of the political, economic, and social dimensions of food production and consumption; research briefs on emerging issues in fields related to food research and innovation; and interviews with key figures in the world of food (scholars, activists, producers, and consumers). With cutting-edge research and explorations of the theoretical and methodological underpinnings of food studies, Gastronomica is your go-to resource for understanding the social, cultural, and historical dimensions of food" - Food, culture, & society
- This link opens in a new window
Food, Culture and Society: An International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research is an international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy. - International Journal of Gastronomy and Food Science
- This link opens in a new window
IJGFS explores all aspects related to the growing field of the interaction of gastronomy and food science, in areas such as, but not limited to:
Food Science in relation to Gastronomy: food chemistry and physics, food technology, food microbiology and enzymology, genetics/genomics, new ingredients, health and nutrition, new product development
Sensory experiences related to food: sensory science, perception, preferences, chemesthesis, enhancing sensory properties of food, neuroscience, psychology (pleasure, interoception...)
Innovation in Gastronomy: culinary concepts, creativity in gastronomy, culinary trends, work systems & protocols, culinary performance, culinary techniques, gastronomic experience (interaction exercises, environment, plating etc.)
Gastronomy in perspective: gastronomic tourism, sustainability in gastronomy, social and cultural aspects of gastronomy, culinary traditions, culinary history, bibliographic studies on culinary books (recipes, cook books and menus) - Civil Eats
This link opens in a new window
Civil Eats is a daily news source for critical thought about the American food system. We publish stories that shift the conversation around sustainable agriculture in an effort to build economically and socially just communities.
Founded in January 2009, Civil Eats is a nonprofit news organization with more 150 contributors who report on the evolving food landscape from Capitol Hill to Main Street. - The Salt
- This link opens in a new window
The Salt is a blog from the NPR Science Desk about what we eat and why we eat it. - Sustainable Food Systems Science (SFSS)
- This link opens in a new window
"This research initiative couples field, lab-based, and big-data research between IU’s accomplished food, nutrition, agro-ecological, decision sciences, and systems scholars to forge a networked effort in the study of Sustainable Food Systems Science (SFSS). Our integrated approach seeks to understand sustainable food system development, from farm to fork, by studying the leverage points that can be used to build more resilient and sustainable food systems that support food justice, public health and well-being, sustain more livelihoods, and improve civic and community life." - Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development
- This link opens in a new window
"The Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD) is the world's only peer-reviewed, transdisciplinary journal focused solely on food and farming-related community development. JAFSCD uses a double-blind peer review process, with expert reviewers who include researchers, scholars, and food systems professionals in the field.
JAFSCD emphasizes best practices and tools related to the planning, community economic development, and ecological protection of local and regional agriculture and food systems, and works to bridge the interests of practitioners and academics."
