OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place
OneSearch@IU searches most of Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.
Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/onesearch
Finding Architecture and Design Articles
- Art & Architecture Source Art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as areas of architecture and architectural design.
This link opens in a new window
- ARTbibliographies Modern Specialist bibliography of modern and contemporary art from 1974 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
- This link opens in a new window
- Design and Applied Arts Index International index to design and craft journals; contains references to 500+ journals published since 1973 and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips
- Architectural Design Available in print (NA1 .A54) and online from 2005.
- Harvard Design Magazine Available in print (NA2300.H352 G72) and online from 2007.
Keywords
Choosing appropriate search terms is an important first step in the research process. Take a few moments to brainstorm a list of keywords that describe your topic. Think of similar words that express the same concepts, broader and narrower terms, and important contextual information.
If you were interested in a building or structure your list of keywords might include:
- name of structure
- architect or cultural group responsible for production
- type of building
- location
- era or time period of construction
- style
- type of construction
In addition to generating a list of keywords, take time to think about how those keywords are related. In general, knowing broader terms will help you find books, while narrower terms will be more useful for finding articles.
Search Strategies (Boolean Operators)
Words such as AND, OR, and NOT may be used to combine search terms to broaden or narrow a search.
AND will narrow your search; for example, Greek AND Roman AND architecture (must find all terms)
OR will broaden your search; for example, "post and lintel" OR trabeated (must find one of the terms)
NOT will exclude specific items, thereby narrowing your search slightly. For example, Windows NOT Microsoft (must find first term and not second term)
Other Search Tips:
Phrases: “Taj Mahal” (must find phrase in that order)
Synonyms/Similar Terms: drawing OR design OR drafting
Wildcards: Architect* will find architect, architects, architecture, etc.
- Interlibrary LoanIf you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at IU, use ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to find what you need.
Interlibrary loans allow you to borrow material from non IU Libraries.
*First time users will be asked delivery information for their materials*
How to Request:
- You will need your IU username and password to request material
- Visit the Submit a request page OR search Worldcat.
- To use the Submit a request page, have the book information (title, author, etc) ready.
- In Worldcat the "Request materials from ILL" link will fill in the book information for you.
- Photocopies of journal articles can also be requested through the Submit a request page.
You will receive an email from Interlibrary loan when your materials are ready for pickup.
- Evaluating Your Strategy ChecklistTips on evaluating and revising a search strategy.
From Univ. of Washington Libraries.