Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. 10th Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@iu.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Get Help
Learn about Little 500
- Little 500 WebsiteIU Student Foundation's page for the Little 500 race. See how the race is being represented and marketed here.
- IDS News on Little 500This link searches the Indiana Daily Student paper for stories on the race.
- Interview with Dave Blase, Inspiration for Breaking AwayTranscript of a 2000 All Things Considered interview from NPR.
- Little 500 Film Footage 2003-2022Includes virtual races, highlights, men and women's races from 2003-present.
- Little 500 Historic Film FootageFrom University Archives, film of Little 500 events dating back as far as 1955.
- Breaking Away1979 film set at the Little 500.
- One Day in AprilFollows four teams of college cyclists as they prepare for the Little 500.
Recommended Databases
Welcome to the Library Guide for Kelley On Campus 2024. Some of the links below will be helpful as rigorous/ authoritative resources for your research before you get to campus (for your ‘As Is’ analysis) and also during your time in Bloomington working on your recommendation for the Little 500 event team.
- SBRnet: Sports Business Research NetworkData on sports participation and demographics and behavior data for various fan markets.
- IBISWorldSee the reports on
- Athletic Event Organizers
- Time Spent on Leisure and Sports
- Racing and Individual Sports
- Participiation in Sports
- and more
- StatistaReports and statistics on industries, markets and consumers for cereals and snack foods. Keyword searching is very straightforward, but be sure to limit your results to the US to cut down on extraneous information.
- Mintel ReportsLearn about consumer preferences and behavior in reports like:
- Social Media Trends
- Omnichannel Marketing Trends
- Attitudes toward nonprofits
- and reports on marketing to specific demographic groups, like Gen Z, Middle and High Income Americans, and more
- MRI-Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. See who attends bicycle races, for example, and also data on media engagement and attitudes.
- SimplyAnalyticsFind information on demographics and household expenditures at the national, state, city or neighborhood level.
Article Search
Business Source Complete, ProQuest Business and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| sports marketing | ("sports marketing" or ((marketing or advertising) and sport) |
| "grass roots" Marketing | ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer) |
| charitable giving | (philanthropy or charity or giving or donat* or "charitable donation") |
| nonprofits | (nonprofit or non-profit or "not for profit") |
| Gen Z | ("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") |
| Consumer psychology | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior") |
| sports consumption | ("sports spectators" or "sport fans") |
Examples:
("Gen Z" or GenZ or "generation z") and ("sports marketing" or ((marketing or advertising) and sport)
("sports spectators" or "sport fans") and ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior")
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, etc.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Proquest Business
Allows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.
eBooks
Digital Marketing in Sports by ISBN: 1000988783Publication Date: 2024Featuring the work of sport business and management researchers from around the world, the book looks at key aspects of sport marketing such as brand development, consumer behavior and marketing communications. Illustrated with informative figures throughout, it presents cutting-edge case studies and new research on digital marketing covering topics including the metaverse and video games; esports; athlete endorsement; digital immersion; social media; equity crowdfunding; digital fandom and dark market brands.
Digital Sport Marketing by ISBN: 9781138701397Publication Date: 2020-09-11The book surveys the new international digital landscape in sport business and explains how to apply digital marketing across key areas from fan engagement and public relations to strategic communication and branding.
Sport Consumer Behaviour by ISBN: 9780367552411Publication Date: 2022-08-02Consumer behavior is an essential part of any sport marketing or sport business course Combines theory and cutting-edge research with practical guidance and advice.
Charity Marketing by ISBN: 9780367652029Publication Date: 2021-12-01Charities operate within an increasingly challenging environment, with competition for public engagement, funding and volunteers intensifying. Presents contrasting perspectives and the latest thinking on the challenges within the charity sector.
