Library Research Guides: Indiana University and Bloomington in the 1960s: Primary sources

Relevant University Archives collections

C11 Vice President and Dean's records 1958-1971
The office of Undergraduate Development was instituted in 1959 by President Wells. The office of Undergraduate Development's responsibility is to encourage the development of the University's undergraduate program and to keep it in balance with the over-all growth of the institution. Collection consists of administrative records of the Vice President and Dean of Undergraduate Development in two series: Administrative files, 1958-1971, containing correspondence, memos, reports, and speeches; Student Affairs files, 1958-1970, containing correspondence, memos, reports, minutes, publications, and newspaper clippings pertaining to student next hit activities on campus.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative Files, 1958-1971
-Academic Freedom 1966-1968
-Afro-American Studies 1967-1969
-Black Curriculum, 1969
-Black Students 1968
-Campus Police 1968-1970
-Civil Rights Meeting 1968
-Discrimination-Fraternities & Sororities 1965-1967
-Discriminatory Practice Comm. 1969-1970
-Institute for the Study of the American Negro 1966-1968
-Martin Luther King Foundation 1967-1969
-Military (R.O.T.C.) 1968-1969
-Political Action Week 1970
-ROTC 1969
Series: Student Affairs Files, 1958-1970
-"A History of Student Affairs at Indiana University (emphasizing the years 1961-1967)," by David Cahill.1967
-CIC Conference - Student Affairs Legal Problems 1967-1968
-Dean of Students' Authority 1960-1969
-Draft Counseling 1968
-New University Conference 1968-1969
-Non-Registration Policy for Student Organizations 1967-1968
-Open Visitation - Correspondence 1968
-Open Visitation 1966-1970
-Registration of Student Organizations Policy 1967-1968
-Spectator 1967-1969
-Students for a Democratic Society 1965-1969
-Student Life - Regulations 1963-1969
-Student Power 1967-1968
-Student Protest Movement 1970
-Student Unrest 1968-1970
-United Student Movement Party 1969
C48 Speeches of President Elvis J. Stahr, 1962-1968
Consists of speeches given by Elvis J. Stahr during his term as President of Indiana University.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Chronological files, 1962-1968
-Charge to the Freshmen Entering IU in 1962; Welcome to New Students September 16, 1962
-Memorial Service for President Kennedy November 25, 1963
-State of the University December 18, 1963
-Student Senate October 14, 1965
-Freshmen Convocation September 15, 1966
-State of the University December 12, 1966
-Remarks, Introduction of Secretary Dean Rusk, October 31, 1967
-IU Faculty Council Meeting, November 7, 1967
-State of the University, November 9, 1967
-Responses of EJS to Demands Presented by the Black Students on March 30, 1968, April 1, 1968
-Memorial Service for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., April 5, 1968
-Special Report to the University and the Public, May 17, 1968
-President's Report, September 1968
-State of the University Address October 10, 1968
C103 Indiana University Dean of Students records, 1941-2000
The office of the Dean of Students at Indiana University was created in 1945. The records span the period 1941-2000 and include annual reports, administrative and subject files primarily from the tenure of Dean Thomas Schreck.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Annual Reports, 1947-1969
-1960-1961
-1962-1963
-1964-1965
-1966-1967
-1967-1968
-1968-1969
-1969-1970
Series: Administrative and Subject files, 1941-2000
-Board of Trustees, Women's hours and guest privileges, 1966-1969
-Open Visitation, Restricted, Unrestricted Hours, 1966-1969
-Student Affairs - Open Visitation, 1968-1970
C132 Indiana University Vice President and Chancellor’s records, 1963-1977
Byrum E. Carter was appointed Chancellor of Indiana University in 1969, after serving over two decades as an IU faculty member. Carter also played an important role in the political dynamics on campus during the heat of the Vietnam War. This collection is comprised of correspondence, reports, and administrative files dating primarily from Carter's years as Chancellor and Vice President of Indiana University's Bloomington campus, between July 1969 and June 1975.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative subject files, 1963-1977
-Boycott, 1969
-Lock-in, May 1969
-Moratorium, 1969
-Student Unrest, May 11, 1970
-Visitation, 1968-1970
C133 Indiana University Department of Military Science records, 1918-2000, bulk 1965-1994
Although military training has a long history at Indiana University, the Department of Military Science and Tactics was established in 1917. The Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) fell under the auspices of the department and was a compulsory program for all male students at IU until 1964. The Department of Military Science (Reserve Officers Training Corps) records span the years 1918-2000. These records are organized into seven series: Correspondence, Historical information, ROTC organizations, Publications, Subject files, Realia, and Photos and scrapbooks. The bulk of the collection consists of the Organizations and Subject files series. All series except Correspondence are arranged alphabetically.
more...less...
In particular see the following file:
Series: Subject files, ca. 1918-1986
-Message from Pres. Wells concerning continuing ROTC at IU, 1968
C176 Indiana University Office of African American Affairs records, 1950-1998
The Office of Afro-American Affairs was established in the spring of 1968. Its purpose was to organize some of the social and academic activities of African American students at Indiana University. The collection is comprised of two series, Administrative and Information. The Administrative series spans 1950-1998 and is further organized in eight subseries, including Correspondence, Faculty and Student Information, and Proposals. The Information series spans 1972-1997 and is arranged chronologically. This series consists of information not initially generated by the Office of African American Affairs such as newspaper clippings and IU News Releases.
more...less...
In particular see the Administrative History
C178 Indiana University Auxiliary Services records, 1932-1995, bulk 1940-1991
The Auxiliary Services Office oversaw offices and departments at Indiana University that were self-supporting and encompassed the Auditorium, Bookstore, Campus Bus Service, Campus Foods, Communications, Halls of Residence, Indiana Memorial Union Building (IMU), Motor Pool and Parking Operations. Over the years, Auxiliary Services had several name changes. Those reflected in the records of this collection include Auxiliary Services, Business Manager's Office, and Service Enterprises. Records in this collection include, but are not limited to, correspondence, committee files, departmental files, reports and budgets.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Incumbent: Donald Clark, 1936-1975, undated
Series: Subject Files, 1936-1975, undated
-Dean of Students, Racial, 1968
-Dean of Students, Student Unrest (May 1969), 1969
C181 Indiana University Faculty Council records, 1947-1970, bulk 1961-1969
The Indiana University Board of Trustees created the Faculty Council in 1947 as a representative council that would conduct the everyday business of the university in close relationship with the administration. With a major university restructuring in 1969, the Council was divided into the current Bloomington Faculty Council and University Faculty Council system. Contained in the collection are the Faculty Council's agendas, minutes, and supporting documents. The collection is organized into four series: Minutes and Agendas, Annual Summaries, Circulars, and Supporting documents.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Circulars 1958-1969
-06: Letter Concerning Civil Defense Preparations on the Campus, 09 November 1961
-11: Report of the Faculty Council Special Committee on Student Demonstrations (including Recommendation to establish an Indiana University Assembly Ground), 27 March 1963
-23: Report of Committee on Academic Freedom, ca. 15 March 1966
-28: Statement by Frank E. McKinney (President of Board of Trustees) on Appearance of Herbert Aptheker on Campus and Status of W.E.B DuBois Club, 03 May 1966
-30: Final Report of the Committee on Academic Freedom, ca. 17 May 1966
-32: AAUP Communication on Controversial Organizations, 17 May 1966
-01: Document Prepared by the Board of Trustees Concerning Registration of Student Organizations, 11 June 1966
-02: University’s Regulations on Registration of Student Organizations, ca. 20 September 1966
-04: Statement from A.A.U.P. on the W.E.B Dubois Club Situation, 29 September 1966
-05: Faculty Council Resolution Regarding the DuBois Club, 11 October 1966
-36: Letter from the Executive Board of Indiana University AAUP to the Board of Trustees Concerning the W.E.B DuBois Club, 18 April 1967
-21: A Recommendation from the Faculty Council Committee on Picketing, Demonstrations and Related Matters, 19 March 1968
-04: Racial Discrimination Statement, 09 September 1968
-05: Joint Statement on University Policy, 07 September 1968
-11: Statement by Ted Najam, “A Look at the Student Conscience, June 1968
-18: Proposal for Faculty Council Action on Racial Discrimination, ca. 15 October 1968
-52: Statement from AAUP on the Black Market Firebombing, ca. 21 January 1969
-55: Resolution from Office of Afro-American Programs, ca. 21 January 1969
-56: AAUP Statement on Memorandum of the Office of Afro-American Affairs, 17 January 1969
Series: Supplementary Documents, 1947-1969
C213 Indiana University President's Office records, 1937-1962
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Herman B Wells was named interim president in 1937 and president in 1938, a position he held until 1962. Collection consists primarily of correspondence, reports, and publications. A particularly rich collection, correspondence is to and from Wells and other high ranking university administrators. The files are arranged alphabetically.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-African American Students Foundation, Inc., 1960
-Negro, 1937-1962, 1961-1962
-Student Organizations,
esp. Young Socialist Alliance (YSA), 1961-1962m, Fair Play for Cuba, 1961-1962
-Young Socialist Alliance, 1962
C217 Indiana University African Studies Program Directors' records, 1957-1995
The collection consists of the administrative records and correspondence of directors J. Gus Liebenow and Patrick O'Meara related to the development of the African Studies Program.
more...less...
In particular see the following series:
Focus: Black America Program 1968-1969
C267 Indiana University President's Office records, 1967-1969, bulk Aug.-Dec. 1968
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. After President Elvis Stahr resigned in 1968, the Board of Trustees asked University Chancellor and former president Herman B Wells to serve as the interim president. He served in this role from September 1, 1968 through November 30, 1968. Collection consists of records created or collected during Wells' tenure as interim Indiana University president.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Student Affairs, Oct.-Nov. 1968
-Student Demonstrations, Sept.-Oct. 1968
-Student Organizations
-Students —Open visitation, Sept.-Nov. 1968
C268 Indiana University President's Office records,1964-1974, bulk 1968-1971
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Joseph L. Sutton came to IU as an instructor in the Dept. of Political Science in 1955 and continued to advance until he came to serve as the thirteenth president of Indiana University from 1968-1971. The collection consists of records created or collected during Sutton's tenure as Indiana University president.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Afro-American Affairs
-Afro-American Program
-Athletics- football- boycotts by black students, Nov. 1969-April 1970
-Athletics, football boycott letters received, Nov. 1969-April 1970
-Black students, March 1969-Jan. 1971
-Campus unrest, 1969
-Campus unrest
- Civil defence
-Civil disturbance, Feb.-April 1969
-Civil rights
-Grape Boycott
-Negroes
-Student Affairs, Sept. 1966-Aug. 1970
-Student Demonstrations
-Student Demonstrations-Fee Increase, May-July 1969
-Student Demonstrations-Fee Increase, Correspondence, April 1969 & May 1969
-Student Demonstrations-Kerr Incident, Oct. 1969 & Nov. 1969
-Student Demonstrations-Ballantine Lock-In, May-Dec. 1969
- Student Government
-Student Publications- The Spectator, 1969
C304 Indiana University President's Office records, 1962-1968,
The first president of what was then Indiana College was elected by the Board of Trustees in 1829. Elvis J. Stahr, Jr. served as president of Indiana University from 1962-1968. Collection consists of records created or collected by the Indiana University Office of the President during Elvis Stahr's tenure, and includes correspondence, studies, and reports documenting the various administrative processes, committees, events and university departments and schools during this period.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
- Black Student Demands and related papers, 1966-1968
- Civil Defense files, 1962-1968
- Civil Rights, 1965-1968
- Committee - IU Committee on Equality of Educational Opportunity files, 1962-1968
- Controversial - Little 500 incident, 1968
- Facilities Use - Political Use, 1962-1972
- Faculty - Demonstrations, President's House, Nov. 24, 1967
- "Negro" files, 1963-1968
- Stahr, Elvis J. -Statements such as Demands re Dow Chemical incident, 1967 and Sunday Courier and Press, "Crisis on the Campus," 1966-1967
- Student files such as the following: Demonstrations, Vietnam, Dean Rusk-Dow Chemical, Government, Health Center, Dubois club, Sexual freedom league, Students for a Democratic Society, and more
- Student Publications, 1966-1968
- Viet-Nam
- Wallace, Governor George, 1963-1964
-Young Socialist Alliance Controversy (YSA)
C643 Indiana School of the Sky records, 1947-1964
The Indiana School of the Sky radio program of the Indiana University Department of Radio and Television began broadcasting educational radio programs in 1947 and continued through the early 1960s. The program reached schools throughout Indiana and nearby states and led to new course offerings at IU. Indiana University students performed in the radio programs originally intended for children ages 4-8 aired for 15 minutes during each school day. Eventually the popularity of the programs called for high school programming as well, and later adults also tuned into the programs. This collection includes many of the scripts and the teaching manuals for the programs.
C379 International Research and Exchanges Board records, 1959-1982
The Inter-University Committee on Travel Grants (IUCTG) was established in the 1950s to administer academic exchanges between the US and the Soviet Union and East Europe. For a period in its early years, the IUCTG was headquartered at Indiana University and chaired by IU professor Robert Byrnes until 1968, when it was absorbed by the International Research and Exchanges Board and moved to New York. This collection consists of correspondence, conference and meeting materials, and reports.
C410 Indiana University Bureau of Public Discussion records, 1913-1973
The Bureau of Public Discussion was created as part of the Extension Division at Indiana University in 1915 to promote intelligent discussion of current issues statewide. The collection consists of records of the Bureau including annual reports, reference questions, correspondence, personnel files, financial records, program records, and publications.

C12 Martha Vicinus papers, 1969-1980
Martha Jeannette Vicinus was a faculty member of the Indiana University English Department from 1968-1982. Her papers comprise 1 cubic foot and span the period of 1971-1980. Consists largely of newsletters, flyers, pamphlets, minutes, form letters, mass mailings, interdepartmental memos, and a small amount of personal correspondence relating to the activities of American Federation of Teachers Bloomington local, women's movement in Bloomington, the creation of Women's Studies program at Indiana University, and the Modern Language Association Radical Caucus. Items are arranged chronologically within each series.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Women's movement, 1969-1977
-Bloomington Women's Liberation
-Concerned University Women (I.U.), undated
Series: Various Organizations, 1969-1974
- New University Conference, 1969
C388 Robert F. Byrnes papers, 1875-1997
Robert F. Byrnes was a Professor of History at Indiana University from 1956 to 1988 and served as director of the Russian and East European Institute at IU from 1959-1962 and 1971-1975. Byrnes specialized in the study of Russian conservative thought, Russian historical writing, anti-Semitism in France and Europe, the Soviet role in world affairs after World War II, American policy toward Eastern Europe, and Soviet American relations. In addition Byrnes made significant contributions to the development of Slavic studies programs in the United States and the opening of academic exchanges with the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. The collection consists of the personal papers of Dr. Byrnes with an emphasis on his work with Radio Free Europe and the Inter-University Committee on Travel Grants as well as his other professional activities and includes research files, correspondence, reports, minutes, manuscripts, reviews, teaching files, films, sound recordings, and photographs.
C622 Sally A. Lied papers, 1963-1987
Sally Lied received her M.S. in Education from Indiana University in 1963, her Ed.D in 1972 and J.D. in 1974. She also worked for the university as a residential counselor at Foster Quadrangle and later director of the Foster Project. This collection includes materials pertaining to social movements and residential programs at IU in the late 1960s, as well as materials from Robert F. Kennedy's presidential campaign in 1968.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Indiana University, 1963-1987
-Vietnam: Indiana University and the Country's Turmoil
-IU Events and Clippings, 1965-1967
-Foster Quad Seminar on Black America, 1968
-Gun violence and chemical warfare, 1967-1968
-Race Relations at IU, 1966-1968
-Race Relations at IU and other locations, 1967-1969
Series: Robert F. Kennedy Campaign, 1962-1970 (bulk 1968)
-IU Speech, April 24, 1968

Arbutus, 1960-1969
The Arbutus is the student published yearbook of Indiana University-Bloomington.
C67 Spectator records, 1966-1970, bulk 1966-1968
The Spectator began its existence as a weekly student newspaper in January 1966, when it was recognized as a registered Indiana University organization by the I.U. Board of Student Publications. This charter was revoked by the university administation in 1968, but the paper remained in publication as an independent paper in Bloomington, Indiana until 1970. The collection consists of records of the Spectator organized in five series: operational, financial, correspondence, submissions, and newspaper issues.
C206 Indiana University Student Senate records, 1938-1979, bulk 1944-1973
The Indiana University Student Senate was formed in 1948 due in large part to the influence of IU President Herman B Wells. The Student Senate was charged with upholding the ideals proclaimed in the Student Government Constitution. This collection is predominantly comprised of administrative files such as meetings minutes, bills and resolutions, and subject files covering the period 1938 through 1979.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Administrative files, 1938-1979
-Subseries: Meeting minutes, 1944-1973
Subseries: Bills, 1950-1970
-B- 36 Bill Concerning the Campus Police, 15 February 1968
-B-12 Bill Establishing a Referendum on the Vietnam War, 10 October 1968
-B-35 Bill Concerning the Black Market, 09 January 1969
-B-37 Bill Concerning Destruction of the Black Market, 09 January 1969
-B-62 Bill to Initiate a Referendum on Democratization of the University, 10 April 1969
-B-16 A Resolution Concerning Students Involved in Disruption of University Activities, 15 May 1969
-B-17 Bill to Appropriate Funds for Retention of a Student Government Lawyer to Investigate Possible Legal Action Against the University, 30 April 1969
-B-18 Bill to Initiate an Economic Boycott on Bloomington Merchants in an Effort to Gain Support for Student Tuition Demands, 30 April 1969
-B-3 A Bill to Investigate the Dismissal of Three Black Football Players, 16 April 1970
-B-4, A Bill to Condemn Coach Pont, 16 April 1970
Subseries: Resolutions, 1947-1969
October 1960-circa January 1961
-R-6 Resolution Proclaiming Support for Demonstrations Asking for Total Enfranchisement of the Adult Population, circa October-November 1960
circa October 1961-March 1962
-R-8 Resolution Criticizing the United States Government's Failure in the Cuban Exhile Invasion, circa November 1961
-R-21 Resolution – Withdrawal of Recognition of the Fair Play for Cuba Committee, circa December 1961
May 1966-March 1967
-R-39 Resolution Establishing Representative Student Participation in Decision Making, 16 March 1967
April-May 1967
-R-1 An Emergency Resolution Concerning Women’s Regulations, 20 April 1967
-R-2 Resolution Requesting A Re-Evaluation By the Association of Women Students (AWS) of Their May 11 Decision Concerning Women’s Hours, 20 April 1967
-R-10 Resolution to Support a Non-Registration Policy for Student Groups, 02 May 1967
June-October 1967
-SR-4 Resolution Recommending that the City of Bloomington Drop Charges Against All Persons Involved in the June 22 Gathering on Kirkwood, 29 June 1967
November-December 1967
-R-26 Resolution of Regret to Secretary of State Dean Rusk, 02 November 1967
-R-27 Resolution Concerning Disciplinary Actions Against Students Arrested October 30, 02 November 1967
-R-28 Resolution Concerning Secretary of State Rusk’s Speech, 02 November 1967
March-04 April 1968
-R-67 Resolution Concerning Hours Regulations, 07 March 1968
-R-73 Resolution Proclaiming A Day of Resistance to the Hours Regulations, 14 March 1968
-R-78 Resolution Concerning the Ku Klux Klan, 28 March 1968
January-17 April 1969
-R-55 Resolution in Support of the Grape Boycott, 13 February 1969
-R-61 Resolution Concerning the Spectator and the Board of Trustees, 26 February 1969
-R-64 Resolution Providing for a Student Representative on the Board of Trustees, 06 March 1969
24 April-October 1969
-R-14 Resolution Condemning the Actions and Essence of the "Majority Student Coalition," 30 April 1969
-R-15 Resolution to Support the Student Boycott of Classes and the Initiation of a Free University, 30 April 1969
-R-20 Resolution Clarifying Leadership of Tuition Protest at Indiana University, 07 May 1969
-R-24 Resolution Concerning Penalties in the Fee Recession Movement, 15 May 1969
Series: Subject files, 1938-1979, undated
-Athletics, Racism, 1970 , undated
-Black Stuff, 1969-1970
-Civil Defense Monroe County fallout shelter
-Civil Rights, 1965
-Housing, Racial Discrimination, 1948-1969
-Peace Movement, 1961-1970
-Planned Parenthood, Early 1970's
-Political Freedoms on Campus, 1964
-Reserve Officers Training Corps (R.O.T.C.), 1959-1974
-Sex Discrimination, 1967-1972
-Sexual Freedom League, 1967
-Students for a Democratic Society, undated
-Vietnam
-Women's Issues, 1970-1973
C292 Eggshell Press records, 1966-1968
Eggshell Press was the name of the mimeograph machine housed in the spare bedroom of Carol B. Chittenden and her husband from fall 1967 to August 1968. During this time, most of the flyers and memorandum that were passed out during and after demonstrations, rallies, vigils, and marches on Indiana University's Bloomington campus were printed on the Eggshell Press. Collection consists primarily of publications printed by the Press.
C341 Indiana University Young Women’s Christian Association records, 1929-1973, bulk 1960-1973
The Indiana University chapter of the Young Women’s Christian Association was founded in 1886 by Mrs. Jenny Bryan, sister to future IU president William Lowe Bryan. Open to all interested women in the Bloomington community, the YWCA aimed to encourage the personal development, religious growth, social sensitivity, and civic responsibility of its members. It sought to provide leadership training in the many areas of life and to provide volunteer leaders for community service in Monroe County. This collection consists of various publications, administrative material and financial records created by the organization from 1929 through 1973.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
-Abortion, 1969-1970, undated
-Institutional Racism, 1969-1971, undated
-Racism, Information, 1970
-National Student Y.W.C.A., End the War, 1969-1970
-Sexism
-Vietnam – Literature, 1969
-Women’s Liberation, 1969-1970
C469 Indiana University Students for a Democratic Society newsletters, 1965-1966
The Indiana University chapter of Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) was founded in 1964 and remained active until 1969 when the national organization disbanded. The newsletters in this collection were created to be a forum for members of IU and the surrounding community to express their opinions on local problems, goals, and solutions relating to areas of the New Left political movement.
C568 Union Board scrapbooks, 1932-2012
The Union Board serves as the governing body for the Indiana Memorial Union, which organizes various events and activities for students on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Established in 1909, the Union Board has since developed into the largest student programming body at Indiana University. The Collection consists of scrapbooks which were created by staff annually from 1932 to the present.
more...less...
In particular see the following files:
Series: Scrapbooks,1932-2012
-July 19, 1960 – April 12, 1961
-January 26, 1961 – April 1962
-June 1, 1961 – March 21, 1962
-February 13, 1962 – October 19, 1962
-October 23, 1962 – March 6, 1963
-March 6, 1963 – January 14, 1964
-December 8, 1963 – March 13, 1964
-March 19, 1964 – March 5, 1967
-July 10, 1964 – May 12, 1965
-August, 1965 – June, 1966
-July 7, 1966 – October 31, 1966
-November 1, 1966 – April 11, 1967
-April 13, 1967 – November 1, 1967
-November 2, 1967 – March 19, 1968
-March 20, 1968 – September 18, 1968
-September 19, 1968 – July 31, 1969
-September 1969 – February 1970
C602 New University Conference records, 1968-1971
The New University Conference was a national, radical organization that was active on the Indiana University campus from 1968-1971. The leftist group was made up of graduate students and faculty members who were involved in causes such as educational reforms, women's liberation, anti-war, and more. The local Bloomington group was dedicated to exposing problems on the Indiana University campus, especially regarding those issues specifically connected to the national organization's overarching causes. The collection consist of records created by both the National organization and local Bloomington chapter of the New University Conference.
C617 Kathleen Cavanaugh scrapbooks, 1960-1965
Kathleen Cavanaugh Holland (1942-2016) attended Indiana University as an undergraduate student from 1960-1964. These scrapbooks were compiled by Cavanaugh from 1960-1965 and consist of materials related to campus events and student activities and organizations at IU, as well as greeting cards and other mementos from family and friends.
C618 The Alternative, 1968-1972
Founded by graduate student Robert Emmett Tyrrell, Jr. (B.A. 1965, M.A. 1967), in 1967, The Alternative was founded as a conservative challenge to the political left of the era with an emphasis on free enterprise and democratic values. In the early 1970s, distribution moved nationally and in 1977 the publication was renamed The American Spectator. In 1985 the company moved from Bloomington, Indiana to Washington D.C. The collection consists of issues dating from 1967-1977.
C650 The Ballantonian records, 1967-1969
The Ballantonian was a weekly liberal arts review run by Indiana University students and sponsored by the Department of English. The journal ran from September 1967 to January 1969 and consisted of original writing and illustrations by students and members of the public. One issue of a spin-off publication, the Son of Ballantonian, was published in February 1969. This collection includes files related to the newspaper's founding as a IU student organization, as well as the production and circulation of the journal. Also present are published issues of the Ballantonian and Son of Ballantonian, the content of which includes reports on cultural events on campus; reviews of literature, film, and other works; political analysis; poetry, short fiction and non-fiction submissions; and photography and graphic art.
Disorientation : like it is at IU.
Disorientation was a handbook published by the Indiana University chapter of the New University Conference. The New University Conference was a national, radical organization that was active on the Indiana University campus from 1968-1971. The handbook was primarily addressed to new students and was intended to serve as an alternative to the traditional administrative manuals.There are two editions of the handbook, one published for 1969-1970 and one published for 1970.
The Indiana Daily Student
The Indiana Daily Student is the main student newspaper for IU. The newspaper began in 1867 as a bimonthly publication and was named the Indiana Student. The IDS is available on microfilm at Wells Library. Recent editions of the newspaper can be found on the IDS's website, https://www.idsnews.com/.
The inside agitator.
The Inside Agitator was a newsletter published by the Progressive Reform Party, a student political organization at Indiana University-Bloomington.
NUC newsletter.
The NUC newsletter was published by and for members of the New University Conference at Indiana University. The New University Conference was a national, radical organization active at Indiana University from 1968-1971. They were involved with causes such as educational reforms, women's liberation, anti-war, and more.
The Spectator
The Spectator began its existence as a weekly student newspaper in January 1966, when it was recognized as a registered Indiana University organization by the I.U. Board of Student Publications. This charter was revoked by the university administration in 1968, but the paper remained in publication as an independent paper in Bloomington, Indiana until 1970.

The following interviews are part of the Bicentennial Oral History Project. The Bicentennial Oral History Project consists of interviews with IU alumni, faculty, and staff. The online collection of the interviews is continually being added to. The interviews listed here are just a couple of examples of the many interviews related to the 1960s. To find other interviews, try search terms such as civil rights, student activism, student protests, and Vietnam War.

Congress, Richard. Aug 05 2013
An interview with Richard Congress who was a student at IU at various points during the 1960s. He discusses major national events of the 1960s and the changes on campus between the early 1960s and the late 1960s.
Nahem, Isaac. Aug 03 2013
An interview with Isaac Nahem who came to IU in 1969 and graduated in 1973. He discusses his involvement with student activism, national and campus events, and the environment on campus during the late 1960s and early 1970s.

The following are a few examples available through Media Collections Online. New content is being continuously added to this portal, so check back frequently!

The Indiana School of the Sky program
The Indiana School of the Sky radio program of the Indiana University Department of Radio and Television began broadcasting educational radio programs in 1947 and continued through the early 1960s.
Indiana University : 150 Years (1820-1970)
Celebrates the 1820-1970 sesquicentennial of Indiana University by surveying its history and current programs. Points out the admission of women and students from other countries. Covers the development of the schools of music, medicine, education, business, and law, as well as the growth of the College of Arts and Sciences. Features brief scenes of the five regional campuses and of various athletic programs. Includes footage of Chancellor Herman B Wells, former President Elvis J. Stahr, and current President Joseph Sutton.
more...less...
In particular see the following:
-At the 15:09 mark, students discuss what is being talked about on campus during the 1960s.
-At the 17:04 mark, there is footage from a rally on campus discussing the costs of education.
-At the 24:00 mark in the video, IU President Elvis J. Stahr discusses how the Rose Bowl unified people on campus and the growth of the campus in the 1960s.
IU Black Player Boycott
A video clip discussing 14 Black football players boycotting practice in 1969. The video also discusses the racism experienced by Black athletes.
Peace Thru Victory rally at Indiana University
Film contains clips of a "Peace Thru Victory" rally held at Dunn Meadow on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Indiana on April 14, 1967. The following individuals spoke at the rally, according to an article that appeared the next day in the Indiana Daily Student newspaper: U.S. Representative William G. Bray (R-Ind), Bloomington mayor John H. Hooker, IU junior Mark Watson (Indiana chairman of the Young Americans for Freedom (YAF)), IU senior Bob Turner (former president of the IU Conservative League), IU senior Randy Wilson (IU coordinator for YAF), IU senior David Clutter (member of IU Student Senate), and IU junior Jim Derkott.
Senator Robert F. Kennedy's speech at IU Auditorium, 04/24/1968
An audio recording of Robert F. Kennedy's speech at IU Auditorium on April 24, 1968.

Archives Photograph Collection
The IU Archives holds a vast photograph and negative collection that comprises approximately two-million images. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty.

Indiana University and Bloomington in the 1960s

Relevant University Archives collections

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Indiana University and Bloomington in the 1960s

Relevant University Archives collections

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries