GEOG-G 391: GEOGRAPHY OF INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

The GeoRef database, contains over 3.8 million records to journal articles, books, government publications, maps and conference publications related to geology, geophysics, geochemistry, hydrogeology, paleontology and mineralogy. It contains citations to all of the publications indexed in the Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Abstracts of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef is the most comprehensive index to geoscience information. The database includes references to all U.S. Geological Survey and state geological survey publications, as well as geological survey publications from other countries of the World. It also indexes Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.

Premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool yet for researching developmental data.
Print and CD-ROM versions of WDI are retained in GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library, which also subscribes to most World Bank publications.

The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.

In addition to tracking political disputes on hot-button issues dating back to the Reagan administration, Polling the Nations includes tens of thousands of polls on global affairs, popular culture, sports, health, inventions, religion, gender, and other diverse subjects.

Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview, such as parents with children in public schools, Great Britain or California.

The print and microfiche counterpart to this resource is titled American Public Opinion Index. It begins in 1981, covering five earlier years complementing this web resource:

Wells Library Reference Department
HM261 .A463
Holdings: 1981-1998
Cumulative index for 1981-1985

Also includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).