Get Help
Research & Instruction Librarian
Database Quick Guide
Confused about what types of information are found in which databases? Check out the Database Quick Guide.
Industry/Market Research
Understanding wider industry trends and market forces can be helpful when exploring entry into a market. Start with these databases.
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on industries, markets, consumers and economies across a large number of specific countries. - Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors. - ProcurementIQ
- This link opens in a new window
Access to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports range from 15-20 pages, cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
Marketing Research
Try these sources for market research on consumer attitudes, behaviors and opinions
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
- MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on industries, markets, consumers and economies across a large number of specific countries
* See also the News and Business Literature Databases below for more consumer and advertising research.
News and Business Literature
IU Libraries has several databases that let you search across a wide variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as offering direct access to some local and national newspapers.
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- ABI/INFORM Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to business research journals, trade journals, dissertations, working papers, as well as key business and economics periodicals
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Company Research
Use these databases to find out more about specific companies, but realize that new, small and/or private companies may not be covered at all, or not covered in as much depth as publicly traded companies when you do find them .
For public companies:
- MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
For private companies:
- Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.