Transliteration Rules
Using The Correct LC (Library of Congress) Transliteration Rules For Your Catalog Search. The LC system is the one that is most commonly used to transliterate Russian and other Cyrillic language titles in North American scholarship. Consult the transliteration table.
Building Bibliographies
Build your own bibliography first as a guide for your research.
IUCAT
Tips: Do a subject search in Advanced Search (as opposed to the default Basic Search) using two subject terms, one the name of any ethnic group of your interest, for example, Estonians, Latvians, Poles, etc; and the other “Russia.”
use to expand your search beyond IUCAT. Many resources found in Worldcat can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
The following are some of the tools and tips that will help you with building a bibliography.
- Guide to the Study of the Soviet Mationalities : Non-Russian Peoples of the USSR / Stephan M. Horak. 1982. 265 p. A select subject bibliography.
- Russia and the Former Soviet Union : a Bibliographic Guide to English Language Publications, 1986-1991 / Helen F. Sullivan and Robert H. Burger. 1994. 380 p.
- The German-Russians : a Bibliography of Russian Materials with Introductory Essay, Annotations, and Locations of Materials in Major American and Soviet Libraries / James Long. 1978. 136 p.
- Rossiiskie nemtsy : otechestvennaia bibliografiia 1991-2000 gg. : ukazatel’ noveishei literatury po istorii i kul’ture nemtsev Rossii/ T.N. Chernova. 2001. 268 p.
Databases for Building Bibliographies
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES)
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive subject index for the field of Slavic and East European Studies. Use subject phrases like “Russia--ethnic relations,” “Russia--nationalities,” “[name of an ethnic group]--Russia”, etc. - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Index to world history scholarship except American and Canadian histories. - Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences & Humanities
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive subject index for the field of Slavic and East European Studies. Use subject phrases like “Russia--ethnic relations,” “Russia--nationalities,” “[name of an ethnic group]--Russia”, etc. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business. - Russian National Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB) is a database of Russian national bibliographic periodicals (often called "letopisi").
Book Reviews
Book reviews may be helpful for writing a historiographical essay, among others.
Use the following two comprehensive book review indices that cover the whole 20th century to the present.
You can also use the Russian national bibliographies:
Letopis’ retsenzii.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
Extracts of book reviews as well as citations to additonal reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Guide Creator
LibGuide created by Tiffany Saulter,
Department of Library and Information Science.