Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IU Archives - Student Life collections

Welcome!

Welcome! This guide was created to help users discover and access archive and special collection materials which document student life at Indiana University.  Please use the tabs at left to navigate through the offerings at repositories across campus. 

Just a note that this guide is a continual work in progress and that these lists are not necessarily comprehensive. All archives and special collections regularly receive new materials, have backlogs of materials without publicly available descriptions, and redescribe existing materials to uncover previously hidden voices If you do not find what you are looking for on these pages, please be sure to reach out!

Collection examples

Group of students with fists raised in the air.

The Gay Liberation Front, 1972

Newspaper cover with a line drawing a woman in 1960s style.

Cover of the October 7, 1969 edition of The Spectator, IU Archives.

Colorful magazine cover with a cartoon women walking against the rain in a flapper-style dress

The Indiana Bored Walk, March 1931. IU Archives

Black and white photo of a couple kissing with bystanders.

South Hall Buccaneers win the first Little 500, (Team Members, L to R) Glen Wilson, Bob Moore kissing Joyce Hilgemeier and Russ Keller, 1951. IU Archives.

Black and white photo of dancers perforning

African American Dance Company, 1970s. IU Archives.