Dates: 1420 - 1920
Document Types: Audio; Correspondence; Diaries; Film; Government Documents; Logbooks; Maps; Printed Books; Scientific Papers and Surveys
Description: Primary source documents covering five centuries of colonization, journeys, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts.
Includes rare manuscript and early printed material, illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs. Covers the earliest voyages of Vasco da Gama, the opening of trade with the Spice Islands, the colonization of the Americas and Australasia, the search for the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and finally the race for the Poles.
Document Types: Artwork; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial and Legal Documents; Interludes; Plays; Prologues and Epilogues; Interludes and Preludes; Playbills; Songs
Description: Archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824. Also includes hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
Document Types: Audio; Correspondence; Diaries; Diagrams; Film; Maps; Newspapers; Official Papers; Personal Collection; Printed Books; Trench Literature
Description: Primary source documents related to the First World War, covering personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda, women's war work, the Home Front and international perspectives.
Document types include: personal narratives, diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs, printed books, military and government files, ephemera, artwork, personal artifacts and film. Also includes secondary source materials such as interactive maps, and chronologies.
Modules include: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives; A Global Conflict
Document Types: Company Records; Correspondence; Ephemera; Film; Guidebooks; Maps; Photographs; Postcards; Posters; Travel Journals
Description: Provides digital access to documents relating to the evolution of British and American working class tourism from c.1850 to 1980.
Document Types: Audio; Correspondence; Ephemera; Government and Legal Documents; Interviews; Maps; Memorandum; Photographs; Printed Books; Reports; Surveys and Statistics
Description: Provides access to primary source documents related to prejudice, segregation and racial tensions in America. Includes survey material, interviews and statistics, as well as educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Document Types: Annual Reports; Architectural materials; Around the Globe Magazine; Globe Research; Artwork; Music; Oral Histories; Performance Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Prompt Books; Props; Show Reports; Wardrobe Notes and Jottings
Description: Documents related to the reconstructed Globe Theater. The resource covers over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre is a ‘best guess’ reconstruction based on modern scholarship of the 1599 theater of the same name that William Shakespeare part owned, wrote for and played in. The new theater stands not far from the original Globe on London's Southbank. The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theater history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theater was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions.
Document Types: Production Design; Film Script; Prompt Book; Correspondence; Manuscript; Photographs; Play Bills; Printed Books; Music
Description: Provides digital access to prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC.
Document Types: Advertisement Film; Documentary Film; Short Film; Feature Film; Party Political Broadcasts
Description: Collection of documentaries, newsreels and features by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, ranging from the early twentieth century to the 1980s.
Document Types: Audio; Catalogues; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Films; Illustrations; Periodicals; Printed Books; Music; Object Images
Description: Popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe during the years from 1779 to 1930.
Document Types: Artifacts; Catalogues; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Reports and Records; Illustrations and Photographs; Maps; Periodicals; Printed Books; Sound Recordings
Description: Provides access to official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, covering world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.
Offers insight into the phenomenon of international expositions by presenting official records, monographs, personal accounts and ephemera for more than 200 fairs. The first fair represented in this resource is what many consider the first world’s fair, the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London, 1851. The latest case study is Montreal’s Expo 1967, but there are documents as recent as Milan’s (successful) bid to host Expo 2015. The largest concentration of documents relate to fairs from the late Victorian-early Edwardian era of 1880-1920; the ‘golden age’ of expositions when neighboring cities raced to outdo each other – sometimes hosting rival fairs in the same year. While there are documents for host nations from every continent, the historical focus of international expositions (and therefore this resource) is Northern European, North American and – in the twentieth century in particular – East Asian.