Library Research Guides: MSCH R348 Public Relations Planning and Research: Where and How to find information

Literature Databases

There is a wide variety of databases that have information relating to vaccine refusal and COVID. You'll want to look in multiple databases, using multiple searches. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Here are some useful tips to start. Also see the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.

Start with phrases like these:	To find consumer/patient research add one of these:
(healthcare or "medical care")	preference
(postnatal or postpartum or perinatal)	(attitudes or perceptions)
(doula or midwife)	patient
	psychology
	survey

Try multiple terms and combinations in several of the databases below for the best results. Examples:

(postnatal or postpartum or perinatal) and care and preference
"patient perceptions" and (postnatal or postpartum or perinatal)
doula and (attitude or preference or perception) not "end of life"

You'll get more results by not including all four columns in every search. Choose one term from any two or three columns to return more results.

Health Business FullTEXT
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of well-known administrative journals. Includes topics such as staffing, health care regulation, health care facilities management, marketing, finance and more.
Details all aspects of healthcare administration, as well as other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management.
Consumer Health Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes content in 16 different languages.
Also includes full-text health reference books and encyclopedias such as American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia, Complete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs 2012, Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of Health, Mayo Clinic Family Health Book.
Alt HealthWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Covers complementary, holistic, integrative, and alternative approaches to health care and wellness, from nearly 190 international journals.
Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Subject areas covered include: aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO interface to Medline, the primary source of world-wide literature on biomedicine and health care.
Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

- The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
- Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
- Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes indexing for more than 5000 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1460 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With more than 3.9 million records dating back to 1937, CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from many of the important nursing journals.
APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports from the world literature on psychology and related fields.
Provides access to the international journal literature of psychology and related fields, to dissertations, and to technical reports from approximately 50 countries. More than 2200 journals in 29 languages are indexed. This database includes material relevant to psychology from such related disciplines as education, medicine, business, sociology, linguistics, law, psychiatry and anthropology.
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Vocational Studies Premier
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, this resource provides comprehensive full-text coverage of the most relevant associates program-level content. It covers such varied topics as accounting, alcohol and drug abuse counseling, computer and data processing, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, and dozens more.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
An interface that allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, and Web of Science Core Collection.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Comprised of 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Exporting data to Reference Managers such as Mendeley, RefWorks and EndNote, tracking citations with Citation Overview/Tracker, analyzing journal performance with Journal Analyzer and alternative journal impact metrics SNIP and SJR are some of its unique features.

Data on Consumers and Marketing

Search these databases to find survey data about consumer attitudes, behaviors and preferences with regard to healthcare, advertising channels and messaging, and more.

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
See the Dossier and topic report on Vaccine Hesitancy in the U.S., as well as a number of useful standalone charts. Don't forget to click any links in the Source tab to the right of the chart to access more information.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
See the report on COVID-19's impact on US consumers: Sept 17-25, 2020, as well as reports on which channels and messaging work best for different groups of consumers. See this video for an overview of this database.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files.

Access and downloading instructions:
1. All users will have to agree to the Academic permissions and prohibitions, which prohibits systematic copying, use without attribution, use for commercial purposes, or distribution to non-IUB students and employees.
2. After accepting the above permissions and prohibitions, you must create an individual profile in order to download reports.
3. Select "Log into your profile..." to create a new (or log into an existing) Mintel profile.
4. After logging in, downloading is available by either using the direct download option for a report or by using the My Presentations feature which also offers the direct download option for the report.
MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.

MSCH R348 Public Relations Planning and Research

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Your Librarian

Literature Databases

Data on Consumers and Marketing

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

MSCH R348 Public Relations Planning and Research

Literature Databases

Data on Consumers and Marketing

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries