HOPE Project Resources

Includes additional access to the following modules: US Industry Spotlights collection, Global Industry Reports United States: Industry Reports (NAICS) Industry State Reports (FL, MA, IL, NY, OH, CA, TX) Industry iExpert Summaries Specialized Industry Reports Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries Business Environment Profiles.

The first page of a report, "At a Glance," provides the recent price, forecast price, market characteristics, market risk, benchmark price, key price drivers, major vendors, vendor cost benchmarks and the Buyer Power Score.

Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files. 
 

Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.

Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.

Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Frost & Sullivan provides research and analysis in new market opportunities for corporate growth. Frost & Sullivan covers the following markets and sectors:

Aerospace & Defense

Automotive & Transportation

Chemicals, Materials & Food
Chemicals & Materials
Food & Beverages

Energy & Power Systems Energy & Power
Power Supplies & Batteries

Environmental & Building Technologies
Building Management Technologies
Environmental

Healthcare
Clinical Diagnostics
Drug Discovery Technologies
Healthcare & Life Sciences IT
Medical Devices
Medical Imaging
Patient Monitoring
Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology

Industrial Automation & Electronics
Automatic Identification & Security
Electronic Devices
Industrial Automation & Process Control
Power Transmission
Semiconductors
Sensors & Instrumentation
Surface Mount Technologies
Test & Measurement

Information & Communication Technologies
Communications Services
Conferencing & Collaboration
Contact Centers
Digital Media
Enterprise Communications
IP Communications
IT Services & Applications
Mobile & Wireless Communications
Network Security
Next Generation Carrier Infrastructure
Smart Cards
Space & Communications

Resource for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. Provides access to content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). IEL contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science.

Includes over 200,000 articles from 309 journals.

Registered users (click "register" at the top of the page) can create personal binders or sign up for email notifications of table-of-contents for specific ACM titles.

Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.

Includes full-text for more than 100 business publications, with full-text coverage dating back to 1990. Includes such titles as: Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals. The database includes full text sources ranging from general publications such as Fortune and Money to trade publications such as American Demographics, Chemical Week, Electronic Business and Restaurant Hospitality. The collection of titles includes top management journals such as Academy of Management Executive, California Management Review and Harvard Business Review. In addition, this database also includes detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1984.

Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.

This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html (Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.)

New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location

Returning IUB Affilated Users 
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.

Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability

Additional access options for the New York Times:
Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)

Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.

To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.

Account use and renewal:

Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/wall-street-journal.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be accessed via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your WSJ account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. From a web browser, visit the Wall Street Journal via IU Bloomington's subscription link.
2. Authenticate through IU Login
3. In the top-right of the screen, click on your name and then select Customer Center from the drop down menu.
4. From the left menu, select Account Settings.
5. In the Contact Information box, click the Edit button next to your existing email.
6. Enter your @iu.edu email address in the Email and Confirm Email fields and then press Save.
7. A message will appear indicating that a verification was sent to your @iu.edu email address.
8. Within a few minutes you will receive an email with the subject line “Please verify your email address for WSJ”.
   1. Click the link included in the email message which will take you to a WSJ log screen.
9. Enter your WSJ account password to complete the email update and verification process.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current