This guide is intended to help you pick an Adam Matthew collection for use in your research and teaching. AM Search (link below) also lets you search across all Adam Matthew collections owned by the IU Libraries.
The categories used in this guide were created by staff at Adam Matthew.
African American Communities
Provides access to materials related to African American culture and identity. Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration.
China, America and the Pacific
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Searchable full-text of advice literature covering household management, education, leisure, shoppping, sexuality, consumption and sport.
East India Company
Collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Includes royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types. Charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
First World War
Primary source documents related to the First World War, covering personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda, women's war work, the Home Front and international perspectives.
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.
Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda
Collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.