The IU Libraries electronic journal collection can be searched from this page reached from the link above. The journals can also be browsed by subject. Lists by subject are included under the E-Journal lists by subject tab to the left of the LibGuide.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (also in print). In this authoritative resource you will find physical constants such as melting point, boiling point, density, solubility, vapor pressure, heat capacity, magnetic susceptibility, index of refraction, etc.
Aldrich Catalog (also in print) contains information about the chemicals that this company supplies. You may find information about meling points, boiling points, density, vapor pressure, or refractive index.
The Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds provides physical property data, spectral data, and chemical structures for approximately 12,000 common organic compounds. These compounds encompass the most commonly used both in industry and laboratories, as well as those found on various lists of regulatory concern. A clear, easy-to-read format and three indexes- CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, and Name/Synonym-enhance the Handbook's usability and help make it a bestselling resource relied upon by researchers, chemists, and students around the world.
This three volume set includes over 18,000 spectra categorized by chemical functionality and arranged in order of increasing structural complexity. The library includes extensive cross-references by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS number, and Aldrich catalog number.
This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Phyics (also in print). This authoritative resource includes interactive tables with standard thermodynamic properties of chemical substances, thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature, thermodynamic properties of aqueous ions, and heat of combustion.
Records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for small molecule crystal structures of organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. Also includes structure visualisation and data analysis software.
Written by an individual with experience as both a chemist and a patent attorney, The Chemist′s Companion Guide to Patent Law covers everything the student or working chemist needs to know about patentability, explaining important concepts of patent law (such as novelty, non-obviousness, and freedom-to-operate) in easy-to-understand terms. Through abundant examples from case law as well as real-world situations with which a researcher might be faced, this book provides readers with a better understanding of how to put that knowledge into practice.
A Field Guide for Science Writers by Deborah Blum (Editor); Mary Knudson (Editor); Robin Marantz Henig (Editor)This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers. In the eight years since the publication of the first edition of A Field Guide for Science Writing, much about the world has changed. Some of the leading issues in today's political marketplace - embryonic stem cellresearch, global warming, health care reform, space exploration, genetic privacy, germ warfare - are informed by scientific ideas. Never has it been more crucial for the lay public to be scientifically literate. That's where science writers come in. And that's why it's time for an update to theField Guide, already a staple of science writing graduate programs across the country. The academic community has recently recognized how important it is for writers to become more sophisticated, knowledgeable, and skeptical about what they write. More than 50 institutions now offer training in science writing. In addition mid-career fellowships for science writers are growing,giving journalists the chance to return to major universities for specialized training. We applaud these developments, and hope to be part of them with this new edition of the Field Guide. In A Field Guide for Science Writers, 2nd Edition, the editors have assembled contributions from a collections of experienced journalists who are every bit as stellar as the group that contributed to the first edition. In the end, what we have are essays written by the very best in the sciencewriting profession. These wonderful writers have written not only about style, but about content, too. These leaders in the profession describe how they work their way through the information glut to find the gems worth writing about. We also have chapters that provide the tools every good sciencewriter needs: how to use statistics, how to weigh the merits of conflicting studies in scientific literature, how to report about risk. And, ultimately, how to write.