OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place
OneSearch@IU searches most of the Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.
Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/databases/onesearch
More databases can be found on the Libraries homepage under the "Research" tab or the "Featured Databases" located at the bottom of the page.
Map and Spatial Data Librarian
Ask a Librarian (Chat)
IUCAT Search
Recommended Databases
The IU Libraries subscribe to a vast range of resources and databases. The options can be overwhelming! Your friendly librarian has collected some recommended tools and databases for your final projects. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me (theward@iu.edu) for additional questions, or to schedule a research consultation. Additional resources are found on the Geography section of the library website.
- Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
An interface that allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, and Web of Science Core Collection. - GeoRef
- This link opens in a new window
Index to earth science articles in journals and books, as well as books, maps, government publications, conference proceedings, technical reports, theses and dissertations. - Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- Agricola
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It contains over 6 million records encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied discipline.
- GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. - STATS Indiana
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Indiana, including census and population data, economic and labor reports, and county profiles.
Map Resources
Most of the maps of Indiana are discoverable in IUCAT. See How to Search for Maps for more tips of finding relevant materials. This list also includes digitized maps available online, as well as online databases of spatial data.
- Indiana Historic MapsDigitized maps of Indiana from the Herman B Wells map collection. Download available through the "contact the curator" option.
- IUPUI Historic Indiana MapsIndiana maps from IUPUI and IUB
- IndianaMAPStatewide geospatial data for Indiana
- Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsThese maps were created by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company for their business purposes, but because they are detailed, building-by-building depictions of most urban areas, they are useful for all kinds of research.
- Indiana Spatial Data PortalThe Indiana Spatial Data Portal (ISDP) provides access to more than 30 terabytes of Indiana geospatial data. Available statewide datasets include aerial photos, topographic maps, LiDAR and elevation data, and Sanborn historic maps. In addition, the ISDP hosts several local datasets for Allen, Bartholomew, Boone, Dearborn, Gibson, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Posey, Shelby and Wayne Counties.
- BTAA Geoportal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.