Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. 10th Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@iu.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Get Help
Schedule a Research Consultation
Minority Business Resources
- National Minority Supplier Development Council"The longest-operating business growth engine for the broadest group of systematically excluded communities of color (Asian-Indian, Asian-Pacific, Black, Hispanic, and Native American)."
- Minority Business Development AgencyFederal Agency that promotes growth and competitiveness of the United States' minority-owned businesses, including Hispanic and Latino American, Asian Pacific American, African American, and Native American businesses.
- Minority Business Magazine (MBE)A business magazine that promotes diverse entrepreneurs and business owners and supplier diversity and diversity, equity, & inclusion programs.
- Indiana Minority Business MagazineSister publication of the Indianapolis Recorder
- Ascend CitiesHeadquartered in University of Washington's Foster School of Business, Ascend is a national ecosystem composed of local networks focused on providing businesses with personalized strategies for growth.
Nonprofit Resources
- GuideStar Pro
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
Fundraising for Nonprofit Organizations
- Foundation Directory Online
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides comprehensive information on grantmakers and their funding activities.
- PIVOT
The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.
Industry and Market Databases
- Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
- Mintel Reports
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries.
Article Search
Business Source Complete, ProQuest Business and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| Nonprofits | (nonprofit or "not for profit") |
| minority-owned business | ("minority business" or "minority-owned" or "black-owned") |
| diversity in supply chain | ("supply chain diversity" or "supplier diversity" or "minority supplier") |
| Marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
| B2B Marketing | ("business to business" or B2B) and (marketing or advertising) |
| Strategy | (strateg* or initiative) |
| Repeat Business | ("repeat business" or "customer loyalty") |
Examples:
("supply chain diversity" or "supplier diversity" or "minority supplier") and (strateg* or initiative)
("minority business" or "minority-owned" or "black-owned") and (marketing or advertising)
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Proquest Business
Allows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.
State and County-Level Data
- DataUSAProvides access to government data on wages, demographics, diversity and job growth for industries and for specific occupations. Also provides comparison of specific US cities with regard to income, education, housing, cost of living, diversity, health and safety, and more.
- Census.govAccess demographic, economic and population data from the USA.
- SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.