Relevant University Archives collections
- C51 John Robert Cravens papers, 1838-1840Includes correspondence and lecture notes from John Robert Cravens' senior year at Indiana University, 1839-1840. He later became a lawyer and one of Indiana's leading statesmen.
- C54 Sarah Parke Morrison papers, 1855-1913Sarah Parke Morrison became the first woman admitted to Indiana University in 1867. Collection consists of personal papers of Sarah Parke Morrison in three series: Correspondence, 1897-1913, consisting primarily of outgoing correspondence. Frequent correspondents include former Indiana University President William Lowe Bryan and Registrar John W. Cravens. The correspondence all dates from the years after she left IU and much of it discusses her desire that women become members of the various University boards. Schedules, 1855-1856, consists of a single schedule of a typical day for Morrison at the Western Female College; and Writings, 1911-1912, includes a handwritten account of Morrison's entrance and experience as the first female student at IU and a small pamphlet of Morrison's poetry published in 1912.
- C191 Mary Geraldine Hatt papers, 1929-2000Mary Geraldine Hatt studied history at Indiana University and went on to complete an MA in International Relations before teaching social studies in South Bend, Indiana. Her international experience includes serving in the American Red Cross Hospital in Europe and receiving the first Fulbright Scholarship for travel to South Africa. Her papers consist of correspondence beginning with her freshman year at I.U., various materials relating to Miss Hatt's time in South Africa as a Fulbright Scholar, and travel diaries which record her frequent trips throughout the world.
- C194 Harry V. Craig papers, 1890-1909The Harry V. Craig papers comprise .4 cubic feet and spans 1890-1909. It consists almost entirely of correspondence dating from his time as a student at Indiana University. Although most of the letters are those he received from friends, family, and fraternity brothers, there are a handful of letters by Craig detailing his experience at IU including a local murder scene he observed. The most frequent correspondent was his mother, Lizzie Craig, who offers up motherly advice about the company he should keep and how he should save his money.
- C231 Waldo L. McAtee papers, 1900-1961Waldo Lee McAtee was a famous ornithologist and an Indiana University Alumnus. This collection is comprised of papers from when he was a student at Indiana University.
- C232 John J. W. "Bill" Broom papers,1937-1941John J.W. "Bill" Broom was an Indiana University alumnus who was active in the concert band, orchestra, and taps while a student. He served with the Fort Wayne, Ind. Community Schools for 44 years, retiring as music director in 1984. This collection consists of Broom's correspondence from his time as a student at IU and a single newsletter from the IU Young Men's Christian Association, the Y's Men.
- C361 Ralph J. Garriott diary, 1923-1924Ralph J. Garriott graduated from Indiana University in 1927. This collection consists solely of Garriott’s diary maintained during his freshman year at Indiana University, 1923-1924.
- C419 John W. Sloan coursework and photographs, 1935-1947Indiana University alumnus John W. Sloan was born in 1915 in Oak Park, Illinois. He graduated with a B.S. in chemistry from IU in 1939, and completed two semesters of graduate study in chemistry from 1946-1947. He served in the United States Army from 1941-1945, where he reached the rank of Captain, later becoming a Lieutenant Colonel in the Army Reserve. This small collection includes chemistry and physics laboratory notebooks and coursework from Sloan’s time as an undergraduate and graduate student. The collection also contains five photographs Sloan took of the IU campus when he was an undergraduate.
- C422 Wilbur F. Pell, Jr. papers, 1932-1987Wilbur F. Pell, Jr., a 1937 graduate of Indiana University and a 1940 graduate of Harvard University Law School, led a successful career in law. While a student at Indiana University, he held leadership positions in numerous areas, including editor of both IU’s humor magazine the Bored Walk and of the university yearbook, the Arbutus. He also served as the manager of the University Theatre, and in 1936 was elected Grand Master of the Beta Theta Chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity at Indiana University. This collection contains materials related to his work with the Arbutus, Beta Theta, and the University Theatre. Also included is a small amount of personal correspondence.
- C422 Wilbur F. Pell, Jr. papers, 1932-1987, bulk 1934-1937Wilbur F. Pell, Jr., a 1937 graduate of Indiana University and a 1940 graduate of Harvard University Law School, led a successful career in law. While a student at Indiana University, he held leadership positions in numerous areas, including editor of both IU’s humor magazine the Bored Walk and of the university yearbook, the Arbutus. He also served as the manager of the University Theatre, and in 1936 was elected Grand Master of the Beta Theta Chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity at Indiana University. This collection contains materials related to his work with the Arbutus, Beta Theta, and the University Theatre. Also included is a small amount of personal correspondence.
- C429 William Wylie Blair essays and correspondence, 1847-1848William Wylie Blair entered Indiana University in 1845. He attended through the 1848 school year, but did not graduate. This small collection consists of six essays written by Blair while he was a student at IU as well as an 1848 letter written to Blair and friend Jonathan Dixon Wylie by former classmate James Strean, who was an IU student at the time of writing.
- C448 Mildred Valeda Daum diary and scrapbooks, 1919-1924Mildred Daum Ridenour, an Evansville native, attended Indiana University 1919-1922. Upon graduation, she went on to teach English in Evansville and Petersburg. She married W.W. Ridenour in June 1926. This small collection consists of a diary and two scrapbooks that date chiefly from her time as a student at IU.
- C451 William R. Ringer papers, 1916-2011, bulk 1916-1918William R. Ringer graduated from Indiana University in 1920. After earning his JD at the University of Michigan, he went on to have a successful legal career. This small collection consists primarily of diaries and journals maintained while Ringer was an Indiana University student.
- C451 William R. Ringer papers, 1916-2011, bulk 1916-1918William R. Ringer graduated from Indiana University in 1920. After earning his JD at the University of Michigan, he went on to have a successful legal career. This small collection consists primarily of diaries and journals maintained while Ringer was an Indiana University student.
- C470 Dolores C. Whitney papers, 1946-1964Dolores C. Whitney graduated from Indiana University with an M.S. in 1950. This small collection consists of two scrapbooks as well artwork.
- C484 Homer Wheeler correspondence, 1844-1846Homer Wheeler attended Indiana University from 1844-1846, studying law, literature and theology. His collection contains four letters between Homer and his brother Maro Wheeler. Letters discuss Homer Wheeler’s arrival in Bloomington, his involvement with the Philomathean Society, and his job prospects upon graduation.
- C486 Bartholomew H. Burrell letter to Mortimore Crabb, 5 February 1864This small collection holds a single letter from Indiana University student Bartholomew H. Burrell to Mortimore Crabb, who resided in Burrell’s hometown of Brownstown, Ind. The letter, dated 5 February 1864, details difficulties the campus literary societies were having with university administration.
- C494 Earl Brown papers, 1881-1908William Earl Brown was a native of Bloomington, Indiana, where he completed his primary and secondary education. He continued his education at IU and earned a Bachelor's degree in History. This collection consists of his school books and class work from the 4th grade to the 12th grade, as well as records of the courses he took as a student at IU and papers he wrote for various classes.
- C505 Thomas Nesbit Mathers papers, 1926-1972Thomas Nesbit Mathers was the son of Frank Curry Mathers, a distinguished Chemistry Professor at Indiana University, and Maud (Bowser) Mathers. Thomas attended Bloomington High School in the late 1920s-early 1930s before entering Indiana University where he graduated in 1936. Mathers went on to receive his law degree from Indiana University in 1939 and Master of Business Administration from Harvard University in 1941. He worked as an investment analyst throughout his career in the finance industry. The collection consists of Thomas Mathers’ education related documents, notebooks, textbooks, and various coursework completed both at Bloomington High School, Indiana University, and at Harvard. This collection also contains a few journals kept by Mathers in 1931 as well as correspondence.
- C506 William Hammond Mathers papers, 1929-1940William Hammond Mathers attended Bloomington (Ind.) High School in the early 1930s before attending Indiana University where he graduated in 1938 with his BA in Chemistry with High Honors. Mathers fell ill during his last few years at I.U. and passed away on September 5, 1938 after a long battle against cancer. This collection consists of William Mathers education related papers, notebooks, textbooks, and various coursework completed both at Bloomington High School and at Indiana University. Also included are a few travel journals kept by Mathers from 1936-1937.
- C547 John C. Wilson's Indiana University diary, November 1857-January 1858John C. Wilson was a student at Indiana University from 1857-1858. The diary recounts life as a student as well as a few details about life in Bloomington.
- C552 Clarence Bulliet letters to Katherine Adams, 1902-1904Clarence Joseph Bulliet (later Bulleit) was born March 16, 1883 and died October 20, 1952. An American author, art critic and poet, this small collection consists entirely of correspondence sent to his fiancee Katherine Adams during his time as a student at Indiana University, 1902-1904.
- C593 Effa Funk Muhse papers, 1895-1915Effa Funk Muhse was Indiana University's first woman to earn a Ph.D. at Indiana University, bestowed upon her in 1908 (Zoology). Prominent scientists Carl Eigenmann and Charles Zeleny advised Muhse’s doctoral dissertation, “The Cutaneous Glands of the Common Toad,” which was published in the American Journal of Anatomy in 1909. After obtaining her Ph.D., Muhse entered the lecture circuit speaking on topics from the Mendelian laws of heredity to rural sanitation to eugenics, before settling in Washington, D.C. While in Washington, D.C., Muhse became involved in women’s suffrage, becoming a member of the National Woman’s Party (NWP), founded by Alice Paul. In 1917, Muhse was sent to Idaho, Pennsylvania and Chicago to help organize the NWP.
- C597 D. Joan Neff’s Indiana University scrapbooks, 1945-1949Doris Joan Richards Neff graduated from Indiana University in 1949 with a BA in Physical Education with High Distinction. This collection consists of four scrapbooks she compiled while she was at IU, one for each school year, containing materials related to her social activities during that time.
- C601 Kathleen McKee Butts papers, 1904-1977Kathleen McKee Butts attended IU Bloomington from 1918-1921, though she did not complete her degree. The bulk of materials included are her writings, which consist of radio scripts, stories, and editorials published in the Plainfield Messenger circa 1934. Personal materials consist mainly of items retained by Butt's father, Dr. Joseph Fennell McKee, and are comprised of correspondence, legal documents, newspaper clippings, and pocket-sized notebooks.
- C616 Emma Phillips family papers, 1899-1967Emma J. Phillips was born in 1900 in Alexandria, Indiana to schoolteachers J. W. Phillips and Arvia Phillips. She graduated with Distinction from Indiana University with a Bachelor of Arts in Romance Languages in 1923. Upon graduation, she returned home to teach French and English at Alexandria High School. In 1934, she completed her Master of Arts in English with her thesis titled The Technique of George Whyte - Melville's Novels . In 1967, she received a Ph.D. in English from Indiana University. Her dissertation was titled Mysticism in the Poetry of Emily Dickinson . She died on April 11, 1991 in Alexandria, Indiana. The collection consists of course notes, assignments, theses, miscellaneous correspondence, clippings, pamphlets published by professional societies, and commencement materials.
- C616 Emma Phillips family papers, 1899-1967, (bulk 1919-1967)Emma J. Phillips was born in 1900 in Alexandria, Indiana to schoolteachers J. W. Phillips and Arvia Phillips. She graduated with Distinction from Indiana University with a Bachelor of Arts in Romance Languages in 1923. Upon graduation, she returned home to teach French and English at Alexandria High School. In 1934, she completed her Master of Arts in English with her thesis titled The Technique of George Whyte - Melville's Novels . In 1967, she received a Ph.D. in English from Indiana University. Her dissertation was titled Mysticism in the Poetry of Emily Dickinson . She died on April 11, 1991 in Alexandria, Indiana. The collection consists of course notes, assignments, theses, miscellaneous correspondence, clippings, pamphlets published by professional societies, and commencement materials.
- C617 Kathleen Cavanaugh scrapbooks, 1960-1965Kathleen Cavanaugh Holland (1942-2016) attended Indiana University as an undergraduate student from 1960-1964. These scrapbooks were compiled by Cavanaugh from 1960-1965 and consist of materials related to campus events and student activities and organizations at IU, as well as greeting cards and other mementos from family and friends.
- C622 Sally A. Lied papers, 1963-1987Sally Lied received her M.S. in Education from Indiana University in 1963, her Ed.D in 1972 and J.D. in 1974. She also worked for the university as a residential counselor at Foster Quadrangle and later director of the Foster Project. This collection includes materials pertaining to social movements and residential programs at IU in the late 1960s, as well as materials from Robert F. Kennedy's presidential campaign in 1968.
- C625 Margaret Werling scrapbook, 1951-1953Margaret Albersmeyer Werling graduated from Indiana University with a BS in Education in 1953, and she earned an MS in Education in 1961. Werling's scrapbook contains photographs of campus buildings, the 1953 NCAA championship campus celebration, Little 500, the Fall Carnival parade, and commencement as well as tickets and programs from football games, IU Auditorium events, dance cards, and clippings related to campus life.
- C626 Carolyn J. Fink's "Nightingales in the Branches" manuscript, 1955The collection contains a manuscript of "Nightingales in the Branches", Carolyn J. Fink's memoir about life at Indiana University after World War II.
- C638 Indiana University chapel roll book, 1883-1891Throughout most of the nineteenth century, students at Indiana University were required to attend chapel services every morning before class. Though attendance was no longer mandatory after the 1889-1890 school year, the university chapel continued to host lectures, song services, and religious services. This collection consists of the chapel roll book, which documented attendance of students between 1883 and 1891.
- C644 Myra Montgomery Arthur collection of Indiana University dance cards, 1922-1929Myra Montgomery Arthur received her A.B. degree in English from Indiana University in 1927. The dance cards in this collection document various social events sponsored by IU fraternities, sororities, and other student organizations during the 1920s. The cards often provide the names of musical groups that performed at the dances, including Hoagy Carmichael and the Carmichael Collegians.
- C646 Indiana University Archives dance card collection, 1909-1954This collection was created from numerous loose dance cards acquired by and held at the IU Archives. The dance cards are from a number of events sponsored by student organizations and other social activities that were held at IU between 1909 and 1954. Each provides space for the women to document their dance partners' names and often provides information about the sponsoring student group, the dance chaperones, and the musicians performing for the event.
- C656 Delmas E. Aldridge wrestling scrapbook, 1929-1979Delmas E. Aldridge was a member of the Indiana University wrestling team from 1929-1932. He collected newspaper articles, photographs, and correspondence related to the team and compiled the materials into a scrapbook.
- C657 Helen Hopkins Wampler papers, 1911-1996Born in 1897, Helen Dale Hopkins entered Indiana University as a freshman in the fall of 1915. She was an active member of the Classical Club, Browning Society, Pi Beta Phi, and was elected to the student honorary Phi Beta Kappa. She graduated with an A.B. in Latin with Distinction in 1918. Following graduation, she married Donald Wampler in 1928 and retired as a Latin teacher from Ben Davis High School in 1963. This collection consists primarily of correspondence between Helen and her mother during her time as a student at Indiana University during WWI.
- C659 Catherine Ruby Force's Indiana University scrapbook, 1915-1920Catherine Ruby Force was an undergraduate student at Indiana University (A.B. Botany, 1919) from 1915-1919, during which time she was a member of Delta Gamma sorority and the Botany Club. This scrapbook documents her time at Indiana University and includes photos of Force's friends and family, as well as booklets, pamphlets, cards, and other memorabilia from sorority events and gatherings.
- C662 Emma K. Schmidt Indiana University scrapbook, 1916-1918Emma K. Schmidt was a student at Indiana University from 1916 to 1918. This collection consists of a scrapbook she made to document her time at IU and includes information on campus buildings, booklets from campus events, local newspaper clippings, school and financial documents, and miscellaneous memorabilia. There is also an IU Red Book, a publication with class and event schedules, faculty and student directories, and information pertaining to different groups or organizations on campus.
- C664 Leon Varjian papers, 1952-1985Leon Varjian (1951-2015) was a graduate student at Indiana University from 1972-1975, known primarily for his comedic news publications such as Fun City and his organized antics on the IU campus. He ran for mayor of Bloomington in 1973 and IU Trustee in 1976, though his campaign platforms were humorous and satirical. After his time in Bloomington, Varjian attended University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he continued similar political theatre antics and produced a successful local access cable television show called Vern & Evelyn through 1984. This collection contains his personal papers, including documents and memorabilia from his mayoral campaign, flyers from his social events, notes and drafts, newspapers and clippings, and correspondence, and materials from Vern & Evelyn .
- C690 Joan Norton scrapbooks, 1951-1959Ellen Joan Norton (Houston) attended Indiana University from 1952 through 1955 and was a member of several student organizations. This collection contains two scrapbooks (1951-1955) and a small amount of loose photographs and ephemera that mainly document Norton’s time at IU. The scrapbooks include photographs of dances and other social functions, news clippings, and academic awards received by Norton.
- C698 Geraldine K. White Indiana University course notes and scrapbooks, 1922-1926This collection documents the activities of Geraldine Katherine White, who completed a B.S. in Commerce from the Indiana University School of Commerce and Finance in 1926. The materials date from 1922-1926 and consist of notes from Geraldine’s classes and scrapbooks illustrating her life at IU.
- C700 Daniel W. Biddle correspondence, September 1893-March 1895Daniel W. Biddle (1870-1954) was a student at Indiana University from September 1893 through Spring 1895. This collection consists of letters that Daniel W. Biddle wrote to his parents and his friend Janie Bartee during his attendance at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana from 1893-1895. The letters document Biddle’s social and academic life at IU through details on his interactions with his roommates, classmates, and professors; his studies and laboratory work; and events on campus and in the Bloomington community, including an 1895 student protest supporting the removal of IU to Indianapolis.
- C708 Pauline Day scrapbook and planners, 1911-1916Pauline Day (1894-1981) attended Indiana University as an undergraduate from 1912-1916. This collection contains one scrapbook and two annotated planners that document student life at IU through materials such as dance cards from social events, personal notes, newspaper clippings, theater programs, and commencement programs. A small amount of scrapbook material also pertains to Purdue University, which Day also visited to attend student social events.
- C720 Una Camp papers, 1913-1937Una L. Camp was an undergraduate student at Indiana University from 1913-1917. This collection consists of a scrapbook compiled by Una to document her time at IU, which includes photos, letters, mementos, local newspaper clippings, programs from campus events, and other items. Additionally, the collection includes Una's diplomas and a certificate from Pi Lambda Theta.
- C727 Bonnie Louise Williams scrapbooks and papersBonnie Louise Williams attended Indiana University from 1966 to 1970, graduating with a B.A. in Geography. This collection includes scrapbooks and papers pertaining to the academic and social activities of Williams.
- C731 Class scraps broadsides, circa 1892-1906 and undatedClass scraps at Indiana University were a series of violent events in which the students of opposing classes competed in physical challenges such as capture the flag or general brawls or fist fights. This collection includes broadsides, often mocking and vulgar, printed in advance of the competitions.
- C739 Dorothy Dorland scrapbook, 1925-1929Dorothy "Dot" Dorland (married: Luzadder) was an undergraduate student at Indiana University from 1925-1929 where she earned her degree in history. During her time as a student, she compiled a scrapbook to thoroughly document her college experiences, particularly those involved with rushing the Delta Delta Delta sorority and social life as a sorority member. This scrapbook includes a wide range of memorabilia including letters, dance cards, photos, newspaper clippings, as well as personal commentary and descriptions.
Arbutus yearbook
- Digital versions are available online via Issuu, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive.
Indiana Daily Student (or the Indiana Student) - The Indiana Daily Student began in 1867 as a bimonthly publication and was named the Indiana Student. The newspaper ceased publication in 1874 due to financial difficulties but was relaunched in 1882. In the late 1890s, the paper became a daily newspaper and was renamed the Daily Student.
- Issues dating from 1867-1923 are available via the Newspaper Archive.
- Issues dating from 1923-2012 are available on microfilm on the 2nd floor of Wells Library (see IUCAT record)
- Recent issues are available at https://www.idsnews.com/
- Black focus.Black Focus was a newsletter published in the early 1980s by the Black Culture Center. The purpose of the newsletter was to provide more responsible coverage of Black campus news and to establish communication among Black students.
- C67 Spectator records, 1966-1970, bulk 1966-1968The Spectator began its existence as a weekly student newspaper in January 1966, when it was recognized as a registered Indiana University organization by the I.U. Board of Student Publications. This charter was revoked by the university administation in 1968, but the paper remained in publication as an independent paper in Bloomington, Indiana until 1970. The collection consists of records of the Spectator organized in five series: operational, financial, correspondence, submissions, and newspaper issues.
An incomplete run of The Spectator is available through JSTOR.
- C292 Eggshell Press records, 1966-1968Eggshell Press was the name of the mimeograph machine housed in the spare bedroom of Carol B. Chittenden and her husband from fall 1967 to August 1968. During this time, most of the flyers and memorandum that were passed out during and after demonstrations, rallies, vigils, and marches on Indiana University's Bloomington campus were printed on the Eggshell Press. Collection consists primarily of publications printed by the Press.
- C302 Folklore and Ethnomusicology Publications records, 1942-2004Folklore and Ethnomusicology Publications, Inc. was created in 1988 as the umbrella organization for four Indiana University Folklore Institute student publications groups. It encompasses Folklore Forum Society, Folklore Publications Group, Trickster Press, and Ethnomusicology Publications Group. This collection contains mostly articles submitted for publication in the various Folklore and Ethnomusicology publications as well as the journals produced by the different titles.
- C461 The Vagabond, 1923-1931Published from 1923 until 1931, primarily as a bi-monthly publication with some interruption, The vagabond featured the poetry, visual art, essays, criticism, short stories and humor which targeted not only Indiana University's undergraduates, but also its alumni and prominent members of the faculty.
- C535 The Bored Walk, 1931-1942The Bored Walk was a student magazine published at Indiana University beginning in 1931. It was initially published under the faculty supervision of Deans C.E. Edmondson and Agnes Wells and featured humorous articles, poetry, stories, cartoons, and campus news. Publication ceased in 1942.
- C576 The Date, 1946-1947The Date was an Indiana University student-published editorial circulated in late 1940s that documented campus culture in a light and humorous way. This small collection consists of issues spanning 1946-1947.
- C591 The Dagger, 1875-1880The newsletter The Dagger was created by members of Indiana University’s Beta Theta Pi fraternity in the late 19th century. The newsletters offered an outlet for the writers’ thoughts about IU faculty, president, and fellow students. This small collection consists of four issues of The Dagger, spanning 1875-1880.
- C618 The Alternative, 1968-1972Founded by graduate student Robert Emmett Tyrrell, Jr. (B.A. 1965, M.A. 1967), in 1967, The Alternative was founded as a conservative challenge to the political left of the era with an emphasis on free enterprise and democratic values. In the early 1970s, distribution moved nationally and in 1977 the publication was renamed The American Spectator. In 1985 the company moved from Bloomington, Indiana to Washington D.C. The collection consists of issues dating from 1967-1977.
- C631 Indiana University women’s residence hall scrapbooks, 1925-1959This collection consists of 82 scrapbooks produced by the residents of Forest Hall, Memorial Hall East, Memorial Hall West, Morrison Hall, Sycamore Hall, and Walnut Hall, most of which were women’s residence halls located in the Agnes E. Wells Quadrangle on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Indiana. The scrapbooks were created between 1925 and 1959 and contain photographs of dormitory residents, residential counselors, and various locations on the Bloomington campus. Many scrapbooks also contain memorabilia and ephemera such as dance cards, invitations, correspondence, event programs, sports schedules, newspaper clippings and other items related to campus events and activities that were either sponsored or hosted by the dormitories or attended by the women residing there.
- C640 The Crimson Bull (1920) collection, 1920-1921This collection consists of a cover design proof and two issues of the short-lived student humor magazine the Crimson Bull (1920). The magazine, which was published with financial support from the Indiana University chapter of Sigma Delta Chi, satirized aspects of university life through comedic sketches, cartoons, articles, and editorials contributed by IU students.
- C641 The Crimson Bull, 1947-1956This collection consists of an incomplete run of 42 issues of the Crimson Bull, a student humor magazine published by the Indiana University chapter of Sigma Delta Chi from 1947-1956. The IU chapter of Sigma Delta Chi, a professional journalistic fraternity, was established in 1914.
- C647 Parks House publications, 1960-1980This collection contains issues of the Parks House Scribe, Scribe-Orifice, and Orifice, which were humor publications created by the male student residents of the Wright Quadrangle on the Indiana University Bloomington campus from 1960 through at least 1980. These publications consisted of simple stapled pages and included content such as campus news, drawings, jokes, and pictures.
- C650 The Ballantonian records, 1967-1969The Ballantonian was a weekly liberal arts review run by Indiana University students and sponsored by the Department of English. The journal ran from September 1967 to January 1969 and consisted of original writing and illustrations by students and members of the public. One issue of a spin-off publication, the Son of Ballantonian, was published in February 1969. This collection includes files related to the newspaper's founding as a IU student organization, as well as the production and circulation of the journal. Also present are published issues of the Ballantonian and Son of Ballantonian, the content of which includes reports on cultural events on campus; reviews of literature, film, and other works; political analysis; poetry, short fiction and non-fiction submissions; and photography and graphic art.
- C668 Creative Writing Annual, 1931-1947The Creative Writing Annual was an annual compilation of essays, short stories, poems, and illustrations produced by freshman composition students in the Indiana University Department of English. This collection includes volumes created from 1931 to 1947. Professor John Robert Moore began the magazine as a final project for students in his English 105: Advanced Composition for Freshmen course in 1931.
- C710 The Indiana Renegade, 1955-1956This collection includes three issues of the independently produced campus humor magazine, the Indiana Renegade, all published during the 1955-1956 school year. An “unofficial” publication, the Renegade was the creation of a number of students from Indiana University, most prominently IU senior Clint Major.
- C713 The Veteran, 1946-1947The Veteran was an independent bi-weekly newspaper published by students at Indiana University from Spring 1946 to Fall 1947. This paper focused on providing incoming and current veterans with information that was specific to them, while also addressing current events and functions on campus. Topics included student life in trailer housing, updates on the G.I. Bill regulations, social events, veterans in sports, and educational assistance.
- Disorientation : like it is at IU.Disorientation was a handbook published by the Indiana University chapter of the New University Conference. The New University Conference was a national, radical organization that was active on the Indiana University campus from 1968-1971. The handbook was primarily addressed to new students and was intended to serve as an alternative to the traditional administrative manuals.There are two editions of the handbook, one published for 1969-1970 and one published for 1970.
- The inside agitator.The Inside Agitator was a newsletter published by the Progressive Reform Party, a student political organization at Indiana University-Bloomington.
- NUC newsletter.The NUC newsletter was published by and for members of the New University Conference at Indiana University. The New University Conference was a national, radical organization active at Indiana University from 1968-1971. They were involved with causes such as educational reforms, women's liberation, anti-war, and more.
- C95 Indiana University Board of Aeons records, 1920-2013The Board of Aeons was established on March 29, 1921 to function as a link between the student body and the administration. It is composed of 8 to 12 students of at least junior standing and meets regularly but informally once or twice a week with the President, Vice-President, Chancellor or other administrative officials. The Board of Aeons records include minutes, agendas, reports, correspondence, and officers' notebooks.
- C106 History and Political Science Club (Indiana University) records, 1902-1958The original Indiana University History Club was chartered in 1902 with various name changes and grouping changes in the years leading up to 1958. The intent of the clubs was to promote historical research, method of historical study and teaching interests. This collection includes constitutions, meeting minutes and officer books of the Indiana University History Club, the Graduate History Club, and the Logan Esarey Graduate History Club. The collection includes records of two distinct organizations due to the fact that the records were bound together in a series of journal style notebooks.
- C135 Indiana University Athenian Society records, 1830-1886, bulk 1840-1865One of the two chief literary societies on campus, the Athenian Society was founded at Indiana University in 1830. Literary societies gave students practice in speaking and writing through regular orations, essays, and debates, as well as filling a social role. Collection consists of minutes, correspondence, publications, addresses, and announcements. The Publication series includes copies of the Athenian, a monthly periodical of writings submitted by members of the Athenian Society that were of "a high literary character," including what the editors considered "chaste and elevated literature." These span December 1845 through November 1846. Most prominent in the collection are the minutes from the weekly meeting of the Society.
- C185 Indiana University Dames Club records, 1953-1976Indiana University joined the National Association of University Dames on 11 May 1931. Collection consists of 1.2 cubic ft. of the University Dames Club records organized in six series - Officers and members, Publications, Activities and informational, Certificates and awards, Publicity, and Budget.
- C200 IUSA Safety Escort Service records, 1981-1996Frustration from the growing number of assaults on women next hit led to the development of previous hit Women's next hit Wheels in the late 1970s, providing previous hit women next hit with free transportation when it was dark and they felt unsafe. In 1981, the IU Student Association took over the program and expanded the service so it could accommodate more riders; eventually IUSA also added a Walking Escort Service. The program is funded through the student activity fee that every IU student pays.
- C206 Indiana University Student Senate records, 1938-1979The Indiana University Student Senate was formed in 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. The Student Senate was charged with upholding the ideals proclaimed in the Student Government Constitution. This collection is predominantly comprised of administrative files such as meetings minutes, bills and resolutions, and subject files covering the period 1938 through 1979.
- C209 American Association of University Women, Bloomington Branch records, 1907-1997, bulk 1940-1989The American Association of University Women, Bloomington Branch was established on 12 February 1913 as the Association of Collegiate Alumnae with 60 charter members. They later became the AAUW in 1921. The goal of the group was to improve the status of women in higher education and to debunk myths concerning women academics. This collection is comprised of correspondence, financial records, governance files, meeting notes, reports, and scrapbooks. The collection also contains numerous subject files including those relating specifically to the Bloomington branch, and those relating to the Indiana and national divisions of the organiztion. These files contain materials on the history of the organization, various programs, committees, membership, conventions, and publications relating to the organization.
- C215 Indiana University Century Literary Club records, 1890-1900The object of the Century Literary Club was to promote literary and social culture for non-fraternity, male students of the university. The Century Literary Club records are divided into three series: governing files, minutes, and financial records.
- C221 Indiana University Philomathean Society records, 1836-1891
The Philomathean Society was one of two major literary societies on campus. It was founded in 1831 and was last listed in the university catalogue in 1893. This collection primarily consists of programs for the group's annual Spring Exhibition with a fairly complete run between 1844 and 1886. Also included in the collection is a series of published speeches and one partial constitution. - C234 Indiana University Student Association records, 1953-2010, bulk 1973-2010Student government at Indiana University was officially formed in April 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. Following a series of name changes, student government in 1973 became known as the Indiana University Student Association (IUSA), as it is known today. This collection consists of the records of the IUSA including: Meeting minutes and agendas; resolutions; administrative files; records of the IUSA President , Vice-President for Senate/ Congress, Vice- President for Administration, Treasurer and the Supreme Court; association, committee and department files; and issue, project and subject files. These records primarily cover the period from 1973-2010.
- C237 Cosmopolitan Club records, 1916-1970, bulk 1922-1958The Indiana University Cosmopolitan Club was founded in 1916 and received its charter from the Corda Fratres Association of Cosmopolitan Clubs in 1918. The Club was dedicated to fostering understanding and fraternity between foreign and American students in order to promote international cooperation and peace. The collection consists of correspondence, programs, financial records, membership lists, and newspaper clippings. Also included are publications, including issues of the Club newsletter, the Cosmo reporter.
- C242 Jordan River Revue records, 1921-1966, bulk 1922-1933The Jordan River Revue was originally conceived as a benefit performance featuring Indiana University students to raise money for a new auditorium. Though strongest in the 1920s and 1930s, the Revue continued until 1966. Notable performers through the years included students Hoagy Carmichael and Charles "Bud" Dant. The collection consists of scrapbooks, correspondence, minutes, scripts, song lyrics, musical scores, and programs.
- C242 Jordan River Revue records, 1921-1966, bulk 1922-1933The Jordan River Revue was originally conceived as a benefit performance featuring Indiana University students to raise money for a new auditorium. Though strongest in the 1920s and 1930s, the Revue continued until 1966. Notable performers through the years included students Hoagy Carmichael and Charles "Bud" Dant. The collection consists of scrapbooks, correspondence, minutes, scripts, song lyrics, musical scores, and programs.
- C245 Indiana University Latino Cultural Center records, 1968-2003, bulk 1980-1995The Latino Cultural Center was established at Indiana University in 1973. It is more affectionately known as La Casa. Its purpose was, and continues to be, to achieve through educational and social programs, a greater historical, political and cultural awareness regarding latina/os. The collection consists primarily of records created by the Latino Cultural Center while under the direction of the Office of Latino Affairs including correspondence, publications, programs, budget information, annual reports, and subject files.
- C250 Euclidean Circle (Indiana University) records, 1907-1942The Euclidean Circle, founded in 1907, was a social and intellectual club that focused on the study of mathematics. Both faculty and students could be members. This collection contains two series, Record books and Constitution, and includes meeting minutes and governing documents of the club.
- C253 Gamma Phi Omega records, 1989-1999, bulk 1992-1999The Alpha Chapter of the Latina-oriented sorority Gamma Phi Omega was founded in 1991 and was recognized as an official sorority at Indiana University in 1992. The National Board of Directors for the group was established in 1995 with the headquarters located at IU, though they have since relocated to Chicago, Ill. Collection includes records from both the Alpha Chapter and National Board of Directors of Gamma Phi Omega and consists of agendas, minutes, correspondence, membership lists, and constitutions.
- C260 Indiana University Adelphian Society minutes and by-laws, 1858-1859The Adelphian Society was established at Indiana University on November 13, 1858, under the name the Erolathian Society. The goal of the literary society was to be a society of religious inquiry at the university, and in their first minutes the organization outlines plans of delivering original orations, essays, and debates on subjects related to Biblical literature. In 1859 the group changed its name to the Adelphian Society. Collection consists of by-laws and meeting minutes.
- C261 Indiana University Panhellenic Association records, 1888-2003Established in 1902, the Panhellenic Association is the coordinating student organization for sororities at Indiana University. Collection consists of correspondence, publications, agendas, budget information, and scrapbooks.
- C261 Indiana University Panhellenic Association records, 1888-2003, bulk 1990-2000Established in 1902, the Panhellenic Association is the coordinating student organization for sororities at Indiana University. Collection consists of correspondence, publications, agendas, budget information, and scrapbooks.
- C272 Pi Lambda Theta Iota Chapter records, 1920-1995Pi Lambda Theta was founded in 1910 as an honor and professional association for women in education. In 1920, the Iota chapter was chartered at Indiana University. In 1974, the organization began admitting men. Collection consists of minutes, a ledger book, constitutions, membership information, publications, and scrapbooks.
- C275 Indiana University Foster Quad Student Government records, 1961-2004Indiana University's Foster Quad Student Government was established shortly after the opening of the dormitory in 1962. The collection consists of minutes, agendas, bills, subject files, publications, and correspondence.
- C282 Phi Alpha Theta, Delta Epsilon Chapter records, 1949-1963Phi Alpha Theta, the international honor society in history, was organized at the University of Arkansas in 1921. The Delta Epsilon Chapter was established at Indiana University in 1951. Collection consists of records relating to initiations, chapter activities, membership records, publications, by-laws and constitutions. Also included in the records are materials relating to the installation of the Chapter at IU.
- C319 Indiana University Daniel Read Residence Center Community Council minutes and other material, 1975-2002Completed in 1955, the Center was originally known as the Smithwood Center and intended as a new dormitory for female students. In 1960, the Center was renamed Daniel Read Residence Center to honor the late professor of ancient languages who taught Indiana University's first female students. The Council is made up of representative groups from within the Center, including center staff. It oversees any aspect of center life affecting students and staff and serves as an open forum for staff and students to proactively address center issues, to create center programming, to efficiently use community resources, and to help sponsor events. The collection spans the years 1975-2002 and consists primarily of minutes from Council meetings but also includes handbooks and manuals related to the Council and residence hall living. The folders, and the materials in them, are in their original order.
- C325 Beta Phi Mu Chi Chapter records, 1973-2010The Chi Chapter of Beta Phi Mu, the international honor society for library and information studies, was established at Indiana University in 1971. Collection consists of administrative files that were created by various officers of the Chi Chapter from the first years of the group’s existence through 2010.
- C330 Indiana University YMCA Red Book collection, 1892-1971The Red Book was a student and faculty directory published annually by the Indiana University Young Men’s Christian Association from 1892-1971. In addition to contact information, the books covered a variety of topics over the years, including information about the YMCA and other campus organizations, academic calendars, tips for new students, local business advertisements, and maps of Bloomington and the IU campus.
- C341 Indiana University Young Women’s Christian Association records, 1929-1973The Indiana University chapter of the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) was founded in 1886 by Mrs. Jenny Bryan, sister to future IU president William Lowe Bryan. Open to all interested women in the Bloomington community, the YWCA aimed to encourage the personal development, religious growth, social sensitivity, and civic responsibility of its members. It sought to provide leadership training in the many areas of life and to provide volunteer leaders for community service in Monroe County. This collection consists of various publications, administrative material and financial records created by the organization.
- C355 Alpha Phi Omega Mu Chapter records, 1927-2008, bulk 1988-2000Alpha Phi Omega is a national service fraternity founded on leadership, friendship, and service. The Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega was established at Indiana University on December 15, 1929. The collection consists of correspondence, minutes, pledge records, newsletters, awards, videotapes, photographs, and scrapbooks.
- C378 Indiana University Student Television records, 2005-2007Indiana University Student Television (IUSTV) began in 2002 under the name of iuTV and serves as Indiana University’s only student managed and produced student television station. The mission of IUSTV is to create informative, entertaining, and inspiring broadcast-quality television for the Indiana University and Bloomington community, while at the same time giving students real-life experience in television production and related fields. Records in this collection include administrative information, correspondence, meeting agendas, program lineups, and other related materials.
- C382 Indiana University Forest Quadrangle orientation materials, 1972-1994This small collection consists of one cassette with music for a slide show and eight folders containing material from Freshman Orientation for Forest Quad. Nearly 300 photographic slides depicting student life in Forest Quad were transferred to the Archives photographs collection.
- C385 Indiana University Folklore Students' Association records, 1972-2009, bulk 1978-1984The Folklore Students’ Association (FSA) is a student run organization supported by the Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology and Indiana University. The collection consists of correspondence, newsletters, meeting minutes and reports.
- C393 Kelley Student Government records, 2002-2009The Kelley Student Government (KSG) was founded in 2001 and serves as the official representative voice of the Kelley undergraduate student body in Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. This collection consists of committee and council notes, including those related to the Undergraduate Policy Committee and Executive Board; president’s notes; meeting minutes; project ideas, and other materials related to KSG.
- C409 Union Board records, 1912-2010The Union Board serves as the governing body for the Indiana Memorial Union, which organizes various events and activities for students on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Established in 1909, the Union Board has since developed into the largest student programming body at Indiana University. The Collection consists of minutes of Union Board meetings and a variety of administrative documents and materials related to past programs, activities, and events such as concerts.
- C430 Indiana University Student Religious Cabinet records, 1938-1951, bulk 1940-1948The Student Religious Cabinet existed as a student group at Indiana University from 1938 to at least 1951. The Student Religious Cabinet’s purpose was to promote interest in religion, bring about fellowship among students of diverse religious affiliations, and sponsor activities meant to counteract religious and racial tensions. The collection contains meeting notes and attendance records from 1938 to 1951 and publications including The Voice of Religion on Indiana University Campus, Communique, pamphlets from a War-Time Victory for Brotherhood program held from 1943 until 1945, and the Campus Home Front , another student publication concerned with the war effort, published in 1943.
- C431 Indiana University Student Government Committee records, 1940-1941Beginning in 1939, the Student Government Committee was as a precursor to the existing form of student government. The collection consists of the constitution, reports and meeting minutes dating from 1940-1941.
- C435 Indiana University LGBTQ+ Culture Center records, 1970-2019The mission of the Indiana University LGBTQ+ Culture Center, formerly named GLBT Student Support Services, is to provide information, support, mentoring, and counseling to members of the IU campus and the larger community. The IU LGBTQ+ Culture Center seeks to fulfill their mission through networks, collaboration, education, and outreach in an attempt to create a climate where all members of the community are encouraged to promote and defend diversity. The collection consists of records relating to campus programming, speakers and events, conferences, groups, and office administration. There are also scrapbooks documenting GLBT issues on campus and the LGBTQ+ Culture Center.
- C447 The Kelley MBA Prospectus, 1984-2004The Masters of Business Administration Association (MBAA) is the student-managed not-for-profit umbrella organization chartered to enrich the quality of student life and to build relationships between students, faculty, administration, alumni, prospective students, and the business community. This collection consists of the newspaper of the MBAA spanning 1984-2004.
- C454 Women in Communications, Delta Chapter records, 1913-1990, bulk 1940-1960The Woman’s Press Club established the Delta Chapter of Theta Sigma Phi at Indiana University in 1913 as a professional sorority for women in journalism. Early on, their aim was to “unite women engaged in or planning to engage in journalism; work to set and achieve definite standards in journalism and letters; and inspire members to greater individual effort.” In 1972, the group changed its name to Women in Communications. The collection consists of scrapbooks, event files, newspaper articles, awards, meeting minutes, and other administrative files.
- C464 Indiana Club records, 1906-1978The Indiana Club was established at Indiana University on December 9, 1904. The goal of the club was to advance the interests of the student body in the social, literary, political, and athletic realms. This collection consists of minute books, registers, a book on the history of the organization through 1915, records from the Alumni Association of the Indiana Club, and other documents.
- C466 Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma of Indiana Chapter (Indiana University) records, 1911-1985The prestigious Phi Beta Kappa established a Gamma Chapter at Indiana University in 1911. The collection consists of meeting minutes, handbooks, memos, annual dinner programs, and reports and proposals.
- C469 Indiana University Students for a Democratic Society newsletters, 1965-1966The Indiana University chapter of Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) was founded in 1964 and remained active until 1969 when the national organization disbanded. The newsletters in this collection were created to be a forum for members of IU and the surrounding community to express their opinions on local problems, goals, and solutions relating to areas of the New Left political movement.
- C471 Indiana University Sociology Club minutes and constitution, 1936-1940The Sociology Club of Indiana University was created on November 10, 1936. The purpose of the club was to establish an organization for interacting with fellow students and instructors and to instill a deeper insight and a more vital interest in sociology. The Collection consists of the constitution and club minutes. Discussed in the minutes were issues of membership, election of officers, and summaries of monthly meetings.
- C474 Indiana University Ethnomusicology Students Association records, 1973-1999The Ethnomusicology Students Association was established at Indiana University in 1978. The goal of the organization was to develop and promote programs and activities for students interested in the field of ethnomusicology. The Collection consists of meeting agendas and minutes, program flyers and planning materials, and correspondence.
- C478 Indiana University Association of Women Students records, 1921-1969, bulk 1960-1968Established in 1895 as the Women’s League, the Indiana University Association of Women Students worked to give an official voice to women students. The collection consists of meeting minutes, budgets, handbooks, program and issues files, and general administrative records of the organization.
- C491 Indiana University Pleiades minutes, 1926-1943An all-female organization, the Pleiades was founded on Indiana University Bloomington’s campus on September 24, 1921. The group initially was formed to organize various social events but expanded and became an established organization on campus after its initial successes. Membership was limited to 25 women who excelled both academically and socially. Collection consists of one minute book documenting activities and members from 1926-1943.
- C493 Indiana University Browning Society minutes, 1916-1921The Browning Society of Indiana University was established about 1916 as a social society to discuss the works of poet Robert Browning and issues associated with mid-late nineteenth century society. The collection consists of a book of the society’s meeting minutes and includes information about active members.
- C495 Indiana University Hesperian Society records, 1870-1878The Hesperian Society was established by women at Indiana University on October 28, 1870. The goal of the literary society was to provide an organization dedicated to creating social and cultural activities for IU women students. The Collection consists of one record book consisting of by-laws, constitutions and meeting minutes along with their debate topics and administrative planning for events. The collection also includes documentation on the society's exhibit programs and anniversary celebrations.
- C510 Indiana University Alpha Kappa Psi records, 1925-1983The records in this collection document the Indiana University Beta Gamma Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Psi fraternity between the years 1939-1983 with the bulk of the collection being created after 1945. The collection consists of minutes, membership lists, later editions of their constitution and by-laws, chapter songs, president’s files, and a limited amount of correspondence within the local chapter and with the national organization.
- C525 Indiana University Omega Psi Phi, Zeta Epsilon Chapter records, 1935-2012, bulk 2006-2012Omega Psi Phi is a predominantly African American fraternity. The Zeta Epsilon chapter was chartered at Indiana University in 1947. The collection consists of records created and collected by the Zeta Epsilon chapter and includes program materials, minutes and reports from national, district, and local meetings.
- C551 Indiana University Delta Sigma Pi records, 1951-1987The Alpha Pi Chapter of the business fraternity Delta Sigma Pi was established at Indiana University in 1925. This collection consists of general administrative records of the organization, including minutes, regulations, constitutions and bylaws, as well as a large number of photographs.
- C568 Union Board scrapbooks, 1932-2012The Union Board serves as the governing body for the Indiana Memorial Union, which organizes various events and activities for students on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Established in 1909, the Union Board has since developed into the largest student programming body at Indiana University. The Collection consists of scrapbooks which were created by staff annually from 1932 to the present. The scrapbooks include numerous newspaper clippings related to IU athletics.
- C568 Union Board scrapbooks, 1932-2012The Union Board serves as the governing body for the Indiana Memorial Union, which organizes various events and activities for students on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Established in 1909, the Union Board has since developed into the largest student programming body at Indiana University. The Collection consists of scrapbooks which were created by staff annually from 1932 to the present.
- C570 American Veterans Committee Bloomington, Ind. Chapter scrapbook, 1946-1949The American Veteran's Committee was a liberal organization for World War II veterans. It was formed in 1943 and disbanded in 2008. This collection is comprised solely of one scrapbook compiled by members of the Bloomington, Indiana chapter. The scrapbook features correspondence and newspaper clippings about chapter events and news from the years 1946-1949.
- C580 Indiana University Collins Living-Learning Center (CLLC) records, 1924-2014Indiana University's Collins Living-Learning Center (LLC) was established in 1972 - one of the first in the country - in the Men's Residence Center (MRC). Eventually the LLC took over the entire MRC and was renamed after IU professor and administrator Ralph L. Collins. It has since expanded to include “The Hill,” Brown and Greene, and Hillcrest (apartments for juniors and seniors). The Collins community is intentionally academically diverse, and students pursue majors across the university. Collins is host to a wide variety of programs and events planned through one of many student groups. This collection includes copies of numerous student publications printed over the years for varying lengths of time. Two of the longest running are The Dancing Star literary magazine and The Collins Columns which includes a mix of news such as information about upcoming films, intra-murals and dances and student creative writing features.
- C580 Indiana University Collins Living-Learning Center (CLLC) records, 1924-2014, bulk 1972-2012Indiana University's Collins Living-Learning Center (LLC) was established in 1972 - one of the first in the country - in the Men's Residence Center (MRC). Eventually the LLC took over the entire MRC and was renamed after IU professor and administrator Ralph L. Collins. It has since expanded to include “The Hill,” Brown and Greene, and Hillcrest (apartments for juniors and seniors). The Collins community is intentionally academically diverse, and students pursue majors across the university. Collins is host to a wide variety of programs and events planned through one of many student groups such as the Board of Education Programming (BOEP), Arts Council, Community Council, and the Board of Programmers (BOP), or as student Q projects through CLLC-Q 199: Residential Learning Workshop. The materials in the Collection represent both the administrative and student aspects of the Collins Living-Learning Center.
- C591 The Dagger, 1875-1880The newsletter The Dagger was created by members of Indiana University’s Beta Theta Pi fraternity in the late 19th century. The newsletters offered an outlet for the writers’ thoughts about IU faculty, president, and fellow students. This small collection consists of four issues of The Dagger, spanning 1875-1880.
- C602 New University Conference records, 1968-1971The New University Conference was a national, radical organization that was active on the Indiana University campus from 1968-1971. The leftist group was made up of graduate students and faculty members who were involved in causes such as educational reforms, women's liberation, anti-war, and more. The local Bloomington group was dedicated to exposing problems on the Indiana University campus, especially regarding those issues specifically connected to the national organization's overarching causes. The collection consist of records created by both the National organization and local Bloomington chapter of the New University Conference.
- C613 Indiana University Married Students' Club ledger, 1905-1918The Married Students' Club was a social club for married students and faculty members of Indiana University. The ledger includes the Constitution of the club, amendments, meeting minutes, and financial statements.
- C624 Indiana University Department of Athletics Manager’s Books, 1922-1971The Department of Athletics was officially established by the Board of Trustees in 1933 upon the dismantling of its predecessor, the Athletic Board of Control, which existed as early as 1917. The collection consists of Manager Books for Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country and Track, Football, Gymnastics, Swimming, and Wrestling from 1922-1971.
- C629 The Moonlight Pleasure Club constitution, 1892The Moonlight Pleasure Club was established by a group of friends in 1892 with a focus on leisure and enjoyment for its members. This collection consists solely of their constitution which outlines the motto, purpose, and ruling spirit for the club.
- C631 Indiana University women’s residence hall scrapbooks, 1925-1959This collection consists of 82 scrapbooks produced by the residents of Forest Hall, Memorial Hall East, Memorial Hall West, Morrison Hall, Sycamore Hall, and Walnut Hall, most of which were women’s residence halls located in the Agnes E. Wells Quadrangle on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Indiana. The scrapbooks were created between 1925 and 1959 and contain photographs of dormitory residents, residential counselors, and various locations on the Bloomington campus. Many scrapbooks also contain memorabilia and ephemera such as dance cards, invitations, correspondence, event programs, sports schedules, newspaper clippings and other items related to campus events and activities that were either sponsored or hosted by the dormitories or attended by the women residing there.
- C639 Alpha Lambda Delta, Indiana University Chapter records, 1924-2009 (bulk 1931-1959)The Alpha Lambda Delta fraternity was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois as an honor society for freshmen women. The chapter at Indiana University was established in 1931. This collection consists of membership information, rules, awards, and the history of the organization.
- C663 Indiana University literary society student ledger, 1864-1875Literary societies cropped up early on American college and university campuses, and were one of the few social outlets available to students. This collection consists entirely of a ledger signed by students vowing to follow the rules and regulations of the Indiana University Trustees and their respective literary societies.
- C685 Nellie Showers Teter Quadrangle Student Government records, 1986-2001The Nellie Showers Teter Quadrangle Student Government represents and serves the students in the student residence dorm. The collection consists of minutes, agendas, bills, correspondence, event plans, copies of the constitution and bylaws, subject files, and financial records for the student government.
- C691 Indiana University Asian Culture Center records, 1988-2014, bulk 1998-2006The Asian Culture Center was founded at Indiana University Bloomington in 1998. The Center works to raise awareness facilitate dialogue and cultural understanding within the wider IU community about Asian experiences and issues through advocacy, cultural and educational support, community outreach, funding opportunities, and special events. This collection consists of documents relating to the creation and opening of the ACC, events and programs, student organizations, and the Asian Alumni Association.
- C691 Indiana University Asian Culture Center records, 1988-2014, bulk 1998-2006The Asian Culture Center was founded at Indiana University Bloomington in 1998. The Center works to raise awareness facilitate dialogue and cultural understanding within the wider IU community about Asian experiences and issues through advocacy, cultural and educational support, community outreach, funding opportunities, and special events. This collection consists of documents relating to the creation and opening of the ACC, events and programs, student organizations, and the Asian Alumni Association.
- C693 Indiana University May Festival collection, 1897-1928Indiana University faculty members and student groups organized campus springtime May Day celebrations as early as 1897. From 1908 through at least 1928, the Women's Athletic Association and IU Department of Physical Education for Women organized the official campus May Festival, which featured dance exercises by female students and musical performances. This collection contains May Festival programs dating from 1897 through 1928, as well as a student ticket to a 1926 May Day event.
- Global Village Living Learning Center, 2009-2016Includes a constitution, newsletters and programming reports.
The following interviews are part of the Bicentennial Oral History Project. The Bicentennial Oral History Project consists of interviews with IU alumni, faculty, and staff. The online collection of the interviews is continually being added to. The interviews listed here are just a couple of examples of the many interviews related to student publications at IU. To find other interviews, try search terms such as Daily Student, Spectator, student newspaper, and journalism.
- Balanoff, Thomas. Aug 03 2013An interview with Thomas Balanoff who graduated from IU in 1972. He discusses his experiences working for the Spectator newspaper.
- Klugman, Craig. Sep 17 2011An interview with Craig Klugman who graduated from IU in 1967. He discusses his experiences working for the Indiana Daily Student.
The following are a few examples available through Media Collections Online. New content is being continuously added to this portal, so check back frequently!
- Peace Thru Victory rally at Indiana University, 1967Film contains clips of a "Peace Thru Victory" rally held at Dunn Meadow on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Indiana on April 14, 1967. The following individuals spoke at the rally, according to an article that appeared the next day in the Indiana Daily Student newspaper: U.S. Representative William G. Bray (R-Ind), Bloomington mayor John H. Hooker, IU junior Mark Watson (Indiana chairman of the Young Americans for Freedom (YAF)), IU senior Bob Turner (former president of the IU Conservative League), IU senior Randy Wilson (IU coordinator for YAF), IU senior David Clutter (member of IU Student Senate), and IU junior Jim Derkott.
- The Fifth Annual Little 500, 1955Highlight reel of activities surrounding the 1955 Little 500 bicycle race. Activities include qualifiers, the filming of an NBC telecast (featuring the Marching Hundred and Mini 500 tricycles), and the bicycle race (winning team: South Cottage Grove).
- Archives Photograph CollectionThe Indiana University Office of University Archives and Records Management holds a vast photograph and negative collection that comprises approximately two-million images. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of Indiana University.