About this guide
This guide was created for IU students by Mark Roseman, Pat M Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies and Professor in History, and edited by Scott Libson, former Librarian for History and Religious Studies Studies.
There is a huge amount of information about the Holocaust on the internet. This guide lists many reputable websites and can help you avoid bogus ones. Please bring new sites to our attention by contacting either Mark Roseman or Meg Galasso. If they are legitimate and valuable, we will add them to the list.
Major Holocaust gateways and collections
- United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumContent organized around topics such as the Camp System, Ghettos, War Crime Trials, Churches, Liberation, Women, Non-Jewish Victims and Victims Assets, etc. It also has sections on the arts, educational resources, museums & remembrances, photos, film & TV. You can search for knowledge, documents, survivor testimony or photographs.
- Experiencing History: Holocaust Sources in ContextFrom the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, browse and explore collections of primary sources by themes like Jewish Perspectives on the Holocaust, Americans and the Holocaust, Everyday Life, and Belonging and Exclusion.
- Teacher's Guide to the HolocaustAlthough this site is specifically designed for elementary to high school teachers, the resources are valuable for scholars and the site is organized well. It provides a detailed index and internal links leading to more in-depth descriptions of topics. It includes a detailed Timeline, a People section arranged according to victims, perpetrators, bystanders, resistors, rescuers, liberators, and survivors. The Teachers Resources Section identifies documents, maps, bibliographies, movies, videos, and photographs as well as a detailed list of more web sites. The glossary includes the pronunciation of foreign words, with the option to hear the words pronounced, both within the glossary and when words appear in the text.
- Yad Vashem: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center Resource CenterWhile the Holocaust Resource Center is the primary site to use for research, there are many other pages and resources of interest from Yad Vashem, including rotating exhibitions and digital primary source collections.
- Simon Wiesenthal Center and Museum of Tolerance Digital ArchivesAccess thousands of digitized primary sources from the Simon Wiesenthal Center's archival collections, including featured collections on the Clandestine Students Group, Mauthausen Liberation, and Altendorf Camp Liberation.
- Remember.orgThis site is dedicated to preserving and sharing research resources and stories through art, photography, painting, audio/video, and remembrance.
- The Nizkor ProjectThe site provides a range of information on the Holocaust and on Holocaust denial and revisionism, which it aims to refute. It includes a section of Questions and Answers pertaining to Holocaust denial. The Nizkor Project is directed by Ken McVay. It includes a huge array of primary sources online including the Eichmann trial and many other sources.
- The Jewish Holocaust 1933-1945Documents and primary sources compiled by Dr. S D Stein.