Document Types: Correspondence; Ephemera; Legal Documents; Maps; Newspapers; Official Records; Oral Histories; Printed Books; Reports
Description: Provides access to materials related to African American culture and identity. Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration.
Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Document Types: Business and Financial Documents; Correspondence; Court Records; Illustrations; Maps; Oral Histories; Photographs
Description: Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Document Types: Correspondence; Ephemera; Financial and Legal Papers; Manuscripts; Maps; Oral Histories; Printed Books; Reports; Shipping Papers and Plans
Description: Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Document Types: Audio; Correspondence; Ephemera; Government and Legal Documents; Interviews; Maps; Memorandum; Photographs; Printed Books; Reports; Surveys and Statistics
Description: Provides access to primary source documents related to prejudice, segregation and racial tensions in America. Includes survey material, interviews and statistics, as well as educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Document Types: Annual Reports; Architectural materials; Around the Globe Magazine; Globe Research; Artwork; Music; Oral Histories; Performance Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Prompt Books; Props; Show Reports; Wardrobe Notes and Jottings
Description: Documents related to the reconstructed Globe Theater. The resource covers over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre is a ‘best guess’ reconstruction based on modern scholarship of the 1599 theater of the same name that William Shakespeare part owned, wrote for and played in. The new theater stands not far from the original Globe on London's Southbank. The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theater history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theater was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions.