Food & Agriculture
- Agricola
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It contains over 6 million records encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied discipline.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- USA.gov
- This link opens in a new window
The official U.S. government portal to 47 million pages of information on federal and state government programs, benefits, and services.
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Environmental Issues Online
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to text, archival primary sources, video and audio related to environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, and deforestation.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
- OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal for Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) publications and statistics. Source for internationally comparable statistical, environmental and socio-economic reports and data. OECD works with policy makers, governments and citizens to inform public decision-making.
- UNdata
- This link opens in a new window
Database covering selected data series from 20 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
- STATS Indiana
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Indiana, including census and population data, economic and labor reports, and county profiles.
United States
Many agencies in the United States regulate and conduct research on food. Below are some introductory websites from several of them. Additionally, if you are interested in finding more information from a specific agency, you can include their name in the Author field of your database searches.
United States Department of Agriculture
- U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)Executive agency is charge of food security, rural economic development, agriculture, and forestry.
- Agricultural Trade Periodicals and Reports (USDA)"Data products and reports covering U.S. agricultural trade and factors affecting trade flows."
- Food Security: Interactive Charts and Highlights (USDA)"Food security" refers to people's access to enough food for a healthy life. From the Economic Research Service at the USDA.
- National Agricultural Library (USDA)One of the five national libraries of the U.S., the National Agriculture Library is one of the largest agricultural research libraries in the world.
- Foreign Agricultural Service Statistical Data (USDA)"The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, to build new markets, to improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and to provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries."
- Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA)Agency responsible for protecting animal health, animal welfare, and plant health. Includes regulation of genetically modified organisms, administration of the Animal Welfare Act, and coordination of efforts to fight pests and disease among plants and animals.
- “Reflecting on 20 Years of Measuring Household Food Security in the United States.” (USDA)The opening session of the October 21, 2015 conference at the Economic Research Service.
Run time: 1 hour, 13 minutes
United States Food and Drug Administration
- Food and Drug Administration: Food (FDA)Responsible for the protection of human health through the regulation of food, drugs, animal feed, tobacco products, etc.
United States Agency for International Development
- USAIDAgency responsible for administering civilian foreign aid and development assistance.
- Feed the Future (USAID)USAID's global hunger and food security program.
International Organizations
International Organizations are groups like the United Nations that represent the cooperative interests of their member states.
United Nations
- Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)International agency to improve food security globally.
- World Health Organization (WHO)Responsible for international public health.
- The state of food security and nutrition in the world (FAO)Annual report. Scroll to bottom to see past issues.
- Global Data Bank on Infant and Young Child Feeding (WHO)"It pools information mainly from national and regional surveys, and studies dealing specifically with the prevalence and duration of breastfeeding and complementary feeding."
- Vitamin and Mineral Nutrition Information System (VMNIS) (WHO)"Surveillance of micronutrient deficiencies at the global level." Formerly known as Micronutrient Deficiency Information System (MDIS).
European Union
- Food, Farming, Fisheries (EU)"How the European Commission ensures the safety and quality of agricultural and food products, supports producers and communities, and promotes sustainable practices."