DePauw Management Accelerator Program (Winter 2019)

This guide will assist in conducting the in-depth research required for the One Click Ventures project.

Need Help?

You may have additional questions that alter your research process and search strategies after your visit with One Click Ventures, or you may need further assistance in investigating trends or locating credible evidence to support your recommendations at later stages. Feel free to contact Gary Arave or use the chat widget below with questions.

Major Business Periodicals

There are a number of major business periodicals that can help enhance your credibility in written and oral outcomes:

Bloomberg Business Week
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
California Management Review
The Economist
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
Entrepreneur
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database. For content from 1996 to 2006, see Business Insights.
Fast Company
Major business periodical.
The Financial Times
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database.
Forbes
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the ABI/Inform database. Includes articles about CRM strategy in the Tech section.
Fortune
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
Harvard Business Review
Major business periodical. The Libraries have a subscription that can be accessed through the Business Source Complete database.
McKinsey Quarterly
Sloan Management Review

Wall Street Journal Online
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal Online is a New York based newspaper with a focus on business and financial news; this entry enables access to wsj.com and via their apps. Additional access options for the Wall Street Journal are available.

IUB Affiliates: The first time IUB Affiliates (current faculty, staff, and students) access the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) Online they will be asked to register for an account. IUB Affiliates should use their IU email address to register. Following activation, IUB affiliates can go directly to the Wall Street Journal online at https://www.wsj.com or to WSJ apps and log in with the username and password they created during account registration.

Click more for account renewal information, mobile app availability, and additional access options.0
Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://libraries.indiana.edu/databases/wsj.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be access via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

Additional access options:
Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current

Industry and Product Background:

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Includes an online eyeglasses report that provides a broad overview of the industry in the United States, including current performance, outlook, major markets, and competitors.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an in-depth report on the eyeglasses market in the United States with company/brand shares and current trends. Includes some specific information about reading glasses.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
A portal for statistics that includes data on reading glasses.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.

Low/No-Cost Marketing Opportunities:

Small Business Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Full text consumer small business reference books, as well as tools and instructions to address a range of small business topics. Also includes business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
News, trade, magazine, and scholarly articles on business and marketing topics.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
News, trade, magazine, and scholarly articles on business and marketing topics.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
News, trade, magazine, and scholarly articles on business and marketing topics.
Communication Source features full text for more than 800 titles, including over 600 active full-text titles and 150 full-text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases.
EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
News, trade, magazine, and scholarly articles on business and marketing topics.

Target Consumers:

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Identify and investigate the target consumer for reading glasses. Find out best marketing strategies for this particular demographic.
Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.

General Library Resources

IUB Libraries' Website
Use the "Research Resources" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University-Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.

IUCAT (online library catalog)
Search for books or journals owned by the IUB Libraries.

OneSearch@IU
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.

Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.