Library Research Guides: Historical Research in Music Education: Find Secondary Literature &amp; Content

Journal Articles and Dissertations

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
RILM is your first stop for a comprehensive database connecting you with journal articles about music and music education
Offers international coverage of the music scene, covering books, bibliographies, conference proceedings, catalogs, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You can view dissertations about all topics--including music education--in this easy-to-use database.
Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions
ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A general education database--does have some music coverage.
ERIC indexes and abstracts materials in education and related fields. It includes document citations, journal article citations from over 1085 professional journals (983 comprehensive coverage and 102 selective coverage) and ERIC digest full-text records. The database also includes full-text from 84 journals and full-text of most of the ERIC documents from 1993 to the present.
Education Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Provides abstracting and indexing to core international periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs covering preschool, elementary, secondary, higher, and adult education. Full text is provided for articles from 500 titles since January 1980.

To view IU-authored theses and dissertations, do the following:

Go to the IUCAT advanced search
Enter any keyword you think is best and leave the drop-down menu on "all fields,"
OR, enter "music instruction and study" and select "subject" from the drop-down menu
On the left side of the screen, under the facet "Collections, select "Indiana University Dissertations & Theses"

Videos

Education in Video
- This link opens in a new window
This database intends to assist educators with tools to help, mainly through videos of real-world students in classrooms. Depending on the context in which you use it, the videos you see here might qualify as primary sources.
The series features hundreds of experienced professionals in a wide variety of settings and circumstances. In-depth and special-topic videos are included. The collection is also global in scope, providing a survey of the teaching profession worldwide and granting access a diverse array of learning environments. Includes tools for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.

Books and other materials

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of libraries may be searched from this one catalog; Interlibrary Loan requests can also be made.

Historical Research in Music Education

Journal Articles and Dissertations

Videos

Books and other materials

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries