Library Research Guides: LING-L 213 Language Acquisition: Start here

LLBA and Google Scholar

The database LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) is an excellent place to start research on any aspect of linguistics.
LLBA provides access mostly to articles in scholarly journals and to dissertations.
Search this database by keyword; use quotes to search for terms occurring together.
Note that LLBA can be used to search for articles within specific journals. Under Advanced Search, enter the title of the journal (e.g. "journal of child language") in the PUB field. Then enter your keywords and/or phrase (e.g. "language development" autism) in the second search box.
Google Scholar is another excellent place to begin linguistics research. This database provides access not only to scholarly articles, but also to books, dissertations, and some other types of content.
Note that when searching Google Scholar, you will probably need to provide more specific search terms than when using LLBA.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

Contact the guide owner, Catherine J. Minter.