GIMMS Guide to the United States Congress

ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and full-text access to various publications of the U.S. Congress. It provides easy search access to congressional publications and includes full-text of reports, bills and resolutions, and laws.

Use Advanced Search to select specific series included:
-Congressional Research Digital Collection
-Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
-House and Senate Unpublished Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
-ProQuest Statutes at Large
-ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
-Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations
-U.S Bills and Resolutions

Most publications are owned by IUB, either in print, on microfiche or electronically. IUB has been a Federal Depository Library since 1881. For specific assistance or to ask questions about using congressional publications, contact Government Information, Maps and Microform Services, located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library. Email libgimms@iu.edu or telephone 812-855-6924

Library of Congress web site that provides full text of bills, resolutions, and laws as well as tracking legislation through the Congressional process. For historical access to Congressional publications and information, contact the staff in Government Information, Maps and Microform Services, C264 Wells Library.

A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, govinfo provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.

IUB has served as a U.S. Federal Depository Library since 1881. Most of the resources available have historically been available in print. Consult reference staff in East Tower 2, Wells Library (Government Information, Maps and Microform Services).

Also includes materials related to constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Includes access to all CQ resources to which IU subscribes.

The CQ Almanac Online Edition covers people, elections, legislative initiatives, and controversies in the U.S. Congress. It also reviews and analyses legislation and public policy issues and records roll call votes for major legislation.

Supports course work on Congress and public policy, including the Advanced Placement course in American Government and Politics, and scholarly research in political science and American history. The Collection integrates a careful selection of relevant CQ Press content, as well as Congressional Quarterly's invaluable "CQ Key Votes" data.

• Map It provides a visual representation of how state delegations vote on "CQ Key Votes." Selecting any state will link to the roll call vote of the state delegation. Powerful database-driven research tools allow patrons to generate unique perspectives about members of Congress. For example, in:
• Voting Alignment researchers can compare "CQ Key Votes" voting records between two or more members, member votes compared to party votes (party unity), by member demographics, and by votes across a state delegation.
• Interest Group Ratings users can analyze each member and their demographics with support scores assigned by various, well-known interest groups, including the American Civil Liberties Union, American Conservative Union, and the National Education Association.
• Advanced CQ Key Vote Analysis users will discern member voting patterns on the most important legislation.
• Advanced Member Analysis researchers can generate unique demographic analysis by Congress, political party, state, birth, religion, previous occupation, sex, and/or military service.

Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Resource for information on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can extract election results by different characteristics: candidate, office, locality, and race type over time.