Library Research Guides: HIST J300 Global Piracy: Books & eBooks

Catalogs & Search Tools

These catalogs and search tools are your best bets for discovering and accessing a wide range of books and ebooks to use as both primary and secondary sources. Can't find what you need? Use the interlibrary loan link at the bottom of this box to make a request, or use the buttons beneath my photo to get in touch.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IUCAT, the online catalog for all titles available through IU Libraries, is the often the best place to start a search for books and ebooks, and also includes government documents, videos, and sound recordings.
- Use broad search terms to give IUCAT the best chance of finding relevant titles.
- Use the red Request This button to have print materials delivered to the most convenient library for pick-up.
- Use the filters like Subject and Publication Year on the left side of the page to narrow your search results.
- When you find one title that looks promising, use the hyperlinked Subject headings to locate additional titles.
- Watch this brief video tutorial on searching and accessing books and ebooks in IUCAT.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
WorldCat
Expand your search to include titles available at IU and a majority of library systems across the United States and abroad.
- If you find a title in a citation or bibliography and can't locate it in IUCAT, search WorldCat to locate and request the title.
- Unlike IUCAT, WorldCat can also locate specific articles and book chapters.
- Click View Indiana University-Bloomington Catalog to access titles that are available through IUCAT.
- Click the red Request through ILL button to submit a pre-filled form to receive the title from another institution.
- Use the hyperlinked Subjects to continue your search.
- If you encounter issues requesting books through WorldCat, please send me an email or visit this site for troubleshooting steps.
WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.
HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Use HathiTrust to find the full-text of out-of-copyright books and journals. Many of these titles are also discoverable in IUCAT, but you may find new or different sources due to the search functionality and features on this platform. This is also a great way to discover primary sources.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections. HathiTrust will quickly expand to include additional partners and to provide those partners with an easy means to archive their digital content.
Google Books
Even though many books are only available in "preview" mode in Google Books, it can be a lifesaver. Use it alongside a print copy of a book to find particularly relevant sections to read or glance at an introduction at home before deciding whether to check the book out from the library.
Public domain and out of copyright books are readily available through Google Books, in downloadable, PDF format. Items still under copyright may not be entirely viewed, nor may they be printed or copied. Books may be in full view, limited preview, spippet view, or no preview available.

Request a title through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request and access titles that you have not been able to locate in IUCAT or WorldCat through Interlibrary Loan. Watch this brief video for an introduction.

Featured Books & eBooks

Piracy in World History (eBook)

The Punishment of Pirates: Interpretation and Institutional Order in the Early Modern British Empire (eBook)

The Golden Age of Piracy in China, 1520-1810: A Short History with Documents (eBook)

Pirates in History and Popular Culture (eBook)

Women of Piracy (eBook)

Pirate Hunting: The Fight Against Pirates, Privateers, and Sea Raiders from Antiquity to the Present (eBook)

The Alliance of Pirates: Ireland and Atlantic Piracy in the Early Seventeenth Century (eBook)

Pirates, Prostitutes and Pullers: Explorations in the Ethno- and Social History of Southeast Asia (Print)

Pirates, Merchants, Settlers, and Slaves: Colonial America and the Indo-Atlantic World (eBook)

Piracy in the Early Modern Era: An Anthology of Sources (eBook)

The Golden Age of Piracy: The Rise, Fall, and Enduring Popularity of Pirates (eBook)

Jewish Pirates of the Caribbean (Print)

Piracy in Somalia: Violence and Development in the Horn of Africa (Print)

Pirates of Barbary: Corsairs, Conquests, and Captivity in the Seventeenth-Century Mediterranean (Print)

The War Against the Pirates: British and American Suppression of Caribbean Piracy in the Early Nineteenth Century (Print)

British Pirates and Society, 1680-1730 (eBook)

Pirates: A New History, from Vikings to Somali Raiders (eBook)

The Pirate Myth: Genealogies of an Imperial Concept (eBook)

The New Pirates: Modern Global Piracy from Somalia to the South China Sea (Print)

Pillaging the Empire: Global Piracy on the High Seas, 1500-1750 (eBook)

Piracy and Captivity in the Mediterranean, 1550-1810 (eBook)

HIST J300 Global Piracy

Catalogs & Search Tools

Featured Books & eBooks

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries