Skip to Main Content

Conducting a Literature Review

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder


The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.

Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here.
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

Now, cut and paste the results into the search box of a library database (or Google).
 
The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

Where to Search

Good, Broad Databases to Start With

Discipline-Specific Databases

Search Modification Strategies

Citation Searching

Sources cited in one source can help you identify other useful sources. these citations reflect a scholarly 'conversation' and the progression of ideas on a topic.

In a scholarly source, use the reference list (sometimes called a bibliography or a works cited page) to find cited sources. Some databases also allow you to see the sources cited in a source (e.g. Google ScholarScopus, and Web of Science).

Scopus

Cited Reference Search How-To

Web of Science

Cited Reference Search, a tab option on the main search page.

Google Scholar

Do a search, then click "cited by" next to an article to see references.

Trying to locate an identified publication, like a journal title or a book, from a citation? 

Use the Find Online Journals link to determine which database(s) or index has the full-text of a journal. If the journal is not available electronically available, search IUCAT to see if there is a print subscription. If there is no print or electronic subscription available, individual articles can be requested through InterLibrary Loan

IUCAT Search

IUCAT is the IUB Libraries catalog. Find books, journals, music, and more!


Ways to access IUCAT:  

OneSearch@IU: A Great Starting Place

OneSearch@IU searches most of the Libraries' databases. It is a great place to start your research.

Direct access at: libraries.indiana.edu/databases/onesearch

OneSearch@IU
Limit Your Results

More databases can be found on the Libraries homepage under the "Research" tab or the "Featured Databases" located at the bottom of the page.