SLAV U518 Empire and ethnicity in modern Russian history

This database is the online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES), which started in 1956 at Indiana University, Bloomington, and continued until 1994, when it completely went online. Its chronological scope is limited, going back to 1989.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.

This Russian periodical database provides full-text access to articles of 75 Russian journals in humanities and social sciences. All major disciplines are represented, but the scope of its chronological coverage is relatively narrower than its newspaper companion, UDB-Central newspapers. One resoundingly welcoming exception is Voprosy istorii (1945- ). Together with its two predecessors, Bor'ba klassov (1931-1936) and Istoricheskii zhurnal (1937-1945), the journal is completely covered by the database in its entirety.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Letopisi – national bibliography indexes – are the most comprehensive bibliographic products of Soviet/Russian printed works published since 1907 by Knizhnaia Palata (Russian Book Chamber). As an official legal deposit institution of Russia, Knizhnaia Palata has been collecting and creating bibliographic records of books, newspapers, journals, book criticism and reviews, the arts, sheet music, dissertations and maps. Bibliographic records of the processed materials are then published in Letopisi – eight serial publications containing records organized by categories of material.

Collecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson’s Book Review Digest, this archive database provides over a million book review citations from 1903 to 1982. It includes at least one review excerpt per book.