Case Study: Queer Zine Archive Project
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
In the definition cited in this research guide, zines are motivated by a desire to share knowledge and experiences of underrepresented communities. This is the mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project, a Milwaukee-based community archive dedicated to preserving queer zines and queer zine culture. Founded in a basement in 2003, the archive offers an intimate research experience--making it unique from institutional and academic archives.
- QZAP Website
- Includes a blog about the archive, as well as an about page covering their collection policy and archives.
- QZAP Digital Collection
- A portion of the archive's zines are digitized online.
- From the Archives: The Queer Zine Archive ProjectThis article highlights two queer comics in the Queer Zine Archive Project's holdings, and details the author's experience using the collection.
- The Queer Zine Archive Project Is Preserving LGBTQ+ Stories Mainstream Media Won’tThis article highlights the origins of QZAP and provides an overview of zines, the archive, and its location in Milwaukee.
- The largest independent LGBTQ zine collection is stored in a Riverwest basement, and you can see some of it onlineThis article gives an overview of the archive and provides more details on how the archive is organized.
- Our Queer Older Siblings Will Guide Us: An Interview with the Queer Zine Archive ProjectThe author speaks with one of the archive's founders, Milo Miller.