Library Research Guides: International Travel: Preparing for Travel

There's a lot to think about before you travel abroad! Fortunately, the IU Libraries can help as you prepare for your trip and keep you connected and productive while you're away.

Databases

GlobeSmart
- This link opens in a new window
Information on a wide variety of cultural and practical topics, such as communication styles, language, electricity, money, holiday, safety, visas, and more ...
GlobeSmart is a web-based tool that provides access to extensive knowledge on how to conduct business effectively with people from 65 countries around the world. Developed from extensive research and interviews with business people from each country, GlobeSmart content is organized into more than 50 continuously updated topics, including communicating effectively, managing people, business protocol, local business environment, and travel information.

The GlobeSmart Profile allows the exploration of preferred work styles compared with the average styles of people from other countries on five dimensions of culture.

globalEDGE
Select "Global Insights" then your country of interest. Select the Culture tab on the left to see a list of resources that discuss various aspects of society and culture in that country.

eHRAF World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text ethnographies on hundreds of ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
For a deeper dive into a country's current situation, search for country profiles in Marketline. Many of these will be either PEST or PESTLE reports. The first of these covers the Political, Economic, Social and Technological aspects of the local landscape, while the PESTLE reports add Legal and Environmental analysis. See also city reports for major cities.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.

Books

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

The IU Libraries offer a number of travel guides. Search Your Country Guidebooks, or Your Country travel. For example:
China guidebooks
China travel

You can also find books on language that can help you refresh your high school Spanish or teach you important phrases and social niceties like please and thank you, that go a long way toward facilitating friendly, effective interactions while you are abroad. Try searches like:
Spanish language textbook
German language textbook

Audiovisuals

We have some great media to help you learn more about the countries you'll be visiting and the languages you'll encounter.

We have Rosetta Stone programs available for several languages. See this list from the library catalog.

Check out the 24 Hours series for streaming video featuring profiles of various cities around the world.

International Travel

Databases

Books

Audiovisuals

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries