Library Research Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Digital Collections

Academic Journals

Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Fuente Académica Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
Full text for approximately 1,000 journals and 100 academic books from over 20 countries. Titles include Comunicación y Sociedad, Entrepreneur Mexico, Estudios de Economía Aplicada, Ludus Vitalis, Nutricion Hospitalaria and Revista de la CEPAL.
Informe Académico
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, full-text and images of Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets.
Spanish thesaurus and interface. Searching in both Spanish and English. Bilingual citations. A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Cubre necesidades de información para todas las disciplinas académicas. Desde economía, ciencia y tecnología, psicología, educación, hasta arqueología, historia, literatura y más. Contiene revistas académicas de toda Iberoamérica.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
Periodicals Archive Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Open Access Academic Journals

News & Newspaper Sources

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States since the 19th century.
Covers mostly the West and Southwest, but also Illinois, Indiana, and New York. Topics covered range from literature to politics, to labor and social movements. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Latin American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, searchable archive of newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Latin America.
Part of the World News Archive. Includes content from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Among the title included are: La Nacion, La Prensa and Vanguardia (Buenos Aires), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro), O Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo), Mercurio (Santiago), La Prensa (Havana), El Guatemalteco (Guatemala City), Daily Chronicle (Georgetown, Guyana), La Revista de Yucatan (Merida, Mexico), La Patria, Mexican Herald and El Monitor Republicano (Mexico City) , El Dictamen (Veracruz Llave, Mexico), La Estrella de Panama and Star & Herald (Panama City), El Peruano and West Coast Leader (Lima), Port of Spain Gazette (Port of Spain), and the Venezuelan Herald (Caracas)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of historical newspapers. Each issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.
Times Digital Archive (The Times, London)
- This link opens in a new window
The full text of The Times (London), 1785-2019. Does not include The Sunday Times. All articles are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching.
World Newspaper Archive
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

Electronic Reference Resources

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History
- This link opens in a new window
Digital encyclopedia covering the field of Latin American history. Includes audio and video content as well as essays. Covers Latin American histories of empires, colonies, enclaves, and nations; its vast diversity of peoples, landscapes, animals, plants, and cultures; and its multitudinous communities of nations, ethnicities, and localities.

Digital Primary Sources Collections

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides full text, searchable access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. In scope it ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets,letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and newspaper accounts.

Among the historical collections are:Bauza Maps and Manuscripts Collection
Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966-1986
Coleccion De Documentos Ineditos Relativos Al Descubrimiento, Conquista Y Organizacion De Las Antiguas Posesiones Espanolas De America Y Oceania. -- Madrid : M.B. de Quyros, 1864-1884
Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825
Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1-7
Latin American and Iberian biographies
Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera
Papers of Agustin de Iturbide, 1799-1880

Topic pages cover, among other things, countries in the region (e.g. Chile), people (e.g. Hugo Chavez, Simón Bolívar), commerce and industry (e.g. Petroleum Industry), history (e.g. Archaeology), politics (e.g. China-Latin American Relations).

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Academic Journals

Open Access Academic Journals

News & Newspaper Sources

Electronic Reference Resources

Digital Primary Sources Collections

Dissertations & Theses

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Academic Journals

Open Access Academic Journals

News & Newspaper Sources

Electronic Reference Resources

Digital Primary Sources Collections

Dissertations & Theses

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries