Document Types: Broadside; Correspondence; Diaries; Drawings and Illustrations; Ephemera; Financial Records; Maps; Periodicals; Photographs; Rare Books
Description: Collection of primary sources such original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources, that cover social, political, and economic aspects of the American West.
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Within this resource you can use the chronology and data maps to discover facts and events in the history of the American West and view visual resources in bespoke, searchable galleries.
Document Types: Accounts; Business Records; Correspondence; Ephemera; Journals; Manuscripts; Maps; Newspapers; Illustrations and Photographs; Printed Books
Description: Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.
Document Types: Correspondence; Illustrations; Maps; Official Papers; Periodicals; Personal Accounts and Manuscripts; Photographs; Printed Books
Description: This collection provides original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from 1793 to the Nixon visits to China in 1972-74.
Document Types: Correspondence; Diaries; Illustrations; Manuscripts; Maps; Missionary Papers; Printed Books; Reports
Description: Contains over 70,000 images of original manuscripts (including biographies and chronologies) and printed materials covering Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceana, and South Asia.
Document Types: Diaries: Official Papers; Private Papers; Correspondence; Drawings and Illustrations; Histories; Literary Works
Description: Provides access to digitized diaries, journals, official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and original documents containing
Digital facsimiles from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland. Includes diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
Document Types: Business and Financial Documents; Correspondence; Court Records; Illustrations; Maps; Oral Histories; Photographs
Description: Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Document Types: Art; Books; Broadsides; Business and Financial Documents; Correspondence; Diaries; Legal documents; Maps; Photographs
Description: Searchable collection of color digital images of rare books, ephemera and other materials relating to popular culture in 19th and early 20th century London.
Document Types: Advertisements; Correspondence; Diaries; Draft; Financial Records; Illustrations; Company Records; Manuscript
Description: Primary source documents from the archive of the historic John Murray literary publishing company. Materials span the entirety of the long nineteenth century and document the golden era of the House of Murray from its inception in 1768.
Records in this resource predominantly focus on the tenure of John Murray II and his son, John Murray III, as they rose to prominence in the publishing trade, launching long-running series including the political periodical Quarterly Review, and publishing genre-defining titles such as Darwin’s On the Origin of Species, Austen’s Emma and Livingstone’s Missionary Travels and Researches in South Africa.
Document Types: Audio; Catalogues; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Films; Illustrations; Periodicals; Printed Books; Music; Object Images
Description: Popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe during the years from 1779 to 1930.
Document Types: Artifacts; Catalogues; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Reports and Records; Illustrations and Photographs; Maps; Periodicals; Printed Books; Sound Recordings
Description: Provides access to official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, covering world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.
Offers insight into the phenomenon of international expositions by presenting official records, monographs, personal accounts and ephemera for more than 200 fairs. The first fair represented in this resource is what many consider the first world’s fair, the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London, 1851. The latest case study is Montreal’s Expo 1967, but there are documents as recent as Milan’s (successful) bid to host Expo 2015. The largest concentration of documents relate to fairs from the late Victorian-early Edwardian era of 1880-1920; the ‘golden age’ of expositions when neighboring cities raced to outdo each other – sometimes hosting rival fairs in the same year. While there are documents for host nations from every continent, the historical focus of international expositions (and therefore this resource) is Northern European, North American and – in the twentieth century in particular – East Asian.