Library Research Guides: 1Kelley Consulting (Spring 2023): Home

Marketing and Demographics

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files.

Access and downloading instructions:
1. All users will have to agree to the Academic permissions and prohibitions, which prohibits systematic copying, use without attribution, use for commercial purposes, or distribution to non-IUB students and employees.
2. After accepting the above permissions and prohibitions, you must create an individual profile in order to download reports.
3. Select "Log into your profile..." to create a new (or log into an existing) Mintel profile.
4. After logging in, downloading is available by either using the direct download option for a report or by using the My Presentations feature which also offers the direct download option for the report.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
MRI-Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”
SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network
- This link opens in a new window
Market research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.

Industry/Market Resources

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
ProcurementIQ
- This link opens in a new window
Access to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports range from 15-20 pages, cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
The first page of a report, "At a Glance," provides the recent price, forecast price, market characteristics, market risk, benchmark price, key price drivers, major vendors, vendor cost benchmarks and the Buyer Power Score.

Some Reports to Consider

Here are some reports and search terms for industries, markets and consumers that may help you understand the landscape in which your clients are operating.

	WARRANT TECH.	GATHER	MAIRZY DOATS	TANDEM	MARCO POLO
IBISWorld	Data Processing and Hosting Services;IT Consulting; Enterprise Resource Planning Software;Business Analytics and Enterprise Software=	Gift Shops and Card Stores; Art Classes	Hobby and Toy Stores; Used Book Stores; Online Used Book Sales	Midwives and Doulas	Fast Food Restaurants; Caterers
First Research	Computer Software; Business Intelligence Software; Information Technology Services; Data Storage Systems	Gift, Novelty and Souvenir Stores; Art Dealers and Galleries	Toy and Hobby Stores; Bookstores	OBGYNs	Casual Restaurants; Catering Services
Mintel		Gifting; Arts & Crafts Consumer	Traditional Toys & Games; Gifting	Marketing to Moms	Fast Casual Restaurants; Restaurant Takeout and Delivery; Restaurant Marketing Strategies
Statista	Search Terms: Enterprise Software; Cloud computing	Search Terms: Gift;	Search Terms: used books; bookstores, toys	Search Terms: Midwife, perinatal	Search Terms: Asian restaurants; catering

News and Literature Resources

To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.

Finding Local Companies

You can use Reference USA or Simply Analytics to get lists of companies by city or zipcode. Search by keyword, or by NAIC or SIC code for particular industries.

Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

1Kelley Consulting (Spring 2023)

Get Help

Research & Instruction Librarian

Business/SPEA Library

Marketing and Demographics

Industry/Market Resources

Some Reports to Consider

News and Literature Resources

Finding Local Companies

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

1Kelley Consulting (Spring 2023)

Marketing and Demographics

Industry/Market Resources

Some Reports to Consider

News and Literature Resources

Finding Local Companies

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries