City directories list the names, occupations, and addresses of people or businesses for a given place. They often also include facts and figures about a city, such as population, major industries, or notable local features.
These directories can be useful for history, genealogy, sociology, urban development, or anyone interested in details of the past. Often published yearly or biyearly, city directories can show their readers the changes that occurred in a location throughout time.
This finding aid lists city directories by year, grouped into categories of like items. Items that span years are listed before single-year items. Click through to the IUCAT record for the most current information about an item's physical location.
If you want to search IUCat or another catalog, the a useful subject heading to look for is Bloomington (Ind.)--Directories.
| Year(s) | Title | Call Number linked to IUCAT |
|---|---|---|
| 1907/1908 | The Inter-state Directory Company's directory of Bloomington city and Monroe County gazetteer. | F534 .B6 |
| 1911/1912 | Bloomington city directory and Monroe County gazetteer. | F534 .B6 |
| 1913/1915 | Caron's directory of the city of Bloomington, Ind. | F534 .B6 |
| 1916/1918 | Caron's directory of the city of Bloomington, Indiana and taxpayers of Monroe County. | F534 .B6 |
| 1925/1926 | Heber Page Directory Co.'s Bloomington, Indiana city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1927/1928 | Winthrop Williams’ Bloomington, Indiana city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1929/1930-1938/1939 | Caron's Bloomington Indiana city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1940 | Bloomington Indiana city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1945/1946, 1948, 1950, 1952/1953, 1955, 1957-1958, 1960, 1962-1967, 1969, 1971-1974 | Polk's Bloomington, Monroe County, Ind., city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1975-1984 | Bloomington, Monroe County, Ind., city directory. | F534 .B6 |
| 1985, 1987-1993, 1995-1996 | Bloomington, Indiana, city directory. | F534 .B6 Wells Library copies |
| 1991-1993; 1996-2014 | Bloomington, Indiana, city directory. | F534 .B6 Law Library copies |
| 1997 | Polk city directory. Bloomington, Indiana. | F534 .B6 |
| 1998, 2000-2001, 2003-2004, 2006, 2008-2012, 2014 | Polk city directory. Bloomington, Monroe County, IN. | F534 .B6 |
| 1991-1993; 1996-2014 | Bloomington, Indiana, city directory. | F534 .B6 Law Library copies |
| Year(s) | Title | Call Number linked to IUCAT |
|---|---|---|
| 1928 | Bell telephone directory for Bloomington, Ind., Belmont, Clear Creek, Dolan, Ellettsville, Farmers, Kirby, Kirksville, Stanford, White Hall. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1929 | Telephone directory, Bloomington, Ind. and Belmont, Clear Creek, Ellettsville, Farmers, Kirby, Stanford, White Hall. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1930 | Telephone directory, Bloomington, Ind. and suburban exchanges. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1931, 1935 | Telephone directory, Bloomington, Ind. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1939-1941, 1943-1954 | Bloomington telephone directory. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1955-1959 | Bloomington, Ellettsville, Smithville, Stanford telephone directory. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1960 | Bloomington, Ellettsville, Smithville, Stanford. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1964 | Telephone directory, Bloomington, Bloomfield, Ellettsville, Gosport, Owensburg, Smithville, Spencer, Stanford. | HE9841 .B62 1964 |
| 1965 | Telephone directory, Bloomington, Bloomfield, Ellettsville, Gosport, Nashville, Owensburg, Smithville, Spencer, Stanford. | HE8841 .B6 |
| 1972-1975 | Bloomington. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1982-1984 | Bloomington and nearby communities. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1985 | Bloomington, Spencer, and nearby communities. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1986/1987-1997/1998 | Bloomington white/yellow pages. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 1999, 2001-2002 | Bloomington/Spencer white & yellow pages. | HE8841 .B62 |
| 2012/2013 | Hill-Donnelly cross reference directory. Bloomington, Indiana and vicinity. | HE8841.B642 H5 |
| Year(s) | Title | Call Number linked to IUCAT |
|---|---|---|
| 1980 | Manufacturers and industrial services. | HC108.B566 M36 1980 |
| 1982 | Membership and business directory / Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce. | HF296.B6 G7 |
| 1986/1987 | Membership and business directory / Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce. | HF296.B6 G7 |
| 1989/1990, 1992/1993 | The business network / The Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce. | HF296.B6 G7 |
| 1998 | Downtown Bloomington : shops & restaurants. | F534.B6 D69 1988 |
| 2000/2001, 2004/2005 | Member directory / The Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce. | HF296.B6 G7 |
| 2008 | Guide to the 2008 downtown gallery walk, Bloomington, Indiana. | F534.B6 G87 2008 |
| Year(s) | Title | Call Number linked to IUCAT |
|---|---|---|
| 1963, 1965-1966, 1968, 1970-1976 | Elected and appointed city, county, and township officials and commissions as of ... / compiled by the Bloomington League of Women Voters. | JS451.I69 M63 |
| 1974 | Governmental officials '74 / compiled by the League of Women Voters of Bloomington, Indiana ; with the cooperation of the First National Bank of Bloomington. | JS451.I69 M63 1974 |
| 1977-2014 | Monroe County governmental officials list / compiled by the League of Women Voters of Bloomington-Monroe County, Indiana. | JS451.I69 M63 Wells Copies |
| 1979-1990 | Monroe County governmental officials list / compiled by the League of Women Voters of Bloomington-Monroe County, Indiana ; with the cooperation of the First National Bank of Bloomington. | JS451.I69 M63 Law Library Copies |
| 2000 | Monroe County governmental officials list / compiled by the League of Women Voters of Bloomington-Monroe County, Indiana ; with the cooperation of the First National Bank of Bloomington. | JS451 .I69 M63 Residence Halls Copies |
| Year(s) | Title | Call Number linked to IUCAT |
|---|---|---|
| 1978 | Monroe County's major information and referral services : I & R System Strengthening Project, 339-2150. | HV99.B58 M66 1978 |
| 1984 | Human resources, 1984 / City of Bloomington. | HV99.B582 H86 1984 |
| 1985, 1998-1989 | IRIS : Information & referral identification system for Monroe County, Indiana. | F534.B6 I15 |
| 1991 | Living in Bloomington, Indiana, U.S.A. : a comprehensive guide to resources and services. | HC108.B566 B43 1991 |
| 1991-1993, 1995, 1997 | IRIS : Information & referral identification system for Monroe County, Indiana. | F534.B6 I15 |
| 1998 | Community wellness guide 1998. | RA448.B63 B6 1998 |
| 1999, 2001/2002 | Annual manual. | F534.B6 A56 |
| 2001, 2003 | InfoTYME. Bloomington, Monroe County, IN [electronic resource]. | F534 .B62 |
| 2003 | IRIS : Information & referral identification system for Monroe County, Indiana. | F534.B6 I15 |
| 2007 | Community and Family Resources directory : quick reference guide. | HV99.B58 C66 2007 |