Home
Greetings from the library!
Greetings H351 Students,
I'm glad you have found this research guide. My hope is that you will utilize it to aid you in any research assistance you find you need along the way! Included are lists of databases and journals I recommend you consider using, along with some writing resources.
I am available to you this semester for both in-person and virtual research consultations. Feel free to call me at 812-855-8155 or email alfordem@iu.edu to set up an appointment.
Good luck this semester, and remember to reach out if you find yourself needing some extra guidance!
Emily Alford
Public Health Librarian
Research Databases
Best bets
- PubMed
Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- Alt HealthWatch
Covers complementary, holistic, integrative, and alternative approaches to health care and wellness, from nearly 190 international journals.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes journals, video, dissertations, reference books and other grey literature.
- Public Health Database
Access to core literature in the field of public health. Subjects covered include: nutrition and dietetics, physical fitness and hygiene, population studies, social services and welfare, statistics, biology - genetics, drug abuse and alcoholism, special education and rehabilitation, environmental studies, industrial health and safety, communicable diseases, allergology and immunology, nurses and nursing, and pediatrics
Searching Help
Further Resources
What is a Randomized Clinical Trial? What is a Systematic Review? This table explains various publication types in the public health realm.
How PubMed Works: Introduction
Recorded webinar from staff at the National Library of Medicine
Use the CRAAP test on all resources!
Tools for Source Assessment
There are a variety of tools you can utilize to help decide if a resource is right for your needs, a quality source or the best content to use.
Currency -- Is this the most up-to-date information?
Relevance -- How does this help guide my research?
Authority -- Who is behind this source?
Accuracy -- Am I able to confirm these facts?
Purpose -- Why is this information available to me through this source?
Stop
Investigate the Source
Find Better Coverage
Trace Claims, Quotes and Media to the Original Context
Tips from DePaul University Libraries
Fall 2024 IU Libraries Happenings
Semester Happenings
The Friday Finish
EVERY FRIDAY through Thanksgiving break at Wells Library
Table tennis and yard games in the lobby, surprise guests every week (therapy dogs, musicians, massages, etc.!) and simply a great place and vibe to buckle down and get individual work, group projects and some extra studying done before the weekend.