Library Research Guides: ENG R398 Culture Identity and Rhetoric of Place: Find Primary Sources

Primary Sources

A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Some types of primary sources include:

ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS (excerpts or translations acceptable): Diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records, building plans
CREATIVE WORKS: Poetry, drama, novels, music, art
RELICS OR ARTIFACTS: Pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings

Examples of primary sources include:

Diary of Anne Frank - Experiences of a Jewish family during WWII
The Constitution of Canada - Canadian History
A journal article reporting NEW research or findings
Building plans for the construction of the Sears Tower
Plato’s Republic - Women in Ancient Greece

A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them. Some types of secondary sources include:

PUBLICATIONS: Textbooks, magazine articles, histories, criticisms, commentaries, encyclopedias

Examples of secondary sources include:

A journal/magazine article which interprets or reviews previous findings
A history textbook
A book about the Taj Mahal

Prepared by Carey Beam & Cynthia Smith, with special thanks to Lou Malcomb and Kristina Keogh

ArchiveGrid Provides access to online finding aids, detailed collection guides or inventories describing where to find an archival collection, how it's arranged, and what it contains.
- This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid is a collection of archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. It's supported by OCLC Research as the basis for experimentation and testing in text mining, data analysis, and discovery system applications and interfaces. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970 Access to Sanborn maps for all fifty states, large-scale plans containing data that can help estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
- This link opens in a new window
While they are in Black and White, instead of the original color, the Digital Sanborn Maps allow researchers to view and download the maps, integrate them in various GIS applications, and access them remotely. Sanborn maps provide house by house or business by business details for cities and towns throughout Indiana. They show the development of water works, school and government buildings, and transportation systems.
NewspaperARCHIVE Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized copies and content of the follwing local Indiana Newspapers: Bloomington Evening World (1907-1923), Indiana Daily Student (1867-1923), Madison Herald, Indianapolis State Sentinel, Indianapolis Star, Fort Wayne Journal Gazette,Terre Haute Star and Indianapolis Sun.
World Newspaper Archive A collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
- This link opens in a new window

1. Choose a relevant database or digital collection to search.

2. Enter relevant keywords.

3. If possible, limit search by publication date and format (e.g., book reviews, photographs).
(Many databases have this option.)

4. Consult a librarian for recommended databases and resources.

Web Resources:

Using Primary Sources on the Web
From RUSA/American Library Association

ENG R398 Culture Identity and Rhetoric of Place

Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Primary Sources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries