Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adam Matthew Collections

A guide to help you find the right Adam Matthew collection for your research or teaching.

Welcome

This guide helps you pick an Adam Matthew collection for your research and teaching. AM Explorer (link below) also lets you search across Adam Matthew collections.

Note that, with only a few exceptions, the categorization comes from staff at Adam Matthew and not from anyone at IU.

Group of African Americans on a city street

African American Communities

Provides access to materials related to African American culture and identity. Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration.

Painting of a port and map of the Big Island of Hawaii

China, America and the Pacific

Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.

Painting of men and women in an art studio, c. 1750

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Searchable full-text of advice literature covering household management, education, leisure, shoppping, sexuality, consumption and sport.

Blended old images of a map of India, harbor, and large building

East India Company

Collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Includes royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types. Charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

Painting of soldiers climbing out of a trench

First World War

Primary source documents related to the First World War, covering personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda, women's war work, the Home Front and international perspectives.

Lucky Strike Cigarette advertisement from the 1950s

Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965

Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.

Collection of movie stills of communists or socialists

Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda

Collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.