Subject Librarian
Questions?
Ask a Librarian!
In Person: Wells Library, Scholars' Commons Reference Desk (East Tower)
Email: libref@indiana.edu
Chat: libraries.indiana.edu/help
Databases in other subjects
- Depending on your research topic, you may find it helpful to search databases in other subjects.
- For example, science databases such as PubMed or Web of Science may include scholarly literature on biological diversity in language acquisition. PsycINFO or ERIC may help you find research on cognitive and developmental diversity in language acquisition.
- You can use ProQuest Social Sciences to search across several important social science databases simultaneously.
- See also the list of specialized databases for Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences.
- ERIC (DOE)Covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993. Education database.
- ProQuest Social Sciences
Allows users to simultaneously search a collection of ProQuest Social Science databases.
- APA PsycINFO
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports from the world literature on psychology and related fields.
- PubMed
Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
- Web of Science
Citation database covering scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search interface allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, Web of Science Core Collection, and others.
Multidisciplinary resources
- In addition to Google Scholar, there are a couple more multidisciplinary resources that may help you find research on your topic: Academic Search and OneSearch@IU.
- OneSearch@IU searches not only scholarly article databases and some popular publications, but also the library catalog (IUCAT), and so it can be used to find books and e-books as well as articles.
- Searches in these multidisciplinary resources are likely to retrieve a large number of results. The video on this page provides some tips on narrowing search results in OneSearch@IU.
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.